We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who Rated this a 5 Star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Apollonia
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Who Rated this a 5 Star.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from this hotel after staying 11 nights, was ready to come home after 2 .
although this hotel has recently been renovated, whoever did the design must have thought they were refurbishing a hospital, everything painted white completely devoid of any colour, warmth or ambience. the rooms although large with plenty of hanging space are bare and cold looking with 2 horrible plastic chairs, there are no handles on the bathroom doors just two small round inset rings that break your nails or cut your fingers, shower in bathroom is not the best we have had and had to stand right up close to the plughole to catch the water. Overall impression of the room when we walked in was like a £29 per night Premier Inn. No Wi Fi in rooms unless you pay and the security safes are an exorbitant charge where other 5* hotels are free.

The Hotel is mainly occupied by Russians and if you are looking for conversation you can forget it as most will not even give you the time of day. I think there were only 5 or 6 couples who were British.

As for the food well I don't really know what to say except it was well below five star standard
all food was luke warm at best and the plates always cold. One morning even the miniature sausages were not cooked and un-edible, when the bread ran out they brought out Frozen to toast, the restaurant itself has no atmosphere being decorated in mainly white and was more like a cafeteria, also with everyone picking up the food tongs there was no evidence of anti bacteria hand gel anywhere and the food is not probed for temperature at regular intervals.I complained to the Rep and they offered us extra night in the Italian but this was limited set menu and just a taster if you wanted the real thing you had to pay, and it wasn't cheap needless to say we didn't bother. The last week we spent going out for meals which I bitterly begrudged as this hotel is not cheap by any means and we had obviously paid for the food in the price of the holiday.

Being late in the season and although the weather was glorious, the pool which looks lovely was like getting into an ice bucket and the indoor pool was not heated so swimming unless in the sea was a no go. There is no games room or library, no entertainment is provided during the day and the limited Evening entertainment was a joke.

Summing up I made a formal complaint with the resort rep and will be writing to our holiday company as we cannot understand where this hotel got it's 5* rating we have stayed in better 3*.

Needless to say we will never return.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for holidaying at Royal Apollonia and of course for leaving your feedback online.

We are not in agreement with you that our property is only worthy of 3 stars following a multi-million Euro renovation, nevertheless we respect your opinion. It seems that our decoration and clientele were the deciding factors in your dissatisfaction and we find that unfortunate to say the least; in addition, we wish you had informed us on the spot about some maintenance issues you had in the room so we could have found a solution for you. Also surprising are your comments about the food which we will look into in detail; especially the issue with its temperature is one we take very seriously and we promise to have a look immediately.

We are saddened that you will not be returning to our Royal Apollonia, but wish you all the best nevertheless.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    521
    226
    58
    29
    10
See reviews for
222
381
34
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years except last year when it was being renovated.
The hotel is a great improvement over what it was it is now very light and airy rooms are bright staying in 223. Pool area has been totally rebuilt yes the pool is not heated but it never was and the sea is usually very calm and at this time of year warmer there are children using the pool.
One thing that has changed for the good is that under the old regime service was good but you always felt it was being done with a view to a good tip the staff certainly in the dinning room give good service and you feel they are doing it because they want to certainly the two Head Waiters we have had this week a blonde lady and a husky gentleman no name badges. Yes I agree charging for using the safe is a bit off and this is the only hotel I have found this practice. As for Wi Fi this is no different to many hotels haven't found lobby speeds slow to the contrary. Drinks are not cheap and they never are in Hotels this one is no different go to the supermarket down the road Pepsi Max 25p a can or go over the road to the Shakespeare and watch the footy with a beer. How anyone can clock up a bill over £700 is beyond me and not realise unless they were hoping management would cancel it. They used to have a happy hour but this seems to have been knocked on the head. Why they put light carpets in the halls is a major mistake as the one outside our room is seriously stained. Yes food is repeated on a weekly basis but so it is in most Hotels and as for the Salmon on Saturdays they could repeat every day as far as I am concerned.
Breakfast is good though I miss the figs, prunes and dates. My son is using the Gym and he says it too is a great improvement. All in all a smarter and better hotel. Yes there are a lot of Russians so there are anywhere in Cyprus Brits are still holding the flag up though

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Royal Apollonia and for putting in a nice word for us on Tripadvisor.

We have worked extremely hard during the renovation as well as during staff training sessions to ensure our guests receive the best value for money possible when staying here. It is thus an immense pleasure to read your satisfaction with our facilities and services and we assure you that such reviews give everybody some much needed confidence.

It would be an honour to welcome you back to the Royal Apollonia.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is great after makeover despite it has lost a lot of charm. Nevertheless, the bar food is a disgrace (dry burger, uneatable chicken, cesar salad everything else but what is is called). We have ordered as well some food from their sushi joint as we have been at the kids pool. We waited for ages, and when we asked where our food is we got told (unfriendly) that they do not bring the food 20 yards to the terrace. And we are not allowed to eat it there neither. Only a discussions with the manager (who seemed to hide) got us an apology.

Their breakfast buffet can not compete with other hotels, even 4 stars. On top of all, despite when booked we have been told that their dead sea spa is fully operational we had to realised that it is not even installed. Seems that they just tricked us to get our custom.

The biggest disappointment is the freezing kids pool. Our kids (1.5, 3, 8) hat sincere problems going into this ice-cold water. Come one, for 5 stars and this price quite an unpleasant experience.

So after all use their rooms but consider twice to eat there as Limassol offers many more much better value-for-money places.

Room Tip: basically all their sea view rooms are good. don't take them to the other side if you have a lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristosAnesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for spending some time at our Royal Apollonia Beach in Limassol.

We are very disappointed by your review especially concerning our food and beverage offering, which we pride ourselves on. Our hotel averages food scores of over 90% especially in our main restaurant where lunch and dinner, as well as breakfast, are served. We feel that your judgement of the latter is very harsh because we have a variety of at least 100 different items on display, including healthy and local ones. In addition, we custom make omelettes and waffles which has proved extremely popular with our guests. As for our Japanese restaurant Akakiko, a renowned franchised restaurant across the whole island, we apologize for not being able to serve you around the pool; we hope for your understanding that we try to avoid doing this to prevent insects from infesting our pool surroundings. As for your comments about our bar food, please rest assured that we will look into them for our immediate improvement. Finally regarding our spa, it is unfortunate that you visited the hotel before it was finished entirely and we do hope you will visit us again to experience it fully.

Thank you once again for your review and best regards from everybody at the Royal Apollonia.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for the last four days arriving back this evening 20th Oct 13. The hotel is occupied predominantly by Russians. Fine by us but if your looking to talk to other UK people then you will struggle. The hotel has recently been refurbished, indeed their official opening night is tonight. The reception area and pool area is very good. Plenty of poolside space and good access to the sandy beach.

We had a sea view on the third floor. The room was spacious and had been refurbished. The finish on the cupboards, particularly behind the headboard and around the sink is poor, (room 314) with a lack of attention to its finish. It looks like it was cut with a bread knife! TV is good. no iron in the room although I guess you can always ring down for one.

No wifi in the bedrooms unless you pay the fee which I think was 15€ a day!! Rubbish. There is free wifi in the lobby although it is not the quickest. There is a safe in the room and you have to pay 3.50€ a day. A big negative in this day and age. Not sure how they justify this.

Fantastic view of the pool and coastline from a very good balcony.

We decided on a bed and breakfast rate. We did have the buffet lunch on the first day which was really nice but it did cost 66€ (with a glass of wine).

The breakfast is fine with a good choice, but it is evident that there are not enough staff to serve. Staff keep there heads down when your trying to attract their attention to get a coffee or tea. That was a shame.

The staff in the pool bar were excellent. I felt for them because they were under staffed and were run ragged. I think there is an all inclusive package with local drinks and at times they just could not cope with the demand. That said they tried their best and should be recognised for their great service.
Did use the gym which had excellent facilities. The Spa is also clearly well used.

Overall a lovely hotel dominated by Russian holiday makers. The hotel is clean and updated although it needs to bring itself up to speed with its wifi and ensure they have enough staff. There is good competition close by and they need to up their game a little.
Kevin and Helen

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for a recent visit to the Royal Apollonia and for giving us your feedback online.

We are glad that your overall stay with us was pleasant and that the majority of our renovation work pleased you. We are especially happy that our gym facilities and spa were to your utmost satisfaction, because a lot of effort has gone into their construction. We apologize that the general service you received was not deemed adequate and promise to look into your remarks for future improvements.

Thank you once more for some honest feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our Royal Apollonia.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We've been there with 1.5 years child. If you go there with the so small child, don't expect something especially for your kid - the food is spicy, so you'll have to ask head-cook each time to cook something. And, of course, there are no entertainments for 1.5 years child. There are also something else we noticed what could be improved (and not related to kids) - crockery sometimes is dirty, we even saw cockroach in the canteen, waiters sometime forget to bring you coffee or tea (and you have to remind them several (!) times).
But overall impression is good. Yes, hotel territory is not so big, there are a lot of Russians. But hotel is re-built, rooms are clean, staff is polite (except of a few barmens).

Room Tip: It is OK to stay even in the island view rooms - they are quite far from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank and7ey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for using this website to convey your opinion of the Royal Apollonia.

We are glad that our renovation pleased you and that overall you left with a positive experience from our hotel; we are especially happy that the vast majority of our staff were always friendly, and that our
rooms were noted for their cleanliness. We take your comments about the quality of our service into consideration for our improvement, as well as you suggestions about integrating infants into our Product offer.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon to Royal Apollonia.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had to choose this hotel because of the convenient location and were encouraged by the recent renovation of the place.

They did a good job but, if you expect a 5 star hotel, change place.
It's more an all inclusive way of working where quality is not so high and clients should not expect what they pay for.

Anything you want you should pay for it. Even the safe in the room is 3.50 euro per day, NEVER SEEN THIS PRACTICE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD!!!!
Let's not say about the internet connection, it's free in the lobby area and in the room you should pay the connection up to 15 euro per day!!! Incredible!!!

I would not come back and would not recommend this place. Moreover when you call the reception or see any staff in the hotel you don't know if you can speak Greek, even if you are in a Greek speaking country. I can understand that the hotel works mainly with Russian tourism and it seems like other nationalities are not so important….

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MuffMuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Royal Apollonia and for sharing your thoughts with the online community.

We are saddened at not having met your expectations, despite our recent renovation, and are surprised that you do not consider our property to be 5-star. With 4 restaurants, an ultra modern spa, 2 bars, large rooms and several suites, we would like to think that our hotel does classify as such. We do indeed charge for in-room safes and wifi, but believe this is common practice in several hotels worldwide. As for our staff team, it is multinational and multilingual, with Greek being spoken by a very large proportion of them even if some were not actually born in Cyprus.

We apologize once again for disappointing you and hope you will give our Royal Apollonia a second chance in the future.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the royal apollonia for 5 nights self catering at the end of september 2013. When we first arrived we had to wait a short while as we were a little early our bags were taken for us and they gave us a comlimentary drink while we sat outside by the pool and took in all the views of the outside pool/beach area. The way the pool is designed and the clever use of glass barriers at the right angle it looks as though the pool carries on into the sea.

You can tell alot of time money and thought has been put into the refurbishment of this hotel. all reviews previous to the renovation should be discarded.

We got up to our room (316) at around 2pm and as soon as we opened the door we were hit with the breathtaking view from the balcony over the pool area and looking out over the beach and sea. The room itself was clean well laid out and had everything we needed although we never really used it the mini bar was well stocked. The Bathroom was simple modern and a pleasure to use. good shower plenty of towels and even has a phone next to the toilet? for emergencies i guess.. haha

You are given seperate blue towels for around the pool area which you can exchange for clean ones every day. We spent a good few days lounging around the pool on the sun beds and sampling different cocktails and treats from the bar. We made friends with Maria a candian lady who worked at the pool bar most days and Joel a swedish lad who was constantly running around making sure all the guests had everything they might have wanted. service was excellent and the staff seemed so greatful for just a simple thankyou which was nice. We also met Jim the sales manager who was very friendly and took the time to chat with us and tell us a little about the history of the hotel and how the refurbishment has made it one of if not THE best in limassol.

We also seen a couple of weddings whilst on our stay which is understanable as the setting is gorgeous the bride and groom would stand looking out over the sea.

As we bed and breakfast only we only really ate in to hotel on a morning, although we did have sushi a couple of times which was excellent and would recommend anyone to try.

As for eating out there is a british bar called the woodman on the strip it has everyfootball game you can imagine on a wide variety of screens and does some cracking food. i had a giant pork chop one night and jeanine enjoyed some ribs. we also had a sunday roast.

For Cypriot cuisine there is a resteraunt on the strip opposite the four seasons hotel i think it is called valencia. Tony the owner if very friendly and takes alot of pride in his food and his establishment. If you want to really sample some cypriot food get a mixed meze it is without doubt THE BIGGEST and best meze we've had in cyprus and we have tried a few. also his pizzas are highly recommended.

Nightlife we found a good local bar not too far away from the hotel drinks were cheap friendly bar staff and lots of the locals enjoing themselves dancing and watching the football

For more variety visit the king georges castle area of the strip which has recently been regenerated over the past few years and is a great place to eat/drink and spend your evenings bustling with both locals and tourists theres something there for everyone.

We were sad to leave not just the hotel but limassol aswell could definatly adopt the Cypriot lifestlye and move over here for good.We would definately recommend the hotel to anyone and will be returning with our little boy next year. I never mentioned it but there is a great kids pool play area there too.

Thanks for a great holiday and look forward to coming back soon :-)

Danny + Jeanine x

Room Tip: cant really comment on any other rooms but 316 is a good room to have very quiet n great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyStoddart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your holiday at the Royal
Apollonia Beach.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your room and the fantastic view, as well as our in-room amenitiesand the attentive service of our staff. All in all we hope that you had a fantastic holiday.

We are looking forward to welcome you back with us here at Royal Apollonia.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
4.2 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#13 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Apollonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Apollonia

Property: The Royal Apollonia
Address: Georgios A Street | Potamos Germasogeias, Limassol 4048, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#8 Business Hotel in Limassol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#9 Family Hotel in Limassol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Apollonia 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Apollonia is an elegant five-star hotel were luxury and comfort make a perfect match, it features 204 completely refurbished bedrooms including 13 suites of varying sizes, a free form 523m² outside swimming pool and 3 restaurants, all with differing cuisines for your culinary enjoyment. The Royal Spa offers you a sensational treatment menus that includes 7 treatment rooms, LifeFitness equipped gym & indoor pool, sauna and Climatological Dead Sea Room. Is located directly on the beach and directly at the heart of tourist area of Limassol, just 5 Km drive from the archaeological site of Ancient Amathus, 10 minutes drive from the city center and within walking distance from the tourist area of Limassol where bars, restaurants and discos are found in abundance. The distance from Larnaca Airport is 77 Km and Paphos 67 Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Apollonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Apollonia Beach Limassol
Hotel Louis Apollonia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing