We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Apollonia
Ranked #8 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay to the maximum. Very nice staff and friendly. The buffet in the morning is extremely rich and various. Even the taxi driver of the hotel is so kind and ready to help and assist. We highly recommended when coming to Limassol.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for holidaying at the Royal Apollonia and for writing a few lines about your experience.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a splendid holiday at our beautiful property. It is wonderful to see that you favored our dedicated and charming service team as well as our high quality and variety of cuisine.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back very soon at the Royal Apollonia.

Warm regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    533
    233
    58
    31
    11
See reviews for
225
390
35
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My best friend & I stayed here for 1 week on a Thomson all inclusive package. The buffet restaurant was brilliant with different themed food daily. The hotel staff varied in their customer service 50% of them were excellent & 50% made us feel invisible!!! We spoke to our rep who informed the management & the manager came & spoke to us to apologise & offered us another meal in one of the a la carte restaurants, we chose the Italian the waitress here really did provide 5 star standard!!! The food was lovely too.
Downside of hotel was the terrible way people reserved sunbeds so early every morning & hardly even used them all day!!! Management really need to put a stop on this behaviour, totally unacceptable if wanting the hotel to be a 5 star!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenee763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guest,

Let us express our gratitude for choosing to spend your holiday at the Royal Apollonia and for taking time to write this valuable review.

We are glad to read that you have appreciated our theme nights with different fresh and tasty dishes each day. Furthermore we are delighted that you greatly enjoyed our Italian restaurant, Cos’ Altro, along with its impeccable service and lovely cuisine. We are sorry for the inconsistency you have experienced with some members of our team; usually we receive many compliments for our staff and we hope for your understanding that this was the exception rather than the norm. Of course, this is not an excuse so please rest assured that we will take a closer look at the matter. Regarding your comment about the sun beds, we would like to inform you that we do not encourage this kind of behaviour in any way and there are enough sun beds for everyone on the hotel grounds. However, we value your suggestion and we duly note it for future improvements. We sincerely hope that this did not cause you too much disappointment and this experience will not refrain you from visiting another Louis Hotel in the future.

Regards from the Royal Apollonia,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We are just sat on our balcony on our last day and can say all aspects of the hotel are great including all the friendly staff, excellent service from the pool staff especially Rada and Alexis who we're fab with a good morning every day and completely looked after us, the restaurant staff were great as well, we went to the cocktail party on the Wednesday night and spoke to Jim part of the management who was very nice, the hotel was renovated last year and is very modern and clean, the cleaners came every day and always cleaned the room well and smelt lovely every time we came back to our room with lovely things made from towels on our bed, there is a great kids pool area if you have children with a kids club day and night. Will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for holidaying at the Royal Apollonia and for sharing your feedback online.

Your kind words mean a lot to us and we are delighted to hear that you deeply enjoyed our splendidly refurbished hotel as well as our high quality service provided by our efficient and helpful staff. We are thrilled to know that you had a brilliant holiday; your satisfaction is our best reward.

We dearly thank you for recommending us and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Apollonia in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel in private taxi which was amazing by thomson - takes about 40 mins from airport which not too bad

hotel first impressions was very very nice indeed, massive reception, reception staff kind/friendly
we had booked a sea view room by emailing the hotel as this was the cheaper option. i would recommend spending that extra money for this as the view is amazing.

The rooms are nice and the beds are comfy and superkingsize, the Only downfall was the Hair dryer being in the draw and you had to keep the draw open to dry ure hair as it attached inside, this was hard as i have long hair and its very awkward, i'd reccommend taking a hairdryer

The room also has english socket plugs so no need to take the travel sockets, plenty of plugs also

lots of storage, dont know what people on about with these reviews.

Pool:
The pool is amazing, we went late june beginnning of july and the pool is warm when you get in. sunbeds are comfy with padding and you get your own beach towels which you can swap everyday down the spa when they get too wet.

the Pool staff are very helpful and friendly, we stayed all inclusive which is recommended. unlike any other resort ive stayed in the staff come and ask you if you want drinks, with this hotel the staff walk around and wait to be excused so you ask them what you want, this is not bad as at least you dont get bugged

The downside to this hotel:
i ave not gave this a 5 star purly because.............

expect no conversation with other hotel guests as they are all Russian, The whole time we were there they dont speak, there rude in the pool as they are in there own little bubbles and dont see you. Found out that thomson only let out 8 rooms front this hotel each week for the english people.........

Dont expect too much with the entertainment, they have got this all wrong, we had the same act three nights in a row singing the same songs. i am 29 and would have liked this to have been better

The need some tribute bands here and layout the entertainment area better.

The staff at night comming around need to be a lot quicker and on the ball, the pool staff in the day is absolutly fine, but getting drinks in the evening when the entertainment is dyer and there is hardly anyone about is bad service. the girls got it right, its the guys

If you want to come away just to relax by the pool, get a good tan, do a little bit of shopping and have early nights this is the hotel for you

The food could be better. i stayed in hotel beljekiz beach in turkey and they need to take a lot of hints from this hotel with the food, as they cook your food fresh for you and its pipping hot on plate. it was nice, but for 5* al la carte i was expecting this to be out of this world,
all i can say was it was alright.............

Room Tip: sea view room, the rooms with the jacuzzis are not worth the money as no sun is on them from 11am on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nessy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Apollonia and for taking the time to share your experience online.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our comfortable rooms, our amazing facilities as well as our stunning location.
In regards to your remark about guest nationalities, please be informed that our hotel does not set a limit on this. We are open to all and we actually have the luck to attract guests from all over the world. We thank you for bringing your observation in regards to the entertainment to our attention. We value your feedback and we will take it into account in our continuous work for improvement. However, we do not wish to promote our hotel as a destination for animation and shows; our guests come here for relaxation and peace. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the slow service at the bar. It was a very busy period, but we have taken appropriate measures to ensure such a situation won't happen again.
We do hope that you will give the Louis Hotels chain another chance to provide you with the esteemed experience we are known for. Louis Hotels have many other hotels in Cyprus and Greece so perhaps you would find another Louis Hotel more pleasing. For example, the Louis Phaethon Beach (Cyprus) or the Louis Plagos Beach (Zakynthos) would probably meet your expectations better.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again soon in one of our Louis Hotels.

Kindest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we had book a roon with town view but when we checked in the gave us a superior sea view room on the 6th floor with amazing view. The room was really nice, clean and the room service was also very polite and their service was excellent.
You can find a great variety of things to eat for breakfast and also the sushi restaurant was very good and with extremeley good prices fot the hotel guests.

I would definately visit this hotel again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris2178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Royal Apollonia and for writing a review about your experience.

It is delightful to know that you had a brilliant time at our hotel. We are glad to read that you deeply enjoyed our fresh and delicious cuisine, as well as our dedicated and attentive service team. It is also wonderful to hear that our well-designed room was to your utmost liking.

We greatly look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Apollonia on your next holiday.

Kindest regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We had a "superior" sea-view room, with a wonderful view over the hotel pool and beach. The room was rather small, especially by 5* standards; there was nowhere to put suitcases, for example. It was quite tastefully furnished/decorated, with fittings in light ash-type wood, and plenty of storage for clothes. The room was rather stark, though, and would have benefited from a picture or two on the bare white walls. Two comfortable twin beds, and good towels, dressing gowns and even slippers were provided, but the seating was very poor, with two hard plastic shell chairs, not what you'd expect in a 5* hotel. I guess they prefer you to spend your time in the bar, rather than in your room, in the evenings. Two further director-type deck chairs were provided on the balcony. Lighting in the room was very good, with no fewer than 15 different light switches! Turning the lights on and off was a bit like playing a piano concerto! The bathroom was small and rather pokey, though, and the shower/bath was decidedly dark, definitely not 5* standard. Like many hotels in warm countries, the floor was tiled.

There were several areas in which the hotel fell short of what one would expect in a 5* establishment. Wifi in the room cost an astonishing €5 an hour. That's the sort of thing that was the norm in 5* hotels 10 years ago, but today it's regarded as an essential utility like electricity (and drinking water - see below!). It was free in the main lobby and restaurants, but it was slower than dial-up, and if I were a businessman and had paid for such poor service in my room, I would not be happy. It took over 30 minutes to download new virus definitions on my laptop, for example.

The other area where the hotel needs to do much better is security. There was a room safe, for which the hotel charged another astonishing €5 a day. That's outrageous, especially when the cleaning staff continually left the balcony doors unlocked. Incidentally, the safe didn't appear to be fixed to anything, just sitting, loose, on a shelf, and could easily have been packed into a suitcase and removed! The management claim such a charge is usual in this class of hotel. Not in any 5* (or 1*, 2*, 3* or 4*) hotel I've ever stayed in, it isn't!

The hotel directory in the room stated that the tap water was not safe for drinking - but we were provided with only 2 litres of bottled water during the entire three weeks we were there! There was a small refrigerator stocked with expensive drinks, and a note saying that in line with "international hotel regulations", the consumption of your own brought-in drinks was prohibited. Those would be the same international regulations that required hotels to provide an adequate supply of drinking water, presumably! (And I wonder what the Cypriot Ministries of Health and of Tourism would have to say about the absence of potable water, too.)

The air-conditioning was not operational when we stayed (April). It's only switched on during May to October, apparently. That's a cheapskate policy, in my view. It was quite warm when we were there, and sometimes uncomfortable, as a result. So, a 5* hotel with no air-conditioning! A 5* hotel with unsafe tap water, where you are required to pay extra for drinking water! A 5* hotel where you are required to pay extra for security - and very slow internet.

Is the Royal Apollonia a 5* hotel, then? I think not. Too many aspects smacked more of a money-grubbing 3* hotel on the Costa Brava in the 1970s.

Having said that (which is a criticism of the hotel management's policies), the staff themselves were excellent, helping me change my car rental so I could pick up and drop off locally in Limassol, rather than Paphos, as originally booked, and they were extremely good in the restaurants. Food was fine, too, with a wide variety in the breakfast and dinner buffets, plus another Italian-style table-service restaurant, though it wasn't of Michelin-starred standard and not always piping hot, unfortunately. But that's a fact of life with buffets.

Would I stay there again? Probably. It was, on the whole, good value for what we paid. But it could have been so much better. Here's a tip for the management - give your guests free internet and especially free security in the rooms. And water they can drink! The amount of extra money you might lose will be more than compensated by the increased good will.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your valuable feedback about a recent holiday at The Royal Apollonia.

It is very pleasing for us to know that you appreciated our charming and helpful personnel and our comfortable beds as well as the wonderful view and our wide range of delicious dishes. Still, we are saddened to hear that you were not pleased with our rooms; we have gone for a minimalist style of decor and we are sorry that it was not to your satisfaction, particularly the chairs which cost upwards of 150 euros each. Also, we would like to inform you that room Wi-Fi prices are now much lower, at 5 euros per day, 12 euros for 3 days and 25 per week. As well, the free Wi-Fi is much faster in the lobby after some recent installations. In regards to your comment about the room, we will be more careful with the balcony doors and will refit our safes to the cupboards as we take your feedback seriously. About the water, many 5 star properties offer it upon arrival, but anything thereafter is chargeable; this is irrespective of whether the tap water is potable or not. As for the air conditioning, it is available from May onwards because our system is centrally operated, meaning that the rooms can't switch between heat and cold very easily; in April most nights are cool rather than warm so we decided not to switch to AC.

We do hope that you will give the Louis Hotels chain another chance to provide you with the esteemed experience we are known for.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Staff give an excellent service, always with a smile, right from when you book in at reception and throughout the whole hotel, so immediately you feel welcome. The refurbishment is a total success and the hotel is modern but comfortable with beds the most comfortable ever. Meals in the dining room are on a daily theme basis and buffet style. The choice seems unending and beautifully presented. There are two further restaurants one Japanese and one Italian, dined in and enjoyed both but much to our surprise the Japanese Restaurant won by a short whisker. The Royal Apollonia is perfectly positioned right on the beach with superb sea views, it's own beach, and independantly run water sports. It is roughly halfway between Larnaca and Paphos so for touring the Island it is ideal. We have no hesitation in reccomending it and will return again in October. From restaurants to spa to pools (outside and inside) and not forgetting the excellent staff all in all an excellent hotel and holiday.

Room Tip: Have a seaview room if possible, the view is unforgetable and worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The Royal Apollonia, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at The Royal Apollonia and for sharing your impression online.

Your beautiful words mean a lot to us and we are delighted to hear that you deeply appreciated the 'new look' of our splendid hotel as well as our high quality service provided by our dedicated and friendly staff and our wide range of delicious dishes. We are thrilled to know that you had an excellent holiday and that you will return in October.

We dearly thank you for recommending us and we greatly look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Apollonia.

Kind regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
3.9 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,455 reviews
4.2 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#12 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Apollonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Apollonia

Property: The Royal Apollonia
Address: Georgios A Street | Potamos Germasogeias, Limassol 4048, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#8 Business Hotel in Limassol
#9 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#9 Family Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Apollonia 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Apollonia is an elegant five-star hotel were luxury and comfort make a perfect match, it features 204 completely refurbished bedrooms including 13 suites of varying sizes, a free form 523m² outside swimming pool and 3 restaurants, all with differing cuisines for your culinary enjoyment. The Royal Spa offers you a sensational treatment menus that includes 7 treatment rooms, LifeFitness equipped gym & indoor pool, sauna and Climatological Dead Sea Room. Is located directly on the beach and directly at the heart of tourist area of Limassol, just 5 Km drive from the archaeological site of Ancient Amathus, 10 minutes drive from the city center and within walking distance from the tourist area of Limassol where bars, restaurants and discos are found in abundance. The distance from Larnaca Airport is 77 Km and Paphos 67 Km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Apollonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Apollonia Beach Limassol
Hotel Louis Apollonia Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing