We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family holiday”
Review of St Raphael Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St Raphael Resort
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just returned from holiday travelling with children aged 6 to 13. Stayed in Executive in-land view room. Nice room, very clean with large bathroom. Food excellent and lots of choice. Pools great, although the swim up bar looking a little tired. Great resort for family looking for a rest, but enough to do to keep the younger ones/ more energetic busy. All staff polite and efficient with many extremely friendly and helpful. All bars and restaurant offer good service. Only complaint would be about the evening entertainment - sometimes the humidity at night made the outdoor amphitheatre very uncomfortable and it was a shame there was no indoor venue for this. Also the entertainment is repeated weekly so we saw the same shows twice - a fortnightly programme would be better. Also the seating outside the Captain's bar was often taken up with people taking advantage of the free wi-fi which meant some nights we were unable to find a seat. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and am sure we will be back.

Room Tip: Executive inland view considerably cheaper than Marina/sea view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Reviewer, we are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. We thank you for all your comments and have taken notes of your remarks regarding the entertainment in the evening and the Captain's Terrace. We shall see what can be arranged. You may be pleased to know that we have now completed our indoor games room for all ages to enjoy in the Eden Garden which not contains arcade games, table tennis, board/card games tables, Nintendo Wii Games consoles and where we have evening movies shown, all in air-condition. We look forward to seeing you again and are at your disposal to assist with any future bookings. Kind regards, Farah Shammas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

875 - 881 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed at St Raphael Resort, Cyprus with my family this summer. Cyprus is a fantastic place to spend vocation I think. Cypriots are very friendly and hospitable people. Weather wasn't too hot (32-34 C) and the sea crystal clean (actually St Raphael has Blue Flag ratings for sea). Beach is big enough and sandy. Hotel itself is a little old but has a good interior. There is a newer built executive wing, where is better to stay. Our room had inland view, but they upgraded it to sea view with no charge. Food was delicious, high quality and never was the same. There is also animation program both for adults and kids. Also evening shows. The only bad thing is that beach at St Raphael is very popular among locals, and especially on Saturdays and Sundays it's quite crowded on evenings. On the whole it's a very nice place to spend a vacation with family and never get disappointed.

Room Tip: Definitely it is better to have a room in newer built executive wing, but if you can't afford to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honestourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Reviewer, thank you so much for taking the time to share you positive experience and for giving us the opportunity to be of service to you. Our beach is indeed popular with locals, mainly during the weekends in the month of July, as it is regarded as the beach beach in Limassol by many and there is little we can do about this as all beaches in Cyprus are public but we have added more sunbeds this year to cope with the demand. We do hope to welcome you back at our resort soon and wish you all the best. Kind regards, Farah Shammas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My title says it all, just so far for me and my family the best holiday. I highly recommend this hotel with all amenities and full of beautiful people in the full sense of the word hospitality to give everything to make all guests feel like a very very dear people in their presence. Big congratulations to all the hotel staff because the warmth, just stay such as you were during our vacation. One more time thank you very much

να μεγάλο ευχαριστώ

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mladen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Reviewer, thank you so much for your positive comments. We pride ourselves in our staff, who are our strongest asset and invest a lot in staff training. We are proud that many of our staff have been with us for years. We do hope to welcome you back soon where we can again be of service to you. Σας ευχαριστώ πολύ, Farah Shammas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed in a family room at St Raphael Resort, Cyprus. Very clean and spacious enough for 5 of us. We travelled with Olympic Holidays, all-inclusive package and from start to finish, everything went smoothly. Arrived at the hotel to be greeted by friendly, smiling staff. Nikos, concierge was very helpful. Restaurants were clean, tidy and always plenty of staff on hand. Food was delicious and plentiful. I must mention Captains Bar - the staff, Virgil our waiter, otherwise known as Mr San Francisco!!!!! Virgil was extremely attentive, spoke great English and knew what drinks we liked and how we liked them. Also, the entertainment guys, Alex and Victor - my daughters had great fun with these two - great energy, always smiling and time for all children - again, very good English was spoken. There are loads of other staff to mention, thank you for helping to make our holiday restful and fun. We will certainly be back to St Raphael, hopefully sooner rather than later.
Would recommend this holiday to families, couples, friends etc.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank irish042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,
We would like to express our gratitude and thanks to you for sharing such a great review of your experience at our resort with the TripAdvisor community. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff were attentive. We have passed on your kind comments to Nikos, Virgil, Alex and Victor who all send their warmest wishes. We do hope to welcome you back to our resort. All the best from Limassol and thanks again for recommending our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed for the first 2 weeks of July at the St Raphael resort. This was our first all inclusive holiday and we were not disappointed. The staff at the hotel are all very friendly. We stayed in an inland view executive room - very spacious. Bunks great for the kids. Cleaning to a high standard. Food is of a high quality. Lots of choice but self service buffet for dinner can be a bit similar for 2 weeks so would recommend a trip to the Sailors rest restaurant once or twice at the marina. Great food and lovely setting - worth paying the extra. The hotel has a great entertainment programme for kids and adults. Alex and Victor work extremely hard to get everyone involved in the daytime activities - well done guys. Aqua aerobics will never be the same again!! The girls went the first couple of days to the kids club and were surprised to find that all the children were Russian but Mila, who runs the club made sure she found some other English speaking children for Taylor and Kira to play with. The kids all adore Mila, Valentina and the other girls in the club. The entertainment team all work really hard and the evening programme for kids and adults is really good. The pools are lovely and there was never a problem getting sun loungers. The grounds are lovely and the hotel is right on the beach with some watersports included. Most of the guests are Russian which we hadn't expected. I would recommend the St Raphael for families and do try the San Francisco cocktails!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are very nice. Were hardly in the room so glad we didn't pay the extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZLangmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read that you found our award winning resort to be friendly and up to standard and that you found the time to visit our Sailor’s Rest Fine dining restaurant down at St Raphael Marina. We have passed on your comments to Alex and Victor as well as Mila and Valentina. We would like to wish you all the best from Limassol and do hope to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Have just returned from a great week at the St Raphael. Things got off to a perfect start when our hotel-arranged taxi driver was waiting for us at Larnaca Airport, and continued when we arrived to find our room request had been honoured - we were given room 570, one of the executive marina view rooms. We specifically asked for a top-floor room to minimise noise. Although this room is probably the closest to reception and the bar, the soundproofing is perfect. The room itself was spotless, nicely decorated and, once the aircon had been on for an hour or two, wonderfully cool. Plenty of space for belongings, penty of plug sockets and of course the enormous terrace looking out over the kids' pool to the marina and beach.

Dining was fine, with 6 places to choose from. However, breakfast and dinner are mainly confined to the two largest restaurants which, although they do vary the menu daily, risk being monotonous if your stay is longer than a week. One small gripe with the main Palladium restaurant is that it tends to get quite hot in there - not as well air conditioned as the rest of the hotel. Breakfast was always very varied, and plenty of different lunchtime options.

The hotel only has one pool for adults (the other is a smaller kids' pool). Personally I'd prefer more of a pool complex, but the excellent swim-up bar does help to compensate for this. Unfortunately the pool is also the site for various daytime activities - kids' water polo, aqua stretch, adults' water polo - and at these times swimming options are somewhat limited. For me, the perfect addition to the St Raphael would be to convert part of the extensive gardens into another pool, perhaps exclusively for adults.

During our stay, I would say 75% of other guests were families, and whilst the hotel is geared more towards them, you don't feel in any way left out as a regular couple. Sure, it's a little noisier, but not unbearably so.

The beach is just moments from the hotel - the grounds run right up to the sand. It's a lovely stretch of beach, sheltered on one side by the marina. The water is shallow - it's a good 20 yard walk into the sea until the water is chest deep - but crystal clear and warm. Watersports are provided by one company - beware the jetski charges, which are ridiculous (€50 for 15 minutes). Instead, we hired a speedboat for an hour and blasted up and down the coastline at 45mph - much more fun.

Now to the contentious point - many other reviewers have grumbled about the number of Russians who stay here. Yes, the hotel is Russian-dominated (perhaps 90% of the guests when we arrived, less by the time we left) and yes, they can seem somewhat rude and abrupt. But trust me, you'd rather be staying at a family resort with Russians than a non-family resort. I understand Russian culture better than most, having lived there and being able to speak the language, and I noticed nothing out of the ordinary here. Sure, they don't teach their children to say please and thank you, and you're unlikely to be acknowledged if you hold a door open for one of them. But you have to understand that other cultures are different - judge anyone by English standards of politeness and courtesy and they'll end up looking bad. If you focus on enjoying your own holiday, it's unlikely you will be bothered by anyone else, Russian or not. One thing I'll say about them - they give the Germans a run for their money in the sunbed reserving stakes, so if you want that prime spot on the beach, get there early and mark your territory.

Overall I'd gladly return to the St Raphael - it seems they've made many improvements over the last few years, to me another pool would be the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Any marina view room in the executive wing. Non-marina view rooms do not have the same big terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kevlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review which not only pleased us but did make us smile! I am so grateful for your honesty and detailed review but more importantly am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend and return to our resort. Thank you so much for your understanding. We will keep in mind your request for an additional 4th pool, however as our building quota is already maxed out, it does not look likely :)

Many thanks and looking forward to your return.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Arrived at St Raphael Early hours of Monday the 2nd July, This was due to flight changes by Olympic but hassle and tiredness soon dissappeared when Sylvia and I were told we had a room upgrade due to wedding. Room was excellent, clean and large, and the balconey looking over the pools and towards the marina which was out of this world! As a oil worker i do alot of traveling and would rank this hotel as among one of the best i have stayed in, in the west meditarianian area.
The pools are very clean and the staff are very busy a handful are firendly, my family and i made good used of the bars as higlanders we like a drink and were glad to see a good selection of all inclusive cocktails and drinks. I thought breakfast was very good and lunch was good but i am afraid to say that the main evening dinning area was not so great because the food was never hot and laided out buffet style which means that hundreds of hands are all over it, also the food caters more for the russians which is very mush the focus of the hotel on most evening the tables around us had children using dvd players or laptops while eating this does nt add to the experince . Over all i would say, with honesty! that if you want to experience the real cyprus you should either stay somewhere else or leave the hotel everyday, inwhich case means missing out on your all inclusive, the hotel is among one of the top on the whole island but unfortunatly has fallen foul as the island has to allowing itself to become over run by russians! all staff at hotel either speak greek or russian with limited english, most entertainment is catered for russian and british cildren will feel left out or to intimidated to used kids club! and also i was told by four sperate russians that we are not welcome here! also my wife was sat on by a fat ruissian while watching evening show at ampitheare in an adempt to get us to go away. shop in hotel is full of russian stock and caters for russians. The hotel as i said earlier is a good hotel but we will never go back as the majority of the guests have tarnished the area also what has happened to the famous cypriot hospitality as everyone one we met or talked to or saw in limmasol was really misserable. We could not fault our Wedding day as Anita Our Olymipic Coordinator was fantastic and we spend the evening of our wedding at her village enjoying a evening of traditional cypriot music wine and great food and would recommend a olympic wedding to everyone. I final point sylvia and i really did have a wonderful time the hotel trys its best with the tools it has but has to make money and all the money now comes from russia which is a catch 22 because the russians stop other nationalitys feeling welcome we have been to cyprus many times but this unfortualy be our last time as it is no longer the island we fell in love with.

Room Tip: We where kept awake untill 3 am on few nights as partys going on, on the beaches near to marina view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajbrown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
straphaelresort, Director of Sales at St Raphael Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

We are so happy to read that you found our award winning hotel among the best that you have stayed in during your vast travels and also that you were happy with your upgraded room.

Thank you for complimenting our breakfast and lunch selection however we would like to clarify that our evening meals are designed and cooked with all our guests in mind. We operate to strict HACCP (European food and service) standards and although many people dine at our buffets, the food area could never be unhealthy. I don't think we have one traditional Russian dish on our menu but have a varied, international theme night buffet rota that includes Italian, Mediterranean, Around the World, International, BBQ, Cypriot, Gala and Carvery nights. How guests choose to entertain their children during meal time is not really up to us, however we do ask for politeness and a certain level of etiquette to be maintained in our restaurants. Even though Cyprus is now within the EU zone, we do still have a high majority of Cypriot staff who are employed with us. They do obviously speak Greek, being the local language but all our also staff speak English as a must. Many do speak Russian, or have learnt over the years, as well as learning German, French, Arabic, Serbian, Hebrew, Italian, Polish and various other languages of guests who frequent our hotel. We pride ourselves on being able to help all nationalities who visit. Certainly guests who want to see sites and the culture of Cyprus should visit the local archeological sites, old town, Capitol, Mountains, monasteries and the wide variety of interesting places that Cyprus is proud to offer in its 12,000 year old history and heritage. Our client mix does vary from month to month, however the animation is always performed in at least two languages, English and Russian as these are our two main markets, both of which we highly value. We are so sorry that some guests may have been rude to you however I assure you that the locals are not miserable - just maybe hot working in the heat :) We really hope that you will visit Cyprus again, as even though the island has evolved over the past twenty years, we are still the same hospitable, friendly nation that you once loved - that I can assure you of. Finally, I would like to add that we have spoken to the local authorities who have promised to stop the beach parties which occasionally happen on the beach opposite the marina road. We sincerely hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our resort and island and wish you every happiness for your marriage and all our congratulations for your recent wedding on the island of love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
4.2 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
1,024 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 56 in Limassol
2,136 reviews
2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 56 in Limassol
1,661 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Raphael Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Raphael Resort

Address: Leoforos Amathountos 502 | 4534 Pyrgos, Limassol 3594, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Limassol
#9 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#10 Business Hotel in Limassol
#12 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: £88 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St Raphael Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Raphael Resort, Cyprus' leading all inclusive resort, offering it's unique Ultra All Inclusive package, as well as other terms of stay, made to suit each individual requirement whether for a holiday, wedding, business trip or group event.LocationLocated on the South Coast of Cyprus on the outskirts of Limassol, on one of the largest blue flag accredited sandy beaches, the St. Raphael combines all the advantages of a carefully chosen, tranquil location: the calm sea at our doorstep and the colourful liveliness of Limassol just a few miles away.Accommodation272 rooms and suites. 90% of our rooms have magnificient views over the Mediterranean Sea with a balcony. Every room is equipped with air-conditioning, safety deposit boxes, colour plasma 26 inch tv, radio, direct dial telephone, internet access, mini-bar, coffee and tea making facilities and hairdryer. To add to the luxurious tone 6 Admiral Suites with a private Jacuzzi are also available.RestaurantsThere are six excellent choices of restaurants to suit all moods and occasions, including our recently built Sea Shells Beach Tavern on St Raphael Beach and the Sailor's Rest Lounge Bar Restaurant for exquisite fine dining experiences by the St Raphael Marina.BarsThree magnificent bars are available in the resort. These include the Captain's Bar and Terrace with breathtaking views over the Mediterranean Sea and Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St Raphael Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Raphael Hotel Limassol
St Raphael Limassol
St Raphael Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing