We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,520)
Filter reviews
2,520 results
Traveller rating
1,285
819
272
85
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,285
819
272
85
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnags headpirate shipmocha cakesandwichesmain poolentertainment teamadult barkids discothe main hotelgreat holidaywater volleyballbar managerevening entertainmentroom numbera la carteplenty of choicecrisps
Filter
Updating list...
2,215 - 2,220 of 2,520 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We booked a family suite and were concerned as to where in the building we would be. We went all inclusive (our fisrt time AI) and we were in contact with the hotel by email before we left who confirmed quite close to departure that we were in the main hotel building. We were very pleased with our suite which comprised a lounge with sofa bed for our son, tv (BBC 1, ITV, CBeebies, BBC world news, Sky news a couple of sports channels and german/greek), coffee table, cupboard and drawers with fridge and patio doors onto the balcony. The bedroom had a very large bed (could have been queen sized?, dressing table & mirror, hairdryer, built in wardrobe with hangers and safe, door to the bathroom and patio doors onto double balcony. The bathroom had bath with shower over it, loo and basin with marble tiled walls. Our balcony overlooked the adults pool, The Nag's Head pub (karaoke every night which we could hear from our room but it wasn't disturbing) and further on a sea view. Toileteries were left everyday after the house keeping had been to change towels and make beds. We had aircon in both bedroom and lounge although the temp was fixed at 24 degrees- sounds on the warm side but outdoor temp was topping 34deg some days so 24 felt very comfortable!
UK plugs all work in Cyprus so no travel adaptor needed. We did notice a distinct lack of plug sockets however and later found out this is beacuse they dont want you to use your own appliances. We had to pull the cupboard away from the wall in the lounge to find a plug socket hiding!
The facilities in the hotel were modern, clean and vast with an adult pool, main pool, childrens paddling pool with pirate ship (which my 4 yr old loved)
The food was a very nice self serve buffett with plenty of choice of 4-5 main courses at both lunch and dinner, a couple of vegetarian options, always a good selection of salad, childrens buffett with the usual chicken nuggetts, burgers, chips beans, pasta and desserts were to die for with triffels, gateaux, sponge, ice cream, fresh fruit and cheese & biscuits. Breakfast was full english, continental, porridge, bread & jams, cereals, juices etc etc. On top of all this you could get icecreams, drinks, rolls, cakes all day by the pool. We ate very well and will miss the food!
Staff at the hotel could not do enough for you, we also asked for a packed lunch one day for the beach and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel run entertainment didnt seem all that good, we made it to the kids disco one night at 8.30 (which we felt was a bit late for a 4 yr old who was pooped after a day in the sun) but didnt bother to go back. From what other guests said there was bingo (not our thing) and then entertainment/singing/dancing that wasnt particulalry good. We spent most evenings round by the cinema screen with drinks from the bar chatting and watching our son running around with his new little mates.
The Thomson/First choice Kidzone reps on the other hand were very very good. Crazy Kel, Tiny Tasha & Nik Nat were lovely girls, full of energy and really contributed to our son having a great holiday. They ran a club for little ones called Tots and our son went for 3 sessions of 2hrs a time and didnt stop talking about it! It was his first time in Kids club and he actually asked to go back again so if your kids are up for it then its well worth it.
Location, here I agree with eveyone else on trip advisor. Limassol is a big place and you are a bit 'out of it'. There are a few shops and restaurants but if you're not the type of holiday maker that just wants the pool/bar all day long (like us) then you could go mad here. We opted for a car for the whole week which we collected at the airport and got out a saw a few places. They drive on the left, same as UK and the road sign system/traffic lights etc is very similar. If you do drive from the airport to your hotel please note that the road signs say 'Lemesos' and not Limassol, dont get caught out like we did! I think the general rule of thumb as far as we could see was that hire cars (identifiable by the red number plates) must obey the same rules as we do here in UK and locals do what they damn well please. They cut corners, everyone drives and talks on their mobile phones and there are a lot of 'boy racers' with loud sound systems and modified noisy cars!

To summerise we had a fantastic holiday and will look back with fond memories for a long time to come. I can see why some people had been enraged to find themselves in the Gardens and not in the refurbished rooms that the brochure depicts though. We had paid extra for a family suite and my husband says you get what you pay for but I agree that there is a misdescription issue here in the brochure that needs urgent attention. Holidays cost the earth and no one wants to be dissapointed on arrival.

I hope our review has helped somone, I have also put a few pics on here. Have a great holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kent009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Just come back yesterday, this was an amazing hotel, clean, modern, large, plenty of facilities. Food the best ive had in a hotel, went half board, so much choice, and plenty of variety, spoilt for choice!
Hotel bar prices a bit expensive so went over the road to the nags head were it was half the cost. Limossol is fine although there is a very busy main road that runs through it, it doesnt have a prom area and the beach is small and a bit grubby, there are bars, clubs etc but nothing like spain etc and other resorts ive been too. cyprus is nice and freindly, so would go again but to another area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciaraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

keeping this as short as possible, i thought the hotel was great although i wish i'd booked to go all inclusive instead of half board ( trust me even of you like to venture out at night you will still save a couple of hundred quid ) room was very modern and you could tell it had just been re-done ...our room over looked the pool which was an added bonus, room was cleaned every day & hotel had great facilities

now if your like me and you love a great nice clean white sandy beach ...then dont come to limassol...simple as! dark sand beaches most of them pretty small

there are many bars along the high street and many places to eat , ( mcdonalds just round the corner ) nag head pub across the road serves good food and has a karaoke night! every night if you into that sort of thing, kfc, pizza hut , starbucks and plenty of shops to buy cheap stuff for your room which has a fridge!!! we ate at three greek resturants which were very nice but expensive so try and haggle something free if theres a few of you...

plenty of watersports , weather was great every single day ....too hot at times

so if ya do book at the atlantica remember all inclusive and book to stay in the hotel not the complex else ya find yourself in the gardens which aint as modern ..( altohugh its only across a side road, not a main one like some people have said ...

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaynffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

After reading all the reviews on this site I was getting nervous about my holiday to the Atlantica oasis and wondered what id find!
We were luckily in the main building but we did take a look out of interest at the atlantica gardens which should be a resort of its own! it has bout 5 blocks n a pool n bar of its own! full of cats.
When we arrived it was very late about 1am and we were impressed with the finish to the lobby. we were greeted by the hotel staff who gave us drinks and offered to make us food if we were hungry. we were allocated a room on the 4th floor which was refurbished to a high standard and had a mini fridge, tv, hairdryer, english plug points. the view overlooked the front where yo could see the sea and because it was on the end we could also see the pool.
we were all inclusive which is well worth it, we booked our holiday on offer so only paid half board for AI which was a bargain. we drank mainly cocktails which were the best!, my fave being the blue lagoon! the waiters in the zeta bar are great and would remember our fave drinks and bring them out to us. never a problem getting drinks. the food was great aswell, plenty of choice. always being refilled, the chefs wonder around checking all is ok. We had our lunch from the mocha cafe where you can pick up baguettes, sandwiches, cakes and pasties to takeaway to the pool or eat in. they do a lovely moose!
there are 2 beaches nearby u just have to find them! but its way to hot to walk anywhere anyway! we only went once because it was so hot.
all in all it was a brilliant holiday and we would go again!
only downside was the waitin time from check out at 12pm till our coach transfer at 8:30pm.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Just got home on Sunday and what can I say a fantastic holiday, the hotel is great the All inclusive option is a must I don't see how they can make any money it is "real" A/I from 7am breakfast untill 24.00 it's all included drinks (Wine, Beer, Spirit's and soft drinks), food, sarnie's, cakes, ice creams and water. The resturant food is excellent massive choice my 10 and 5 year old were never hungry or thirsty and eat more ice cream then you can imagine!
The staff were great nothing was too much, when we arrived our room had a pull out sofa bed not bunk beds we spoke to reception and within 10mins another small bed was in the room, the Air con was great and cold enough to need a blanket some nights. The hotel offers packs we went for pack 5 this included tea / coffee every day in the room, the safe, late checkout and fruit wine slippers and robes and was £75 for the two weeks well worth it.
The pool area is large with loads of sun beds never a need to get up early and fight like other places I've been ok umbrella's were a bit more tricky but lots of shade about with tree's. The entertainment team were great Kelly, Laura, Evette, Agnes and lets not forget SAM who was just the best with the kids my girls just loved him. The evening disco was a must!
The whole holiday was great except for the FLIGHTS we were delayed both going and coming home this is something Thomson need to sort out.
Sean Petra Amber and Zoe.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbsk171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews