We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another time with St Raphael”
Review of St Raphael Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Raphael Resort
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Another time with St Raphael”
Reviewed 18 October 2011

It was another time we spent May vacations in the resort. We persuaded our friends (2 families) to join us. We booked executive wing room which had a beautiful terrace. The minor issue was Russian speaking Neighbors who loved to explore who is aside. The tiger won't change it's spots... Though I would say that the view seemed to be better from the main building balconies. Food and service was perfect as always. Water sports gave a wonderful break to all of us. Gym was almost empty all the time so one would not have to share it. Sailor's Rest is unbelievable place. We loved it very much and celebrated two birthdays there.

We liked jewelry shop where one can always find a birthday gift. Ask for a good bargain always :-)

The Limassol old city and the port undergoes reconstruction, we hope that it will be finished.

What we definitely didn't like: an animation team which substituted English speaking team in early May: morning gymnastics turned into something very strange and frustrating, evening disco animators seemed not to care if children like the performance at all (the latest did not). The animators should accept that they are a part of very important service function and listen carefully for the polite feed back instead of giving reasons. It was frustrating. Another issue were construction works. Early buzz, 8 am, each morning. We are not early birds that much ;-)

Notwithstanding the above we plan to return to the hotel next year. See you there :-)

Room Tip: Perfect choice: executive wing, upper floors; main wing-marina view. Both are perfect. I would not r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valentyn_Kyiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for finding the time to share your experience and comments with us and other travelers. We really appreciate your thoughts and will take everything into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back next year and send our warmest wishes from the whole team. See you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    791
    374
    137
    62
    26
See reviews for
604
426
35
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at St Raphael for my dad's 60th Birthday, and we had a very lovely time.

The main positive is the staff, they really are so friendly, will do anything to help, always smiling and nothing is ever too much bother.

To list the positives:

- Friendly staff
- Amazing food - always a lovely selection
- Clean rooms and general areas
- Lots of sun beds on the beach and around the pool
- Great gym/spa/indoor pool area
- Kayaks/Pedalos and Windsurfing included
- Lovely clean beach
- Lebanese restaurant - also offering a delicious selection
- The spirits used are the real make such as our Gin & Tonics were made with Gordons Gin and not the local spirit, very nice.
- Lovely little touches such as flannels to dry your hands in the bathoom, lovely soaps and hand creams etc.
- Staff arranged for wine and fruit to be sent to my dads room for his birthday.
- The Sailors Rest restaurant was a nice option to go for a special Birthday meal, food is delicious, I recommend the oysters. (Again, staff here were fantastic and arranged a birthday cake for our dad)
- A 2 Euro bus ride takes you to Limassol old town, however we didn't find much to do here. (unless we didn't find the right part)

A few moans:

- Dad paid a bit more to get a sea view room, but we were still on the side of the hotel, with half a sea view and a tiny balcony. We asked for an executive upgrade but were told the hotel was full, but it didn't seem full.
- The rooms could do with a bit of an update, agree it is more 4* than 5*
- Not too much trouble with the Russians, but they are rude, never smile and I was barged out the way a couple of times.
- There is real problem with stray cats, they seem to be breeding on the grounds of the hotel and feeding on scraps of food. They are wandering around your feet whilst you are eating dinner and it can make you feel quite uncomfortable. I think the hotel should address this.
- We booked up for the 'Ultra All Inclusive' option, however there were still quite a few bits that weren't included in this, such as cocktails on the menu, food at the beach bar, and ice cream. I thought this was a shame as All Inclusive, should be ALL Inclusive.

But apart from this, we had a very lovely, relaxing week away. The weather was wonderful, 28-30 degrees all week, apart from one day of storms. The little extra touches of this hotel were very noticeable, they do try their hardest to ensure you have a wonderful stay, we had a fantastic and very memorable family holiday!

Room Tip: A full Sea View would be nicer than the ordinary rooms, but didn't think the Exec rooms looked t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear that you did not find much to do/see in Limassol. The town has a lot to offer and I am sure you ended up in a less interesting part. Just for future reference, I would recommend Agiou Andreou Street for shopping local products and souvenirs, the Limassol Castle (where King Richard and Queen Berengaria got married) with lots of coffee shops around, Molos Area to walk along the coast, Makarios Avenue for higher end shops, and much more. Please ask us next time as we would be delighted for you to experience our beautiful town to the max! :)
We thank you so much for your kind review which we really appreciate. With regard to your 'moans', we do have marina view rooms which have larger balconies and full frontal views of the sea, gardens and marina but these are slightly more expensive. The hotel is very popular and we are full throughout the peak season and in a lot of the 'off-peak' seasons too. The joy of our large gardens and property is that even when we are full, our guests still have space to move around and do not feel cramped.
We do try our utmost to keep our cat population down to a minimum but I am sure you can understand that this is an island wide issue (there is even a myth made up for the Cyprus cats and why we have them in abundance). They do of course breed and feel very comfortable with people as many of our guests feed them. We do our best to take as many cats as possible to sanctuaries or give them to happy homes, however as we do not believe in cruelty to animals, we cannot do more. I am sure you understand.
Our All Inclusive package is known as Ultra as we do include all and more than we are due to, the difference is that we offer additional extras should someone wish to pay a supplement to purchase something different. For example we could not include Dom Pérignon champagne, and indeed certain cocktails, but the majority of our menu choices (over 90%) are included as you kindly noted.
We thank you so much for your kind and honest review and appreciate every comment which we take seriously and helps us build for a better future. Congratulations to your father again and we look forward to welcoming you back at our resort. We wish you all our very best from the whole team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

The best service, very frendly and helpfull personal. Rooms are nice and clean. Pool area big, nice, clean and very relaxing. Breakfast foot exellent. Beautiful beach with a snackbar and rent a motorboat stand.
Spa very good organised with a very good facilities
St. Raphael we miss you, see you next year.

The best hotel in town !!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,
You cannot imagine how lovely it is to read such a heartfelt, sweet review on our property which we work so hard to make enjoyable to all our guests. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back next year and send our warmest wishes from sunny Cyprus. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed in first week of October. Staff were excellent, Executive room we stayed in was clean and of a high standard. Not sure what people are on about if they level any criticism at the food. The selection at breakfast, lunch and dinner was always extremely good and the quality of food (given it is mass catering) was brilliant! If I was returning to Cyprus in the future I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this resort again or to recommend it to friends/family. Overall, a very good hotel/resort!

Room Tip: Didn't see any of the 'standard' rooms but the 'Executive' rooms are newly refur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of our resort, food, service and executive rooms. We really do try our best to offer the highest standards at the most affordable prices and appreciate your kind comments, especially about the food which we will pass on to our chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back at our resort whenever you next visit Cyprus and thank you so much for your recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We have recently returned from a 2 week stay at the St Raphael Resort where we got married.

In terms of the hotel we would agree it is a 4 star resort, however all it needs is a lick of paint and some new funishings as the decor is a little dated and a few additional restaurants would make it perfect. However it certainly was much better than some of the other hotels we noticed nearby that claimed to be 4 star, so maybe that is the decor in Cyprus.

We chose this hotel as the place for our wedding and I cannot offer the hotel enough praise for the efforts they went to make our day amazing. Both my partner and I were made to feel so special from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. All staff (even those we had not met as part of the planning of the day) knew who we were and what we were there for. The location of the wedding was just perfect set in the garden right on the beach.

The service offered by all staff was fantastic, nothing was ever too much trouble both on the wedding day itself and for the duration of our holiday. All staff went out of their way to make sure our son was well looked after and happy. Offering him strawberries when they found out they were his favourites and making sure he had plenty of warm milk at supper time.

We hired the phoenician for our wedding reception and highly recommend this to anyone getting married there. Savvas, the restaurant manager and his team went way beyond our expectations both in setting up the room for the reception, the quality of food offered and the level of service provided.

We stayed in a Marina View room with our young son. The view was fantastic! The rooms were very spacious and exceptionally clean.

The food was good with plenty of variety at both lunch and dinner times. Some days were a real struggle to limit what we ate and not pile our plates high. It was a good job there was an on-site gym as I may have struggled to get into my wedding dress.

The Sailors Rest restaurant is well worth a visit. It is not part of the all inclusive option, however very reasonably priced given the location (right on the sea / marina) and the fantastic food served. We had 2 three course meals and a childrens meal along with a bottle of wine and paid just 135 euros.

The entertainment was good with plenty of activities during the day and night for both children and adults.

A fantastic hotel for families and weddings and would highly recommend. We will be looking to go back in future years to celebrate our anniversaries.

Room Tip: Choose either a sea view or marina view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear reviewer,

All of us here at St Raphael Resort send our warmest congratulations on your recent wedding at our resort and wish you all the very best for the future. We were delighted that you took the time to write such a wonderful review of our resort and were glad to see that you enjoyed all aspects.

Our Phoenician restaurant is a very popular venue for weddings because of its unique layout and grand entrance, we were glad you enjoyed it. We were pleased to read that you ventured down to the Sailor’s Rest Lounge Bar restaurant which offers affordable fine dining experiences with exceptional views of the Mediterranean Sea and of the resort as a whole with exceptional service.

We do our utmost to keep our resort in tip-top condition and undergo extensive maintenance programs every winter with many plans for renovations coming up in the next few years. Please do sign up for our newsletter on our website to keep up to date with all our latest news.

Again, you have our warmest wishes for the future and we do hope we can welcome you back to our resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

IWe've stayed between 22 to 27 sept.The hotel has nice location near Marina and the beach. The pools are nice, you find enough sun beds. If you go on the beach after 10.30 in the morning you'll not find anymore sunbeds or umbrellas. Much too less for so many people in such big hotel.
The breakfast was the worst ever. I cannot imagine such a non-tasty and cheap food not even in a 3 start hotel. I really wonder how people could mention "great food". Iam sorry, Iam not a princess, neither eating at home only caviar, but I traveled often in 4* and 5* and never ever had such a horrible breakfast. Watching other review I only can imagine being true if starting 22 september when I was there they changed completely the breakfast.
Anyhow, evening food was ok but we chose after 2 days to eat in the Marina restaurant which was EXCELLENT FOOD and the price pretty OK for the standard.
What I liked also was that people were decent, quiet.... which is somehow normal in september after schools started and families with children cannot travel.
So this hotel is rather 3-4 stars hotel and if I would have paid around 120-150 euros per night I would have said is OK. But when I booked over Internet a so called 5* hotel with around 300 euros per night, I expected of course much much higher standards and me and my friends were very disappointed.
.

Room Tip: ask a room with marina view either front view or side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maia0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate all our guests who take the time to write reviews on TripAdvisor but we are somewhat shocked by your comments. We have never received complaints about our breakfast display, whether the quality or selection. We serve everything from hot cooked breakfast, pancakes, fresh fruit, cereals, selection of bread and pastries, condiments, yoghurts, cheese and cold cuts, and the list just goes on. We also serve cooked omelets and a variety of eggs upon request and are at the disposal of all our guests to help with their choice of tastes and dietary requirements.
We are proud that we have recently won for the 3rd year running 'The Mediterranean's Leading Resort' and for the 4th year running as 'Cyprus' Leading All Inclusive Resort'. These awards are independently judged and voted for and we pride ourselves in offering excellent value for money with a choice of restaurants, cuisine, imported alcoholic beverages, fresh juices, snacks and much more.
Various online sites have some amazing deals for our hotel throughout the year and I would like to point out that even tho you did visit us in peak season, our rates are still considered within the market segment as being extremely good value.
Thank you very much for your comments regarding the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant which was voted in 2009 for the 'Best Cuisine' in Cyprus. We are really proud of this restaurant.
We do hope we can welcome you back to our resort in the future and can add you to the many thousands of satisfied guests worldwide. We are at your disposal to assist with any further inquiries or comments.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Just back to diet after spending 10 days at a great hotel. Good choice of food and I recommend Chef's salad with vinegrette dressing. Easy to eat too much as always tempting so be aware if you don't want to put on weight on holiday. I'm on carrrot sticks for a fortnight. ...thats the bad side, now on to the good...

Procopis, Christian, Anna, Gabrielle... just some of the staff that will make your holiday, and all employees deserve a mention for their outstanding service. The best part of staying here was the quality of attention to detail. I have stayed in hotels where it was obvious that staff were tired or not interested, you won't find this here as they are all exceptional. They can't do enough for you and make sure you save some Euros for them at the end of your holiday! Thanks too to the restaurant managers who always greeted you with a smile and welcome.

We stayed in an executive room which was cleaned every day, with fresh linen and towels and to a very high standard. There are plenty of things to do at hotel but we preferred to relax by the pool. The entertainment staff were very enthusiastic and didn't mind if you didn't want to "take part" and they did excellent work encouraging guests to participate in various activities. We didn't use Spa but from what I saw it was of very high standard.

The Russian guests can be a bit hard going, especially to get a smile from them. ...so here's the challenge...see how many you can get to show their pearlies on your holiday?! On the whole just remember your manners, because they don't seem to have many so don't let the side down.

On a lighter note.... don't forget to savour Christian's cocktails at the pool bar, Anna and Gabrielle great smiles at breakfast and lunch and not forgetting Procopis on Reception. efficient, funny and makes your holiday.

Forget what others have said...try it out for yourselves...great holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justjoyce3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Reviewer,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us because we do put a great deal of effort through our staff and our offering to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay. We are delighted to read your charming and witty review and do hope to welcome you back to our resort soon , and maybe next time you might be able to try our brand new Serenity Spa with it's amazing staff too and a wide variety of treatments. Our warmest wishes from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
4.2 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
899 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
1,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,498 reviews
4.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Raphael Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Raphael Resort

Property: St Raphael Resort
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 502 | P.O.Box 51064, Pyrgos, Limassol 4520, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Limassol
#10 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#10 Business Hotel in Limassol
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#13 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — St Raphael Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Raphael Resort, Cyprus' leading all inclusive resort, offering it's unique Ultra All Inclusive package, as well as other terms of stay, made to suit each individual requirement whether for a holiday, wedding, business trip or group event.LocationLocated on the South Coast of Cyprus on the outskirts of Limassol, on one of the largest blue flag accredited sandy beaches, the St. Raphael combines all the advantages of a carefully chosen, tranquil location: the calm sea at our doorstep and the colourful liveliness of Limassol just a few miles away.Accommodation272 rooms and suites. 90% of our rooms have magnificient views over the Mediterranean Sea with a balcony. Every room is equipped with air-conditioning, safety deposit boxes, colour plasma 26 inch tv, radio, direct dial telephone, internet access, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities and hairdryer. To add to the luxurious tone 6 Admiral Suites with a private Jacuzzi are also available.RestaurantsThere are six excellent choices of restaurants to suit all moods and occasions, including our recently built Sea Shells Beach Tavern on St Raphael Beach and the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant for exquisite fine dining experiences by the St Raphael Marina.BarsThree magnificent bars are available in the resort. These include the Captain's Bar and Terrace with breathtaking views over the Mediterranean Sea and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Bookcyprus.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Raphael Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Raphael Hotel Limassol
St Raphael Limassol
St Raphael Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing