We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not 5 star at all” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“not 5 star at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We too have stayed at the Amathus Beach Hotel for many , many years...... sadly we have found the standards sliding considerably this year........ of particular note was the quality of food.............
We also agree with previous comments in that management and staff are nowhere near as friendly, efficient or helpful as in the past.-We are aware that there have been many changes in these areas and it is showing........ unfortunately negatively.
We will not be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saddened23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHManager, Hotel Manager at Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, responded to this review, 5 October 2009
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Amathus Beach Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to post and share the comments of your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn of your concerns and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

Please be assured that we value all guest comments, as constructive criticism, like yours, is of utmost importance and paramount to the quality control of our operation.

Amathus Beach Hotel is well established all over the world and well liked and preferred by thousands of satisfied guests and reviewers. On occasion we do make mistakes, we examine the nature of the mistakes made and we treat each and every comment we receive from guests as a learning experience.

I can only describe what you have experienced during your stay as a series of unfortunate and isolated incidents and I trust you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Amathus Beach Hotel and regain your confidence in our services.


Kind Regards
Amathus Beach Hotel
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    202
    45
    19
    11
See reviews for
618
605
79
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We have stayed at the Amathus Beach hotel over 20 times since Dec 1980. Our children now aged 20 and 24 have grown up enjoying happy holidays there and now as adults continue to appreciate its outstanding qualities. Waking up to sunshine, a sea view and the thought of the excellent breakfast is a real treat. Limassol is an ideal base for sightseeing. This September we enjoyed a swim in Lara Bay where there were still a few turtles in the tanks. The staff at the hotel are friendly and extremely efficient and it says a lot that many of them have been there since the 1980's too!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

So sad to see this hotel go down so much. My husband and I have been regular visitors to Cyprus in the summer months for many, many years. This hotel had a fantastic reputation years ago and even as the product aged standards in service were maintained and good, efficient friendly service was offered. Sadly this too now has gone. Sure part of the hotel has been renovated...but it's "cold" and lacks style which it had loads of before. Most distressing though is that so many of the wonderful friendly staff and management from before have moved on. What's left now is a "robotic team" straight faces.... no time to talk to the guests and see to our needs, stress written all over their faces. We were shocked one day whilst seated down by the pool to hear shouting coming from the management offices above us....... that's about all we ever go to know about management as they were never seen amongst guests. "Heard but not seen". We are unlikely to stay again... several of our friends who we use to meet here on an annual basis have moved to the Four Seasons nearby... we were advised by them to do so but though we'd try the Amathus again... sadly we mde the wrong decision.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Holidaymakers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHManager, HOTEL MANAGER at Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, responded to this review, 27 September 2009
Dear Reviewer, Greetings from Amathus Beach Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to post your comments of your recent stay here with us.
It is with great concern to read that our services and facilities did not meet your expectations. Rest assure that all your comments will further be discussed and analysed among the management team and corrective action will be taken where necessary.
However after carefully reading your review I wanted to clarify some of the points raised, since do not represent the real situation of our services and facilities.

The hotel has undergone a multimillion revonation and both facilities and services have been upgraded. All materials used and especially the new furniture of the lobby area, restaurants and bedrooms have been carefully selected and most of them have been designed from the worlds most famous designers. It is not suprising that we were nominated for next year to qualify for the best DESIGNED HOTEL OF THE WORLD.

Therefore many local and international popular and experienced architects and people that really appreciate and understantd from stylish furniture have highly spoke about our renovations.

Furthermore I would like to clarify that our team members are the most valuable asset of the Amathus Hotel. Therefore we try always to support them and provide to them a friendly and comfortable working environment. Our hotel is also proud to be one of the few establishments on the island with the lowest staff turnover. Thats why this year the company has decided to employee a Director of Human Resource Development (that for many years the hotel did not have) and further invest on the on going training and support of our team.

Concerning the SHOUTING INCIDENT I would like to comment that indeed the managements offices are one level above the swimming pool area. However it was very strange to hear the shouting coming from the offices since they are situated on the opposite side of the building and are facing the front road and parking area with now windows on the sea side. Honestly I do no understant how you could hear the management team shouting especially at this time of year that all office windows are well closed due to heat and A/C system.

Your review and comments are well respected but i trust that the above response clarifies the situation and gives a clear and objective opinion to all other reviewers that would like to visit the Amathus Beach Hotel in LImassol.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

I have been to Cyprus many times before as it is one of my favourite destinations, the food is great and the people are so welcoming. If you ever find yourself in Cyprus you must take a trip up the Troodos Mountains, amazing with a lovely taverna at the top. Also take a trip to the market in Limassol old town, you can pick up some really great souvenirs and it’s a nice day out. I travelled at the beginning of Sept and the temperature was still very good, sometimes a bit too hot.

I stayed in the Amathus Beach in Limassol for my summer holiday this year and I was overly impressed, I’ve stayed in quite a few of the 5 star hotels in Cyprus and even though they are all very remarkable I have to admit the Amathus has been my best so far. I stayed in this hotel about 6 or 7 years back and it has changed drastically, for the better, I didn’t even recognise the hotel from the inside. The food in the restaurants was perfect and so much choice, I decided to go half board with the euro being a bit rubbish at the moment and I was a little worried that I would be eating the same food every few days but I needed not worry as I ate a different meal each night and we got a allowance to eat in there fish restaurant on the beach one night so made our meal loads cheaper.

The spa they have done is brilliant, so many treatments to choose from and very reasonably priced too, I certainly wasn’t expecting the spa to be as good as it was. I recommend the royal Thai massage myself.

I now have major holiday blues after returning from such a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah1985London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

nothing to add more than already mentionned
all is fine , good location , nice staff and food ok
furthermore , taking a cab , you are 10 minutes away from any downtown restaurant
i would recommend sea view rooms
will come back

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illyushin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2009

A very nice hotel, with interesting newly done decor!!! Super friendly staff treating you as a king!!! Very convenient location -close to the ancient sites of the city- that made our lives easier in terms of sightseing and dine around as there is a selection of pubs &
restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riri23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nederland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We've just returned form our holidays in Limassol amathus. After two times Paphos Amathus and one time Rhodos we decided this year to go to Limassol.
A bit concerned about the hotel because of the negative reviews at this site!!
We really don't understand the negativism.
The hotel looks great after the renovation. The lobby area with the nice design furniture, the restaurants (kalypso with leolux chairs!! yes!! HOLLAND!!!), everything looks modern and stylish also.
The rooms at the first floor are really perfect, even new bathrooms.
Some critical notes:
- the swimmingpool isn't ideal for children at the age of +/- 6+; the children's pool is too childish, the big pool starts at 1.40 m.
- for the half board guest there is no choise in restaurant possible; (or you have to take 17,50 euro reduction) Mostly the half board is a buffet at the terraza restaurant. For us it would be better to have a choise between table d 'hote or buffet. (like in Paphos)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anoniemNederland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
3.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Property: Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Address: Amathus Ave | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3606, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Limassol
#1 Family Hotel in Limassol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#2 Spa Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World", you will enjoy deluxe accommodation, top-class range of fitness, sport and leisure facilities, fabulous restaurants with superlative cuisine, sumptuous and perfectly appointed surroundings including 4000 sq.m. of immaculate sunbathing lawn gardens and, on top of everything, efficient and uncompromising personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amathus Beach Limassol
Limassol Amathus Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing