We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel but terrible location”
Review of Four Seasons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel but terrible location”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

This is the seventh time I have stayed at this hotel and the service as always was wonderful. The staff at this hotel are second to none and nothing is too much trouble.

Unfortunately the euro against the pound does make the hotel very expensive. for example 2 gin and tonics €18 which is just slightly less than £18 And of course across the road in another bar it is much less. I know you can expect to pay a premium as it is a 5 star hotel however I do think this is excessive.

Outside the hotel there is a dual carriageway where it seems that all the craziest drivers are. The speed of these cars is awful and very frightening sometimes when they fly past you at such a great speed. It seems if you venture out onto this road that you are definitely taking your life in your hands. Of course this has nothing to do with the hotel which remains one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank F10nna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickAristou, Executive Director at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Dear F10nna
Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. With regard to the dual carriageway in front of the hotel I am very pleased to say that after years of lobbying, the local council and the Limassol Town planning department, have finally listened to our plea and as I write a pedestrian crossing with Traffic lights, (Pelican Crossing) is being installed right in front of the hotel. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Best regards
Nick Aristou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,598
    220
    37
    32
    13
See reviews for
598
706
63
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Room facing the sea with a cute balcony - just great. Make sure to ask for higher floor.

Solid quality and service overall. This is the 5th time I visit it while on business and so far not disappointed.

Can recommend for business and vacation alike.

Room Tip: Get room on higher floor, facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We have been to numerous hotels in Cyprus and I can easily say Four Seasons is the best.

THE GOOD...

* Staff is excellent. As a waiter said "I have worked in several hotels and this is the one that makes me the happiest". This attitude reflects in their interaction with the guests.

* Surrounding is exceptional for Limassol. The hotel's oriental "fish pond" garden is beautiful and peaceful. There is a large swimming pool (mostly preferred by kids) a smaller "adults-only" swimming pool with Jacuzzi's and a nice beach. We spent most of our time at the beach and although Limassol's beachs are a little muddy (meaning the sea is not crystal clear) the "blue flag" means they are kept in pristine condition. None of the hotels can "own" the beach but Four Seasons has its own comfy wooden chaise longues. The beach area also makes a great walk in the evening.

* Rooms are nice. Last time we preferred a sea view room and this time we tried the Garden Suites. Both rooms were nicely decorated and comfortable (and extremely silent) but I must say I preferred the sea view regular room. The reason is that although Garden Suites have a semi-private jacuzzi (and a small pool that imitates a river), privacy was not very good. We stayed in room 906 and the botanical "cover" that is supposed to "hide" you from the street in front was decaying and was quite open in places. I could easily see people walking by. I wish hotel direction would use a green or bambu paravan behind the plants.

THE NOT-SO-GOOD...

* Wifi is not available hotelwide and its not free. Rooms only have an ethernet connection (paid) that will leave you in the cold if you use an iPhone/iPad. 4 EUR per hour, come on! We are in 2011. Wifi coverage and pricing is a disaster to my eyes, I've seen 3-4 star hotels with a better infrastructure.

* Mavrommatis Restaurant's food was slightly above average. The taster menu was an ok experience with some bland courses and others that really shined. We had similar experiences before and I can say it was not up to our expectation (nice location on the balcony and good service though). During our last visit we had tried the Oriental restaurant which was much better.

* Hotel's architecture is outdated (but almost all hotels in Limassol look as if they escaped from the 1970's). They did their best to renovate and although the hotel looks much better once you're in, the initial view is still a turn off.

* Hotel is located on a very busy avenue. So beware street side rooms! Must really get a sea view room.

CONCLUSION...

None of the "not so goods" except wifi really annoyed us. We had a great time and we will certainly return. However I recognize there is a great difference between staying in quiet rooms like we did and the streeet view rooms. Most bad reviews come from people staying in the ones facing the avenue.

As a final note, don't listen to the "full of loud Russians with prostitutes" thing. True, there are many Russians but they are mostly families and they are not louder than anyone else. This is way overblown in the negative reviews I have read.

This is the #1 hotel in Limassol for a reason folks.

Room Tip: Get SeasideRooms/GardenSuites.Avoid street view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TuncY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickAristou, Executive Director at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear TuncY
Thankyou for taking the time to post such an honest and well rounded review. The Wifi issue is being addressed you will be pleased to hear, we are in fact installing Wifi access points in EVERY room as I write. The installation is 75% complete at the moment and we estimate going live in about 10 days, at which point all our guest rooms will have a very strong WiFi signal with an 8mbit connection. In addition the Wifi availability is being upgraded at the same time throughout the hotel so that the same strong signal will be accessible throughout the building. The Wifi in the public areas of the hotel will remain free of charge and in the bedrooms the charge will be substantially reduced.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Nick Aristou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This hotel is still the finest in Cyprus in my opinion, in fact one of the very best in the whole of the Mediteranean. we returned last month and found everything to be as perfect as it has been previously.
The staff turnover here is exceptionally low, this highlights the very positive working environment that they experince and immediately explains as to why you are greeted like family when you arrive/return. First impressions are always important and this hotel and its managemnt team understand the kudos that this can carry.
All the staff are of the very highest quality, from those who greet you upon arrival to the maids and housekeeping staff. They all have a word and a smile which makes the whole experince of staying here most pleasurable.
The management team are very visible and very open, the team that look after the bars and restaurants are quite exceptional!
I would just like to offer a small illustration of their ability to act upon what they hear. In October when we were last there, one evening, one of the management team asked my 12 year old son whether he could suggest anything that would make HIS stay more enjoyable should he return? He tentatively suggested that the games room equipment could do with some modernisation, a small facelift in fact. Upon our return, this small but very practical step had been taken, certainly not the greatest cost in the undoubtedly substancial hotel budget, but one that children such as mine whom are awaiting their parents to finish getting ready and can just while away a few minutes.
In short, this hotel has it all, and one that many otheres could learn from! Would I return? you bet I will. Should you try it? You bet you should!
A very relaxing stay and one that I hope to repeat again and again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysablue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England.
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Conscious of all the great reviews of this hotel we hesitate to share our opinion. I guess we are quite private people who value our privacy on holiday, appreciate peace and quiet, and enjoy luxurious hotel living which offers something beyond the norm. Against these criteria we were disappointed with the Four Seasons to be honest.

As further context we should also say that we didn’t particularly enjoy Limassol as a location. It’s obviously an urban destination and the busy four lane highway that runs immediately in front of the Four Seasons (and many of the other top-end hotels in the city), the litter strewn and poorly maintained public coastal pathway that runs on sea side of the hotels, and then the ‘gentlemen’s’ clubs’, karaoke bars and ‘photo menu’ restaurants that are the Four Seasons’ roadside neighbours didn’t really create the environment we’d hoped for.

We’d booked an inland view room which turned out to be a false economy because this overlooked the four lane highway and the rather unattractive sprawling accommodation on the other side of it. There was also some noise from the road during the night and we’d definitely recommend future guests to book a sea-view room to avoid this.

We arrived at the Four Seasons on 23 June for five nights. A convention was just leaving the hotel and the lobby was crowded and chaotic. We checked in to our room which appeared newly (and nicely) refurbished with every convenience, a very comfortable bed, and a flat screen TV with numerous channels - but it was small. The bathroom was small too, not helped by an outsized plastic Jacuzzi bath which seemed to us to be a questionable use of limited space. The shower that sat over the bath was enclosed by a narrow set of folding doors which made taking a shower quite a claustrophobic experience.

The hotel was very crowded throughout our stay and, although there was an international mix, the property appeared to cater predominantly to guests from Russia.

We took breakfast on our first morning in Cafe Tropical and this was a zoo. We were shown to a table which was cramped and very close to the neighbouring ones. Although there were other empty sections the breakfast team only wanted to seat people in the zones which they had designated for service so hopes of tranquillity and space, or a quiet start to our day, were quickly lost. The buffet choice and food quality were excellent but we didn’t enjoy battling through the herds of other guests, many piling their plates sky high, to collect our food.

The orangey brown decor of Cafe Tropical (and the tired-looking uniforms of its staff) was something of a throw-back to the eighties. The Tropical theme was also a mystery – why not a Cypriot-themed restaurant as we were in Cyprus? There was no Cypriot flavour anywhere in the hotel that we could discern.

We then went to the beach and were pleased to be greeted by an attendant and shown to a sunbed. The beach area subsequently became very crowded, with guests arguing over their sunbeds and so on so we moved to the main pool which was little better. The next day we discovered the adults pool where service was excellent and which was a real haven of peace. Unlike at the beach and the main pool, we were pleased to be offered complimentary drinks and small snacks and exemplary service much more in the style we enjoy. The adults pool itself was great and the sunbeds extremely comfortable. We also enjoyed the hotel’s well equipped gym and great indoor pool and spa area.

Aside from at the adults pool many of the usual small touches that mark out a top hotel seemed to be missing at the Four Seasons. On arrival our room included a welcome basket of fruit and two small complimentary bottles of water but these were never replenished. There was no turndown chocolate, complimentary daily newspaper or any other special amenity offered. Although staff were mostly friendly and professional, service at times seemed overstretched – for example we left our room at 915am on the first morning leaving a ‘please make up the room’ sign on the door, but when we returned at 330pm it still hadn’t been serviced.

We wouldn’t have been candidates for the ‘Extravaganza Buffet ShowTime Special’ , the ‘Country and Western Buffet’ or the other events that were laid on in Cafe Tropical in the evenings but we did try on several occasions to book tables in the hotel’s other restaurants, admittedly at short notice, but failed each time to get a reservation. Instead we ate in restaurants neighbouring the hotel and which proved unremarkable.

Others have said they found the hotel expensive – it was quite, but we’d have been ok with that if we felt it offered anything above the norm. What we weren’t ok with was the Eur25 charge for 24 hours of internet access. In effect this is a 10% supplement on the room charge for a service which today is almost as fundamental as running water or lighting.

So all in all not a great experience for us but again, we fully acknowledge the positive reviews from others here so we must just be the odd-ones-out I guess.

After our five night stay we were happy to leave the Four Seasons. Our request to extend by 90 minutes our check-out from the hotel’s standard 12 noon departure time was declined on the basis that incoming guests would need the room. This lack of a small amount of flexibility after five nights as guests at the hotel - like the other failings I’ve mentioned - wasn’t the end of the world, but it served simply to underline the ‘underwhelmed’ feeling we experienced when we checked-in, and which had stayed with us throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tint7003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickAristou, Executive Director at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear tint7003
Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I was very dissapointed to see that your experience with us was not up to your expectations. Underwhelmed is certainly not how we would like our guests to feel, our mission is in fact to delight every guest that walks through our door! The one thing I can say is that we are a hotel that listens, we listen to our guests, we listen to our staff and to the local community and by listening we improve and develop the hotel wherever we can. That is how the Adults Only Pool area which you liked so much, was created for example. Our staff are empowered to use initiative and be flexible when dealing with all our guests requirements, however when a hotel is very full it is not always possible to grant every request. Thankyou for staying with us.
Best regards
Nick Aristou
Executive Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena-Malaga
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Four Seasons for the first time and for 10 days. It is a delightful hotel with excellent facilties, in a very pleasant location 10 minutes outside Limassol and with a splendid beach front location. Close by are numerous shops and restaurants to supplement what the hotel provides.
We cannot speak highly enough of the staff, from the doormen to cleaners, waiters and reception evryone was so friendly and helpful, beyond any hotel we have sayed at previously.
We enjoyed a fourth floor superior room with sea view which was immaculate, with tea/coffee facilities,minibar, and good furniture. The bathroom is high quality and well designed. The only problem is that there is an obscure glazed panel between it and the bedroom, so when you use the bathroom in the night, it lights up the whole bedroom!
We certainly appreciated the sea view side of the hotel as rooms opposite look onto a very busy main road quite close by.
The hotel was occupied with about 50% Russian families and only about 20% British which seems to have a logical knock on effect on the food, and possibly the prices. We ate entirely in the main "Tropical Restaurant" on half board. Breakfasts were reasonably good with buffet style menu including the usual omelettes, eggsand bacon, plus a lot of strange things I've never seen before! Dinner seemed very Russian or maybe Greek orientated and not with the usual range of main course or sweet items I associate with a good quality hotel.
It is possible to eat inside or out at all meals and the terrace overlooking the gardens and beautiful tropical fish ponds could not be better with very attentive staff.
As others have said we were horrified by the price of drinks, and it is very noticeable that apart from the Russians, most guest settle for a large bottle of water with their evening meal at a cost of about £6.00 . Local wine is £19-£28 a bottle and other wines are £28- £37 . The best plan is to have a half price beer or glass of wine at happy hour, 7-8pm.
Alternatively across the raod from the hotel you can buy normal spirits by the litre bottle for about £11 plus mixers and within 300 meters there are three excellent restaurants, the Aphrodite, Danae, and another Italian restaurant with sensible prices.
In conclusion, we think the hotel is beautiful and Staff wonderful but if we went again we would stay bed and breakfast and eat out locally at good restaurants for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Email or Fax hotelfor room preference ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Attenborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NickAristou, Executive Director at Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2011
Dear Mr & Mrs Attenbourough
Thankyou for taking the time to write such an extensive review on our hotel and thankyou for your wonderful words about our staff. You are absolutely right we could always be better and indeed are always striving to make improvements every year. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards
Nick Aristou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This was my wife and I's 1st trip to Cyprus to go to a friends 60th birthday party being held at the hotel. Prior to leaving the U.K. I read the poor reviews about this hotel. I was rather concerned that we were going to a brothel at a motorway service station. Although it must be noted that the excellent reviews vastly outnumbered the poor ones.
On our arrival our concerns were quickly laid to rest. The hotel is situated alongside the main coastal route into Limassol and the room we had booked overlooked this road. Throughout our stay we quite enjoyed sitting on the balcony at night just watching the world go by. The traffic was quite noisy at times, especially the boy racers and loud motor cycles showing off to all in sundry. You will get this anywhere in the world, not just Cyprus. For those wishing a quiter life, there was always the option of shutting the balcony doors , which cut out most of the noise, or selecting a sea view room at the other side of the hotel, although these rooms are more expensive. All of the hotels in this particular area of Limassol will experience the same problem, being sandwiched between the coastal route on one side and the beach on the other.
Now onto the other point of concern raised by some reviews, the open prostitution in relation to the Russian fraternity. During our stay at the hotel this was not blatently obvious, although I have no doubt it goes on. It must be understood that there is a large Russian presence throughout Cyprus because these people are whom have the new money, buying up property and staying at the best hotels. Blame the EEC open door policy for this recent influx and its associated problems and not the individual hotels and Cyprus in general.
The hotel is a faimily run affair, and this is reflected in a family atmosphere not usually found in 5 star hotels. It has no affiliation with the global Four Seasons network. I believe that this hotel was in existance under that name before its namesake, although I may be wrong on that point. From the very start we were made to feel most welcome by the staff and management team. They are very attentive but not overpowering, a balance which is difficult to achieve. Any concerns we had were quickly and efficiently dealt with, e.g. the room kettle did not work, there was someone there within 5 minutes to replace it.. The best compiment I can give is that by the end of our stay, many of the staff had become our friends as well and this was not just because we were paying guests.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis. After eating our fill at breakfast time, the choices are endless, there is no need to fill up again until early evening. There are a wide choice of retaurants on-site, depending on your budget, they are expensive but offer any cuisine you care to mention. (sorry Nick) There are several eating places from Pizza Hut to an Indian Restaurant within a couple of minutes of the hotel which offer meals at reasonable prices. 15 euros for a 3 course meal from the set menu is about the going rate. There are also a few small shops nearby which also sell food, these shops are open all day and half the night.
For transport, the hotel lies on the main bus route into Limassol, all day, unlimited travel in the Limassol area tickets can be obtained for 2 euros. There is also an on demand taxi service from the hotel. Car hire is available from Leo's about one minute walk from the hotel at 25 euros a day. In these respects, the hotel is ideally situated for the holidaymaker and business clients alike.
To sum up, we had a totally enjoyable stay, despite trhe traffic, and will certainly be going back. Our friend, whose birthday party we went to, has been going to this hotel since I think, 1996, this is an endorsement in itself.

Room Tip: For a quiet stay, opt for a sea view room if you c
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.0 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
683 reviews
2.2 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#13 of 57 in Limassol
1,392 reviews
1.9 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Four Seasons Hotel
Address: P.O. Box 57222 | Agios Tychonas Community, Limassol 3313, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#2 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#2 Business Hotel in Limassol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#2 Family Hotel in Limassol
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The worldclass independently owned and operated Four Seasons Hotel lies on a sandy beach east of Limassol midway between the airports of Larnaca and Pafos and a short drive from the city. This 5 star establishment, the peak of luxury & style, combines superb facilities with impeccable service. With 302 rooms, 5 restaurants, 4 bars, 3 swimming pools, gymnasium, Shiseido Spa, Kids Club and a host of other facilities the hotel offers something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Limassol
Four Seasons Cyprus
Limassol Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing