We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

I read all the reviews but they left me with questions so I hope my review will answer those for you.

Check In - Simple enough you get charged for towels and safe key, fridge key but this is returned on departure. We decided not to take the fridge option as the goods were far too expensive. The room air con keeps drinks at a good temperature anyway.

Breakfast - Tip - Shower at 0900 and go down at 0930 that way you get a good water supply and temp and plenty of outside tables and fresh food. Shower at 0800 and go down at 0830 and its problematic.

Deck Chairs - Very poor in gardens and beach unless you go down at 0700 and reserve them. We always found chairs around the pool and if you want quiet sit around the upper pool as the kids tend to stay down the shallower lower pool.

Pool - Lovely and warm - Best pool temperature I have experienced and it naturally warms up as the day goes on. The sea water wasn't too bad either. Take beach / pool shoes as the sand or tiles are extremely hot and will blister your soles.

Water Sports - Don't use the ones to the right, use the ones to the left for about 10 euros cheaper.

Outside - Everything you need is within 5 minutes walk from a 'good' selection of bars and shops. FRANX (right opposite was our preferred choice) and the supermarkets either side were cheap and sold English papers sold on the day for 2 euros. drinks are 3 euros a pints and most meals are 10 euros. Moussaka was lovely as was the chicken and cheese baguette in Franx for lunch.

WIFI - Don't use the expensive hotel. Go in Franx and its free and fast.

Drinks - Don't buy the hotel drinks (extremely expensive) - Do what everyone else does. Go across the road to the supermarket, get water, cold drinks and beer )(and fruit and rolls) from the ice fridges and brink it back in. Your get the odd stroppy pool bloke say something every now and again but they cannot stop you so don't worry.

Venturing out - There is a great bus service (service 30 Blue Bus) with a bus every 10 minutes, lovely air conditioned and only 1 euro to go where you want. We didn't think much of the old harbour as under development.

Football Fans - Take the bus to Limassol (20mins) and find the excellent Woodman sports bar (on the actual bus route) before you get to Debenhams, TGIF and Nandos). They are run by english, great food and drink and about 15 TVs showing all the football your ever need

I have a few other top tips but your need to email me

Room Tip: Room 550 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sparkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mediterranean Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for submitting the review of our hotel and a high rating.
We were pleased to hear that you had a “very good experience” and like many other travelers enjoyed our friendly and efficient service, the room, hotel’s pools and other facilities as well as its convenient location.
Constructive guest comments greatly assist us in constantly evaluating the level and quality of our services and facilities and therefore all comments are being thoroughly looked into.
However we would like to comment on some of your statements:
Safe key and mini-bar key are offered with our compliments to all hotel’s guests.
In our bars we serve only high quality drinks prepared by experts, and our guests are often complementing barmen for their skills. At Mediterranean Beach Hotel you can have your refreshment while sitting in a pool or on the beach as well as enjoy our cocktails accompanied by live entertainment most evenings. In order to please our guests we have “happy hour” TWICE every night. We believe that not every bar and especially supermarkets can offer such services.
There are also five restaurants in the hotel offering wide range of high quality cuisine freshly prepared by our team of talented Chefs, who actually won 4 Gold Medals among 30 hotels in National Culinary Competition at Gastronomia – Gastrognosia exhibition 2012.
Once again thank you very much for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mediterranean Beach Hotel.

Kind regards,
The Management

Adonis Papakyriacou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    497
    119
    42
    20
See reviews for
557
697
97
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband, my two kids and I visited the hotel for 7 nights. The hotel had beautiful swimming pools and sandy beach. The buffet breakfast was rich and the staff very friendly. Reception staff was really friendly and very attentive. Management could be seen around the premises of the hotel all day round making sure all was in order. The kids spent most of their time in the kid’s club, they especially enjoyed the Disco night. It is an ideal hotel for families with small children. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

We have just arrived home with my partner after a great holiday at this hotel. We stayed for a week in a sew view room which had beautiful view of the beach and gardens of the hotel. Reception staff was welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much for them. The standard of cleanliness was perfect and service and food at the restaurant was excellent. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Just came back from our second vacation in this hotel. This time our 2 yo daughter joined us. We used to stay in Amathus Hotel but we've chosen Med because is more children friendly. The playground in the back of the hotel is a joy for children and it's really good for those who don't want to sleep in the afternoon (it's not in a sunny area). Good swimming pool, good service, very clean rooms and restaurant.
Although the beach it's too small and you have to wake up early to have a place and the food is always the same, we had a great time in Mediterranean Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oana_dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel. When we arrived our room was not ready altough it was 3.00p.m. but we got a complimentary drink. All restaurants in the resort were excellent, I enjoyed the sushi bar most, they have an amazing sushi chef! We stayed in a sea view room, with a nice balcony. It was clean and comfortably. Unfortunately they charge a lot for Wi-FI in the room.

Room Tip: I would recommend to book a sea view room, because inland rooms face a noisy avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

my wife and I have just returned from a beautyful holiday from Cyprus - the hotel is situated directly at the beach, between Limassol' top Hotel Four Seasons and Amathus Beach, with own beach access. Nice poolside restaurants and bars. Very good kitchen and friendly, attentive staff.
We had a superior sea view room with great view. The only negative issue, is the very expensive WiFi-access (1 Hour 5 EUR, 1 day 15 EUR), which to our taste should be free for hotel guests.
There are restaurants nearby, which offer free WiFi for their guests drinking a cofee. Why should such service not apply for a top hotel ? We defintely will come back - loved it

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

i booked a room for 3 adults and we stayed there for 1 night. one of the beds was a sofa bed which was very uncomfortable.

the most annoying is that half of the hotel is renovated and the rooms are really nice and new with modern furniture and the rest (the left hand side of it - looking at the hotel's entrance) is old fashioned and seems that was not renovated for at least 20 years!. we stayed at the latter. the room was the deluxe twin inland view and as already mention, sleeping on the sofa-bed was not a pleasant experience. a small upgrade on the sofa-bed would cost the hotel half what we paid for our stay and i would be a pleasant returning customer....

Also, the arrangement of the hotel rooms is a bit weird since if you are staying on the first floor (which is actually -2 since reception is floor 3) and you need to go to the parking located at the first floor as well, you need to have a tour of the hotel since you need to go to floor 3, across the hotel and then back down to floor 1. This was not an issue for me but thought i should mention it if somebody has difficulties moving around a hotel.

the breakfast was adequate in terms of quantity of food and quality. the staff was polite and helpful.

for the amount of money paid I thought I was going to get a more descent stay, so the hotel is not really recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
Thank andros_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
2.1 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#13 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Beach Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Address: 71 Amathus Avenue | Agios Tychonas Community, Limassol 4533, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Limassol
#5 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Business Hotel in Limassol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#6 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mediterranean Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
True hospitality has always been the fabric of the Mediterranean Beach Hotel, a superior 4-star resort situated on one of the most beautiful sandy beaches of Limassol. The Hotel's unique location provides all the advantages, including spectacular views of the island's southern coastline. Recently renovated extensively, the Mediterranean Beach Hotel welcomes guests to a warm and inspiring environment of aesthetic luxury and comfort. Hues of blue and white dominate the colour scheme, which is enhanced with natural wood and marble features.The hotel consists of 292 rooms and suites, which include Deluxe Inland or Sea View Rooms, Family Rooms with Inland, Pool or Sea View, Deluxe Family Rooms with Sea View, Superior Pool & Sea View Rooms (Adults Only), Luxury Studios Pool & Sea View (Adults Only), Areti Suite and the Aura Presidential Suite.All rooms and suites include an en-suite bathroom, a balcony or terrace, air-conditioning, central heating, direct dial telephone, LCD televisions with satellite channels, mini-bar, safe deposit box and a hair dryer. Additionally, Luxury Studios and Superior Rooms have Tea & Coffee making facilities and a trouser press. Luxury Studios, also have an I-pod docking stations with clock, alarm and radio.Free Wi-Fi internet is available in our lobbies and indoor bars and in all guest rooms at a cost. For all guests staying in the adults only, Superior Rooms and Luxury Studios, as well as the suites, the Wi-Fi service is FREE throughout the hotel.The property's extensive restaurant and bar selection comprises of the Nautica Bistro (May-Oct), the Celeste Restaurant (Nov-Apr) & Terrace (May-Oct), Ristorante Bacco, Shumi Sushi Bar and the Aquaria Restaurant. The bar selection includes Ouzeri Tis Myrtos (May-Oct), the Clouds Lounge Bar, the Blue Bar and the Lagoon Pool Bar (May-Oct).If relaxation is on the agenda, a visit to the Aquum Health Spa with a wide choice of treatments/programmes, using Babor products, is a must. There is an outdoor split-level outdoor pool, an indoor pool (heated in winter) and a children's splash pool. Other facilities include, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam-Bath, an aerobics/pilates studio, a fully equipped gym, one floodlit tennis court, table tennis & pool tables and an electronic games room. There are also a Water Sports and a Padi Diving Centre. For our young friends, there is the Angel's Kids Club (4-12 years) operating May-October, as well as Christmas, New Year's and Easter periods. Other children's facilities include a separate outdoor swimming pool, partly shaded to protect them from the sun, a playground, video games arcade and baby sitting on demand (additional cost).There are 4 championship standard golf courses, within a 35 minute drive from the hotel. Larnaca, as well as Paphos International Airports are just a 40 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mediterranean Beach
Mediterranean Beach Limassol
Mediterranean Beach Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing