We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Apollonia
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$448
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GrandResort(Limassol)
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Bay Hotel(Limassol)(Great Value!)
US$109
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapetanios Hotel Limassol(Limassol)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapetanios Odyssia(Limassol)(Great Value!)
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Estella Hotel Apartments(Limassol)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Alasia Hotel(Limassol)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,111)
Filter reviews
1,111 results
Traveller rating
710
275
76
37
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
275
76
37
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjapanese restaurantsea viewpool areamain restaurantoperations managerlovely hotelstar hotelpool staffwinter sunprivate beachsauna and steam roomall inclusive packagespecial mentionup to datelate checkswim up barrestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
796 - 801 of 1,111 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This hotel is very elegant, you can sleep well, you can have fun as you like, the staff is friendly , the pool is wonderful and the new spa is very nice. Prices are high but balanced with what seems to me a reasonable offer. The food is good, I tried the Japanese restaurant where we had "suhi boat" and drink hot sake, I mean it was a great evening where I felt really good. Apollonia thank you very much and I hope next year to get back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting our Royal Apollonia.

It is an honour to receive your review, which compliments our hotel and especially our food and beverage offer. Most of all, we are happy that you felt our rates are balanced compared to what we offer.

Hopefully this was not your last visit to the Royal Apollonia.

Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned from this hotel after staying 11 nights, was ready to come home after 2 .
although this hotel has recently been renovated, whoever did the design must have thought they were refurbishing a hospital, everything painted white completely devoid of any colour, warmth or ambience. the rooms although large with plenty of hanging space are bare and cold looking with 2 horrible plastic chairs, there are no handles on the bathroom doors just two small round inset rings that break your nails or cut your fingers, shower in bathroom is not the best we have had and had to stand right up close to the plughole to catch the water. Overall impression of the room when we walked in was like a £29 per night Premier Inn. No Wi Fi in rooms unless you pay and the security safes are an exorbitant charge where other 5* hotels are free.

The Hotel is mainly occupied by Russians and if you are looking for conversation you can forget it as most will not even give you the time of day. I think there were only 5 or 6 couples who were British.

As for the food well I don't really know what to say except it was well below five star standard
all food was luke warm at best and the plates always cold. One morning even the miniature sausages were not cooked and un-edible, when the bread ran out they brought out Frozen to toast, the restaurant itself has no atmosphere being decorated in mainly white and was more like a cafeteria, also with everyone picking up the food tongs there was no evidence of anti bacteria hand gel anywhere and the food is not probed for temperature at regular intervals.I complained to the Rep and they offered us extra night in the Italian but this was limited set menu and just a taster if you wanted the real thing you had to pay, and it wasn't cheap needless to say we didn't bother. The last week we spent going out for meals which I bitterly begrudged as this hotel is not cheap by any means and we had obviously paid for the food in the price of the holiday.

Being late in the season and although the weather was glorious, the pool which looks lovely was like getting into an ice bucket and the indoor pool was not heated so swimming unless in the sea was a no go. There is no games room or library, no entertainment is provided during the day and the limited Evening entertainment was a joke.

Summing up I made a formal complaint with the resort rep and will be writing to our holiday company as we cannot understand where this hotel got it's 5* rating we have stayed in better 3*.

Needless to say we will never return.

Room Tip: Don't Stay Here
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank babesurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for holidaying at Royal Apollonia and of course for leaving your feedback online.

We are not in agreement with you that our property is only worthy of 3 stars following a multi-million Euro renovation, nevertheless we respect your opinion. It seems that our decoration and clientele were the deciding factors in your dissatisfaction and we find that unfortunate to say the least; in addition, we wish you had informed us on the spot about some maintenance issues you had in the room so we could have found a solution for you. Also surprising are your comments about the food which we will look into in detail; especially the issue with its temperature is one we take very seriously and we promise to have a look immediately.

We are saddened that you will not be returning to our Royal Apollonia, but wish you all the best nevertheless.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years except last year when it was being renovated.
The hotel is a great improvement over what it was it is now very light and airy rooms are bright staying in 223. Pool area has been totally rebuilt yes the pool is not heated but it never was and the sea is usually very calm and at this time of year warmer there are children using the pool.
One thing that has changed for the good is that under the old regime service was good but you always felt it was being done with a view to a good tip the staff certainly in the dinning room give good service and you feel they are doing it because they want to certainly the two Head Waiters we have had this week a blonde lady and a husky gentleman no name badges. Yes I agree charging for using the safe is a bit off and this is the only hotel I have found this practice. As for Wi Fi this is no different to many hotels haven't found lobby speeds slow to the contrary. Drinks are not cheap and they never are in Hotels this one is no different go to the supermarket down the road Pepsi Max 25p a can or go over the road to the Shakespeare and watch the footy with a beer. How anyone can clock up a bill over £700 is beyond me and not realise unless they were hoping management would cancel it. They used to have a happy hour but this seems to have been knocked on the head. Why they put light carpets in the halls is a major mistake as the one outside our room is seriously stained. Yes food is repeated on a weekly basis but so it is in most Hotels and as for the Salmon on Saturdays they could repeat every day as far as I am concerned.
Breakfast is good though I miss the figs, prunes and dates. My son is using the Gym and he says it too is a great improvement. All in all a smarter and better hotel. Yes there are a lot of Russians so there are anywhere in Cyprus Brits are still holding the flag up though

Room Tip: Sea View a must
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurieLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the Royal Apollonia and for putting in a nice word for us on Tripadvisor.

We have worked extremely hard during the renovation as well as during staff training sessions to ensure our guests receive the best value for money possible when staying here. It is thus an immense pleasure to read your satisfaction with our facilities and services and we assure you that such reviews give everybody some much needed confidence.

It would be an honour to welcome you back to the Royal Apollonia.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Hotel is great after makeover despite it has lost a lot of charm. Nevertheless, the bar food is a disgrace (dry burger, uneatable chicken, cesar salad everything else but what is is called). We have ordered as well some food from their sushi joint as we have been at the kids pool. We waited for ages, and when we asked where our food is we got told (unfriendly) that they do not bring the food 20 yards to the terrace. And we are not allowed to eat it there neither. Only a discussions with the manager (who seemed to hide) got us an apology.

Their breakfast buffet can not compete with other hotels, even 4 stars. On top of all, despite when booked we have been told that their dead sea spa is fully operational we had to realised that it is not even installed. Seems that they just tricked us to get our custom.

The biggest disappointment is the freezing kids pool. Our kids (1.5, 3, 8) hat sincere problems going into this ice-cold water. Come one, for 5 stars and this price quite an unpleasant experience.

So after all use their rooms but consider twice to eat there as Limassol offers many more much better value-for-money places.

Room Tip: basically all their sea view rooms are good. don't take them to the other side if you have a light sleep as there is the busy street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristosAnesti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for spending some time at our Royal Apollonia Beach in Limassol.

We are very disappointed by your review especially concerning our food and beverage offering, which we pride ourselves on. Our hotel averages food scores of over 90% especially in our main restaurant where lunch and dinner, as well as breakfast, are served. We feel that your judgement of the latter is very harsh because we have a variety of at least 100 different items on display, including healthy and local ones. In addition, we custom make omelettes and waffles which has proved extremely popular with our guests. As for our Japanese restaurant Akakiko, a renowned franchised restaurant across the whole island, we apologize for not being able to serve you around the pool; we hope for your understanding that we try to avoid doing this to prevent insects from infesting our pool surroundings. As for your comments about our bar food, please rest assured that we will look into them for our immediate improvement. Finally regarding our spa, it is unfortunate that you visited the hotel before it was finished entirely and we do hope you will visit us again to experience it fully.

Thank you once again for your review and best regards from everybody at the Royal Apollonia.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for the last four days arriving back this evening 20th Oct 13. The hotel is occupied predominantly by Russians. Fine by us but if your looking to talk to other UK people then you will struggle. The hotel has recently been refurbished, indeed their official opening night is tonight. The reception area and pool area is very good. Plenty of poolside space and good access to the sandy beach.

We had a sea view on the third floor. The room was spacious and had been refurbished. The finish on the cupboards, particularly behind the headboard and around the sink is poor, (room 314) with a lack of attention to its finish. It looks like it was cut with a bread knife! TV is good. no iron in the room although I guess you can always ring down for one.

No wifi in the bedrooms unless you pay the fee which I think was 15€ a day!! Rubbish. There is free wifi in the lobby although it is not the quickest. There is a safe in the room and you have to pay 3.50€ a day. A big negative in this day and age. Not sure how they justify this.

Fantastic view of the pool and coastline from a very good balcony.

We decided on a bed and breakfast rate. We did have the buffet lunch on the first day which was really nice but it did cost 66€ (with a glass of wine).

The breakfast is fine with a good choice, but it is evident that there are not enough staff to serve. Staff keep there heads down when your trying to attract their attention to get a coffee or tea. That was a shame.

The staff in the pool bar were excellent. I felt for them because they were under staffed and were run ragged. I think there is an all inclusive package with local drinks and at times they just could not cope with the demand. That said they tried their best and should be recognised for their great service.
Did use the gym which had excellent facilities. The Spa is also clearly well used.

Overall a lovely hotel dominated by Russian holiday makers. The hotel is clean and updated although it needs to bring itself up to speed with its wifi and ensure they have enough staff. There is good competition close by and they need to up their game a little.
Kevin and Helen

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for a recent visit to the Royal Apollonia and for giving us your feedback online.

We are glad that your overall stay with us was pleasant and that the majority of our renovation work pleased you. We are especially happy that our gym facilities and spa were to your utmost satisfaction, because a lot of effort has gone into their construction. We apologize that the general service you received was not deemed adequate and promise to look into your remarks for future improvements.

Thank you once more for some honest feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again to our Royal Apollonia.

Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews