We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing holiday in a great hotel!!”
Review of GrandResort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
GrandResort
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. We would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday with easy access to the beach and a clean, well kept pool area with plenty of evening events. Good choice of places to eat in the hotel and easy access to Limassol.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our fourth visit in as many years! We've found an absolute gem in the Grand Resort. This is our favourite hotel from all our travels not only because of the hotel itself and facilites but mainly because of the hard working team of staff. Nothing is too much trouble. Everyone is very friendly with a genuine, warm welcome and we feel like part of an extended family. We are always sad to leave but look forward to planning our next visit. We were very excited to be one of the first guests to sample the wonderful new fish restaurant. What a treat! The setting is fabulous, stunning in fact. The menu is first class with a whole range of mouth watering options. The service is excellent with extremely attentive staff and the food itself was divine...all in all an outstanding experience. We wholeheartedly, highly recommend it.
The Husband family are counting the days until we return!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is generaly very good. Excellent beach, small park, enough sun beds and friendly personell.

There were, however, some slightly annoying things.

The key to the room (magentic card) stopped working twice, and I had to go all the way back to the reception to have it fixed. I asked for a late check-out (which the hotel provided, and which was very good), but they failed to re-programme the key to the room, so had to have it fixed a third time.

The safe in the room wasn't working, and three requests were not enough to have it fixed during a week!

The airconditioner doesn't have a remote control, so you have to get up every time you want to switch it on or off. Besides, the air flow was blowing exactly at the bed, so it was impossible to sleep with the air con on. Good thing it was September, so during the night with the balcony door open it was bearable, but I can imagine how bad it can be in July-August.

The pillows were too big and hard, so had to ask the room maid for smaller ones which she said "she would try to find". She did, after all, but it sounded like it was a piece of luck.

The flush in the toilet didn't work perfectly - you had to push the button several time to get it working.

On some nights there was musi on by the swimming pool till after midnight, and as these were weddings, the management didn't do anything to stop it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Natalya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our honeymoon here. Fantastic hotel with great staff and excellent rooms. We stayed bed and breakfast so had the pleasure of eating from the great choice of continental and English foods. The bars and restaurants in the hotel offer a great variety of cuisines but unfortunately for us it was a little pricey. This is to be expected in a 5* hotel I suppose. It is located in a quiet area which is ideal for relaxing but not so great if you don't appreciate lying on the beach all day. There is a great value and regular bus route that takes you into the city, this stops right outside the hotel. I would always advise hiring a car though if like me you prefer to travel. A mention must be made to Costandinos Droussiotus who kindly offered for us to come sit with him on our last evening and bought us drinks, our wait for the 11pm airport transfer was made much more bearable.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here for 11 days in the Summer. The staff are lovely and the hotel is very comfortable. My husband had an accident whilst we were there and needed minor hospital treatment - I contacted reception and the manager and another member of staff came to visit us and dealt with everything perfectly. Food and drink are expensive but in keeping with the 5* experience. There are plenty of alternate restaurants and bars in easy reach of the hotel so you can choose what works for you. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice. I wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoshiMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We booked this 5 star hotel for our honeymoon on the advice of our local travel agent thomas cook
We were excited to get be able to get a 5 star hotel
We arrived about 10 in the evening by taxi transfer.First impressions were good.Looked very classy with nice lobby and nice furniture everywhere.
We were greeted by a very nice man Pavvel on the door.After checking in he took our suitcases up to the 5th floor
This is where things got a little dissapointing for me
We couldnt get the keycards to work properly.When we eventually got in we were shown a very basic almost 70-80s style room
The furniture and fittings were dated almost grubby in places.After seeing the beautiful entry and lobby etc this was a bit annoying
They did know it was our honeymoon tho and put petals on our bed and left a bottle of champagne for us.That was a nice and welcomed surprise
The bed tho was so uncomfortable that i couldnt sleep
the following day we were able to explore all the facilities and restaurants etc
These were all impressive and probably warranted the 5 star status
The restaurants were a tad expensive but we expected that and the food was pretty decent
Nice pools and jacuzzi which were quite busy unless almost closing time
Staff were friendly and helpful
I was given a free wifi code to use but once i got to my 5th floor room it was useless.
I made a complaint and they sent an engineer to my room within half an hour to try resolve the problem
The engineer tried to blame my phone because i did have the connection of wifi but there was no internet available thro there wifi
To eliminate my phone we tried the wifes phone and she had the same bother
We went down to the lobby and managed to connect both phones to the internet no problem using the same set ups as up in our room
They said they would reboot there router to solve the problem
This went on all week.Looking back the amount of people sitting in the lobby to use the internet led me to think 2 things
1 they could only get a signal in lobby
2 it was a better place to sit than there old fashioned room
FRI and SAT night were basically a night club in our room
The bars across the road were very very noisy until about 2 am.
i know this is not the hotels fault but surely they could make the balcony doors more soundproof.
Surely you cant claim to be 5 star with a very noisy room that is dated and grubby(cuboards and drawers dirty,fridge dirty inside and chipped toilet seat) and doesnt even have an iron in the room
We decided to just enjoy our honeymoon and get on with it
i prob would recommend this hotel but also warn people what to expect and not pay 5 star prices
Pity because we will hopefully only have one honeymoon hotel in our lives
The room was okay but defo not 5 star

Room Tip: def not facing road ,get a pool view maybe no more than 2 floors up so you can access the internet o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotlandBobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My heart sank when we pulled up in the taxi. The Hotel is situated on a busy road. We were made to pay for our rooms on arrival. We arrived at around 10pm. Our connecting rooms (we are 2 adults 2kids) were boiling as the AC had not been turned on. This hotel is tired & dated. The Japanese restaurant however was delightful and we enjoyed the display from the chef as he cooks your food at your table. Very VERY expensive though! We had sushi & noodles and a bottle of wine for €250. The kids club was very disappointing. I took my kids in and a child opened the door to let us in. I saw a kid coming and going without any signing in or out. The staff didn't acknowledge us so I introduced the kids to them. They didn't ask for my details or anything about my children. No forms to sign or allergy into. (My daughter is allergic to nuts). The idea of having the luxury of a kids club on holiday is that you feel like your kids are safe and having a great time. This failed on both parts.
We were grateful to the manager for refunding the rest of our stay after we decided to leave after 3 nights.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellycake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CostandinosDrou, Manager at GrandResort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our services.
Allow me to inform you that it is our firm policy to receive payment for the accommodation upon arrival as do the majority of the hotels in the world. As far as our location is concerned, allow us to point out that we are on the eastern end of the Limassol coastline, enjoying a privacy that not many hotels do. We neither imply or advertise that the hotel is away from civilization, nor would such a location cater to the needs of most people visiting Limassol. The hotel is very conveniently placed below the extension of the beach road and extends all the way to the sandy beach. You mention nothing that would imply that any noise coming from the road was an issue during your stay, so we trust that this was only a first impression as you pulled up in the taxi.
We have examined your comments about your dinner in our Japanese restaurant very carefully and we would just like to set the record straight from our end so that no misunderstandings are created.
You mention that you paid 250 euros for some sushi and noodles with a bottle of wine which is not accurate. You and your lovely family (4 persons) dined in Kyoshi on two consecutive nights during your 3-night stay, paying 175 euros and 127 euros respectively. You had a 40 and a 29 euro bottle of wine, soups as a starter, a 44 euro Nigiri sushi combination (24 pieces), a seafood combination, chicken terryaki with fresh prawns combination and a Black Angus beef and fresh prawns combination was also included in your meal. We trust that our accounting records are accurate and all these items were indeed part of your meal. We feel that the quality of the fresh food served in out acclaimed Japanese restaurant justifies a price per person of 35-40 euros including drinks.
Your comments regarding our animation team have been taken under consideration by the Management of the hotel and it will help us to improve in the future so that no similar instances will occur. During your stay there were more than 100 children in the hotel so some oversights in including them in all the activities were noted, but again there is no excuse for the lack of attention that you describe.
It is our firm commitment to keep improving our level of services and we regret that you were not able to experience this during your short stay.
Best Regards,
Costandinos Droussiotis
E-Commerce Manager
GrandResort Hotel Limassol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
4.0 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
972 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 56 in Limassol
2,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GrandResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandResort

Address: 127, Amathus Avenue | Amathus Area, Limassol 3724, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Limassol
#7 Family Hotel in Limassol
#7 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#10 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#13 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: £108 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GrandResort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Among the finest five star hotels in Cyprus, the newly renovated GrandResort is set in beautifully landscaped tropical gardens, on a superb beachside location, 11km from Limassol town centre. Standing in extensive grounds, the resort offers an impressive range of facilities and an unrivaled standard of personal service and sheer comfort. The magnificent grounds include a tranquil free-form outdoor swimming pool on the edge of a sandy beach near the ancient kingdom of Amathus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your GrandResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Limassol
Grandresort Hotel Limassol
Grandresort Resort Limassol
Hawaii Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing