We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand indeed, nice 5*”
Review of GrandResort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandResort
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This was affordable 5* hotel that I stayed for for one night for a conference, with the group booking rate of about Euro140/night. The hotel occupies prime beachfront land with really nice pool and outdoor area, n area with deck chairs on a grassy slope under the shade of palm trees, then more deck chairs on the beach area with "Pacific Island" type of beach umbrella.

Recommended but avoid street facing rooms since hey can be noisy at night from the old, exhaust-free, boyraceer, fast cars that infest Cyprus.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (893)
There are newer reviews for GrandResort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 893 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Me and the wife stayed here for 1 week.

LOCATION - out of town but bus stop right outside the hotel near entrance. Bus number 30 to town is reliable - every 10 to 15 minutes. Better to buy day ticket for only €2 and travel unlimited.

STAFF - most of the low level staff e.g cleaners, waiters etc are friendly and smiley. Could not say the same for Mid-management and senior. Not sure if this is anything to do with me being of darker skin and them thinking I was Turkish. I don't think this was the case though as I noticed similar attitude to western White skin guests. In fact to be fair to grand resort, I found this to be same in lot of shops and places in Limassol. I visited proratas in 1999 I am sure the Cypriot ppl were much more friendly there.

Other comments - great pool, good breakfast choice.

For a five star hotel, regardless of the location/city/town being not the most friendliest, I would expect the staff to go out of their way to be helpful and engage in conversation with guests. I didn't see any of that here. It would have been interesting to visit four seasons and amathus to see if it was similar there as well - I have funny feeling it probably would have been.

We visited Nicosia for a day and found the people there bit more friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerRamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Excellent hotel, staff and facilities it is indeed a 5* experience. Totally recommend a stay here

Room Tip: All rooms are large and airy all with independent air con balcony and bathrooms
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyCamper181057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Went to the grand resort with three girlfriends and had booked the hen party weekend for one night - includes champagne on arrival, spa treatments, meals etc.

Rooms were not huge- but comfortable and great side sea view- was overlooking the gardens.

Upon arrival to our rooms , we had champagne and canapés, and thanks to the manager's flexibility, we moved our included dinner to a Sunday lunch- this allowed us to go out for a nice dinner in limassol (I recommend a place called Ta piatakia for dinner).

The breakfast the following day was a.m.a.z.i.n.g.! Everything was there- just name it. champagne, smoked salmon, fresh waffles, fresh pancakes- even if you tried you could not possibly remember everything. in fact it was so fantastic and we were so full up afterwards, that we actually gave our included lunch a miss!

We then went to have out spa treatments.
a few words about the the spa:
- Beautiful and relaxing
- the package included a massage and a facial for each person.
- Massage was a bit disappointing. Was more like soft stroking rather than a proper deep massage
- facial was also a bit disappointing. Forget about steam etc, this was literally a bit of cleanser and tonic on the face, followed by a five minute masque. The sort of thing you do at home rather than a professional facial.
- we also found out on the day that the future bride did not want a facial. We therefore explained this to the spa manager and asked if they could replace the facial with something else- we also clarified that this for the actual Bride! They said that they only thing they could do was [prolong her massage by 10 minutes. I even offered to pay the difference for something else, but they said they would not have time. I found this rather disappointing. However the fact that there were no further appointments in our room for the day, we were allowed to stay in the spa and had exclusive unlimited use to the spa’s sauna, jacuzzy and hamam!! Bliss! (should add that there is another sauna and jacuzzy in the gym area!

A few words about the pool and beach
- you do not go to limassol for the beach. Go to limassol for the quality of hotels you can find, and the nightlife in limassol (for as long as you don’t go to the tourist traps and go to the places where the locals hang out. Also, if you are hitting town- dress to impress, Cypriots do not do casual very well!. The beaches here are not nice at all- grey sand etc- so don’t have great expectations
- the outdoors pool is very small. Great hotel and nice areas to hang out to, but the pool is small
- the indoor pool is NOT heated


General for tourists:
Target audience.

In very general lines, you have two types of resorts/ areas to go to as a tourist.

Limassol is not great with beaches, but they have stunning hotels/ proper luxury. Majority of clientele is Russians.

Paphos has some of the best hotels you will see in the med. but they will cost you dearly. these are the hotels that have previously hosted european royalty weddings, and king-of-pop celebrities' birthdays.
Again. If you go the properly expensive ones, majority will be Russians. If you go to the cheaper ones, majority will be rest-of-europe. Paphos is stunning- but be careful of the sea. Water is cold here, and can be dangerous. Paphos is where most tourists drown b/c of the currents.

Protaras has very nice beaches. Warm sea (although this is all relative) and blue waters. Hotels will not be as luxurious- generally speaking, and majority of clientele is brits or continental Europe. Not so expensive- although Cyprus is overall far more expensive than other EU destinations. But you also get good quality.

hope you ahve a good time!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoungFemale28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This place is amazing. The staff is helpful and efficiient, and I especially loved our room with the breathtaking view on the water. It was really romantic after dark, as was their "ethnic" bar. The restaurants were also a treat, the one that serves sushi is a must! This is where I will stay if I go back to Cyprus - no doubt.

Room Tip: It comes as no surprise, but the best rooms are the ones facing the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tamas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Convenient location and excellent service as well as perfect facilities, make this hotel idea for business meetings. Very helpful staff and great food too. I will definitely be back for holidays and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I visited this hotel for busines-related purposes, and I was left very sattisfied with the service and all the amendities provided.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myriak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
4.0 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#7 of 56 in Limassol
953 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 56 in Limassol
1,995 reviews
3.9 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 56 in Limassol
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandResort

Address: 127, Amathus Avenue | Amathus Area, Limassol 3724, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Limassol
#7 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#7 Family Hotel in Limassol
#10 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#13 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: £112 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GrandResort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the finest five star hotels in Cyprus, the newly renovated GrandResort is set in beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, on a superb beachside location, 11km from Limassol town centre. Standing in extensive grounds, the resort offers an impressive range of facilities and an unrivaled standard of personal service and sheer comfort. The magnificent grounds include a tranquil free-form outdoor swimming pool on the edge of a sandy beach near the ancient kingdom of Amathus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GrandResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Limassol
Grandresort Hotel Limassol
Grandresort Resort Limassol
Hawaii Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing