We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Friends had recommended this hotel and we were not disappointed. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The service was superb in all areas. We only had to ask for ice once and room service made sure it was there every day!
The room had been recently refurbished to a very high standard.
The gardens were very well maintained and there were several swimming pools to chose from - with or without children.
As it was early in the year not all the restaurants were open but this was not a problem.
We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanDav68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,665
    211
    46
    19
    11
See reviews for
655
632
84
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in Amathus for the 3rd year in a row this July with 2 kids. Typically would have 2 connected rooms on renovated floors. This time around decided to have Junior Suite with pool for a change for one week. Initially chose the hotel as it seemed to us this place was best for children and it was still 5-star and well equipped. Kids definitely love it! Among all the hotels on this shore Amathus has the best beach with not to many strangers, very clean and sandy. For those who do not like natural water there are 3 pools of which we used the main one as it is definitely best for children. Also very clean and with deepest point at 3.85m will cater to most needs.

Strong points:
- renovated floors are really nice.
- a lot of stuff for kids to do and enjoy
- very clean
- best beach
- good pools including one for very small kids
- food is OK
- service is good
- staff is polite and mostly accomodating

Not so strong:

- overcrowded on w/ends with many people coming for a couple of nights/weddings, etc.
- this is the time when restaurants cannot cope with volumes so you can sit there totally forgotten for some time
- evening entertainment program is repetitive each week. if you stay longer you get bored with the same stuff happening every day of week
- there is free Wi-Fi internet connection but it is slow and interestingly the hotel does not advertize this option. Connection quality is not so good.

Having a pool in the room is really great. It is your own pool and you can use it how an when you like. It is expensive though but we think worth a try.

I would also like to mention that Amathus can sustain disasters well and keep impact on its guests to a minimum. When there was power outage in Limassol and in the hotel for the good part of one day (it is a separate story why Cypriots let it happen) the hotel staff did their best to inform and to keep facility running. They had all sorts of back up systems, which let all the critical systems function. We were impressed and really grateful!

In spite of minor points mentioned we consider Amathus is earning its price and we definitely recommend it to families with small kids. Every time we ask our children where they want to go for next summer vacation there is only one answer - Amathus.

Room Tip: choose Superior rooms. They are on renovated floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_plus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Amathus Beach Hotel in Limassol for a week in early July. We are fortunate enough to be able to take two to four holidays a year and go to top hotels.
This hotel proved to be right up with the best we have stayed at. In fact in May we had a week at the Hotel du Russie in Rome which kids itself that it is one of the best hotels in Europe/Rome and I'm afraid to say it doesn't even get close to the level of service we received at the Amathus.
We had one of the Junior Suites with a private pool, of which there are nine in total. Frankly you don't need anything more than this anywhere in the world if you just want a week laying in the sun, shade or cooling off in some cool water. Its got all three.
They encourage you to take the room's cordless phone with you when you are lounging around/sun bathing so that you can call room service from where you are. Brilliant idea.
In fact its even easier that that to get service by attracting the attention of the bar staff who who are constantly walking around the sun loungers in the garden area taking orders for drinks etc.
I can't recall staying at a hotel who seemed to have so many staff in the bars, restaurants, and the hotel in general who were so genuinely pleased to be able to serve and assist.
The hotel has apparently been modernised in recent years. I can't comment on the changes as this was our first visit. What I can say is the place looks absolutely amazing. The main foyer and lounge area is spectacular. The entire wall is made of glass which provides a panoramic view of the Med.
Another major plus here is value for money. We love Italy but prices for drinks and cocktails in Cyprus seem to be half what they are there now. For a 5 star hotel I found their bar prices very reasonable.
This hotels had some excellent reviews here on Tripadvisor which was a major factor in us choosing this hotel. I can say without a doubt these reviews were truly representative of our own experience.
We plan to come back here in September (schedule permitting) but if this doesn't happen then we will next summer.
One final note the additional benefit of coming to Limassol is that you can get here on a proper airline. We came with BA. We will not now visit holiday destinations that are only served by Mickey Mouse low cost carriers such as Thomson or Ryanair.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilCopelandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I spent a week at the Amathus Beach Hotel, Limassol in June with my husband and we had an excellent holiday. From the moment we arrived we received exceptionally high levels of service from all members of staff. For example, we arrived quite late at night and were expecting to order room service food but the receptionist arranged for the restaurant to stay open for us. Not many hotels would do this.
We had a superior room on the 4th floor on the road side but we were not disturbed by noise at all even though the road was quite busy. The room had obviously been refurbished recently and was very modern, clean, spacious, and well equipped. In fact, the whole hotel was immaculate and furnished to a very high standard.
The hotel has extensive grounds/gardens with an abundance of sun loungers and umbrellas. Thankfully, there is no need to reserve sun loungers! The beach and pool attendants are very attentive making sure the sun loungers are clean and that you have as many umbrellas and beds as you need. There is a large swimming pool with an area for children and an adult’s only pool in addition to the private beach which is supposed to be exclusively for guests of the Amathus Beach hotel.
We were on half board which meant we had breakfast and lunch or dinner included. Breakfast was served in the Kalypso buffet style restaurant and was excellent. There was a huge choice of food catering for all tastes. The food was plentiful and constantly replenished. Dinner was served in the Kalypso buffet restaurant or La Terrazza restaurant with different themes each night. Diners on half board could also eat at the a la carte Cyan restaurant. Just as at breakfast, the food served at dinner was of a very high standard and provided something for everyone.
The public lounge and bar areas are luxurious and relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed having drinks both inside the Nubar and on its terrace overlooking the hotel grounds. The only criticism would be the cost of drinks and snacks in the hotel which are particularly expensive.
In conclusion, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Amathus Beach hotel and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyBurger1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Spent 4 nights here in July having booked it last minute.
The car park was a little bit of nightmare upon arrival with the well known Greek Cypriot driving style taking over! After getting parked the welcome was very nice and quick with the reception being quick and efficient (and also offering a refreshing beverage and a face towel, which at 35 degrees was much appreciated).
The room was nice and spacious with a free bottle of local wine and fruit upon arrival. There is a safe a/c, nice toiletries & the mini-bar is not as pricey as expected.
The hotel was clean throughout and the staff were extremely attentive, the landscaping of the grounds (including beach and pool) were also finished to a high standard..

There are a number of bars / restaurants on site (and off site) with my only minor gripe being that you were not allowed to eat / drink wearing shorts in 90% of the hotel bars / restaurants which at the high 30's i thought was a little over the top. If this was amended during the high season i would have given this hotel 5 out of 5 without much hestiation.

Pros - Clean, Friendly Staff, Quality Hotel and well maintained, efficient service, large selection of drinks / food available.

Cons - Expensive (ish), distance from centre of Limassol, outdated dress codes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Big_R1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had a fantastic 10 day stay at the Amathus in Limassol - from the moment you step into the hotel you know it's going to be a luxury stay!
The service is second to none - they cannot do enough for you, and the newly refurbished Superior rooms, although with no balcony and sea view, are outstanding. Rooms are cleaned and made up every day, with a night service leaving little treats! There are all the toiletries you need and two hairdryers, wifi and laptop links in the room, an ipod dock and safe.
The pool area is lovely, there is an adult only pool, and a large pool with a kids pool in the main area. An indoor pool with steam room and sauna is just next to the outdoor pool. Plenty of sun loungers around the pool and across the gardens, as well as on the private beach. Staff are constantly on hand to take drinks orders and deliver cold towels mid morning - totally necessary for the temperatures we were in! We did not use the spa but it looked amazing, and the gym was fully equipped and immaculate.
The kids club was confined to a room, air conditioned and plenty for them to do, although my two just wanted to be in the pool so didn't use it much.
The food is gorgeous, plenty of it - I was a little disappointed that we were only able to eat in the one restaurant as there weren't enough numbers to open the Cyan.
The drinks are also incredibly expensive, as is the onsite shop (22 euros for a bucket and spade!) There are 2 well stocked supermarkets that sell this sort of thing opposite the hotel.
Overall, we could have been anywhere in the world, as we didn't leave the hotel much, but it is a truly luxurious hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The superior rooms for families are far more modern than the suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birgu
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Was there on a family vacation, nice resort style hotel; the part we were in was facing the road and on the third floor - not unduly noisy at night and not too tight by European standards. Service in the room was exceptional; we were on half / full board for the kids; the food was above average but not exceptional although an obvious effort is made to maintain originality by having different themes every evening. The junior wait staff appeared stressd out (perhaps even badgered )but otherwise the service was adequate. Oddly enough no drinks (not even water) is included in half board package but on the whole that didn't add up to much. Hotel amenities are good; there are two beaches in front largely but not exclusively for the use of the guests - we found the rocky part more intriguing. Parking was not a problem at all and the help up front was exceptional. One thing to note is that the two main groups in the hotel were Russian families or couples (in the broadest sense) and British families on holiday - if both are your cup of tea you should be fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
1,839 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
882 reviews
2.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
1.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,479 reviews
2.0 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#13 of 57 in Limassol
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Property: Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Address: Amathus Ave | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3606, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Limassol
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#1 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#1 Business Hotel in Limassol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World", you will enjoy deluxe accommodation, top-class range of fitness, sport and leisure facilities, fabulous restaurants with superlative cuisine, sumptuous and perfectly appointed surroundings including 4000 sq.m. of immaculate sunbathing lawn gardens and, on top of everything, efficient and uncompromising personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Bookcyprus.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amathus Beach Limassol
Limassol Amathus Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing