We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Russians, cockroaches and1970's decor!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arsinoe Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude Russians, cockroaches and1970's decor!!!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This was booked in May and was a "special" advertised in a local travel agency. We went with open minds and were determined not to pay a lot of heed to the adverse reviews. We will not make that mistake again!!! We arrived at 3.00am in the morning so the first impressions of our hotel room was that we had gone back in time, the wallpaper was peeling, the furniture had liquid stains running down it, there were odd marks on the wallpaper which we later realised were down to cockroaches meeting their end. The floors and bathroom were very clean though and the air conditioning worked although it was very noisy. The hotel was very quiet and we had no problem getting to sleep on any night. Breakfast is a disaster.... catered more for the Russians who were out in force. They were actually the worst part of our stay. They have no concept of queuing for food and will happily mow down anyone in their path. My daughter was a victim of a Russian gentleman in his haste to pile even more food onto his already heaped plate. There is more than enough food to go round but these people just pile it on and waste so much. The food in the evening is quite good and we were able to get something to suit us every night, but again there is a feeding frenzy as if the food is going to run out. Some of the Russian guests were very aggressive and actually physically pushed adults and children out of the way to get what they wanted.... so rude! The cockroaches are another story. I know they can appear anywhere but the first night to find one in our bed was horrible. On our last night we had 4 cockroaches in the room and were up until after 1 chasing them down.... believe me they were huge.... enough said! There are cats everywhere which is fine you are in cyprus and you expect that, but to have them round your table begging when you are eating is not fine. There are only about 25 sun loungers around the pool which is very badly maintained. There is only one large pool, one baby pool which is filthy, two small pools which are beside the big pool but which only have stale, stagnant water lying in the bottom of it and another pool which is cordoned off and has no water in it and rubble etc lying around it. In saying this there could be 300+ people staying at the hotel but there may be only 20 or 30 at the pool each day as most people seem to go to the beach. After all that, the staff are pleasant and this hotel is probably a victim of the economic situation in cyprus. I think this hotels major downfall is the fact that it is a hotel suited more to Russian and Eastern European holidaymakers and no longer suited to the British holidaymaker. As for me and my family..... we won't be hurrying back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    67
    66
    55
    56
See reviews for
90
89
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed there for 2 weeks, we booked over the internet, and we had stayed at this hotel on 3 previuos occasions. the last 5 years ago and enjoyed the stay. Since then no maintenance has been done, there are 40 sun beds for a hotel of 400 guests, the sun beds were plentiful when we went last time, so as they have broken they have not been replaced. The fire escape/stairs are crumbling and are in a very dangerous state, there is no lighting in the star wells, and very little lighting in the public access areas, The 2nd out door pool is empty and fenced off.( EU rules) but it is still advertised on the web site as open. The main pool is dangerous as the ladder in has two steps missing, so young or old could easily fall expexting steps to be there. The resturant is poorly managed, on numerous occasions our table was cleared and reset for someone else as we went to get the next course. Food was being taken out of the resturant in vast quatities by guests. We also noted it was evident that extra unpaying guests were staying at the hotel, without the mangement Knowing. (the food taken from the resturant for their extra room guest perhaps)? This leads me to the concern of if the mangement do not know who is staying in their hotel what are the theft implications, Fire threat and head counts, also it feels very insecure when you are staying there as all the bedrooms are easily accessed from the outside through three stair wells who's fire exit doors are either wedged open or do not exist. The foyer gents toilets urinals for the whole two weeks where out of order, and still are no doubt. The door card slot elctric breaker switch in the room was broken, and was wedge open to secure power to the room with paper, even though we pointed this out. No attempt was made to fix it. Most of all the health and safety issues need to be looked at very soon as an accident or a serious crime will happen here sooner rather than later. This is not an Hotel for British anymore.

Room Tip: Sea view but high floor if you do go, as the disco underneath the front goes on to 4 am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CraterCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limassol hotels

Torpoint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My husband and myself paid just £205 each AI for our stay at the Arsinoe excluding flights we booked with Olympic they upgraded our room to a full sea view on the 5Th floor for just £5 for the whole week. our adult son came over with us and had booked a side sea view paid a bit less than us, on arrival my son was given a double full sea view two doors away from us. the rooms were a good size clean, the bathroom looked like it had been renovated. But I cannot comment on complaints on rooms as some may not have had renovations yet but you can tell the hotel owners are trying to get things improved. You could not get half board let alone AI for the price back in the UK if you want fancy meals and surroundings pay a fancy price.

I cannot understand why Celeb Jim91 had problems fitting under the shower and our bathroom floor never got flooded.
On the main foyer and reception bar areas they were certainly NOT dirty a little dated maybe but clean.

On the food some was pretty tasty other times a bit boring but we never went hungry. We did eat out a couple of times during our stay. The food in the Stallion up the road a bit was good and the Artima down the old port overlooking the castle I will write separate reviews on them.

Georges bar across the car park €2 for a large bottle of Carlsberg.

On hotel staff we never found them rude they were all very nice. On the noise issue yes there is a main road outside and a night club in the basement once we closed our balcony doors at night we never heard much at all. ask for a high floor or a quiet room and you will be fine.

Cats yes there are a few but they are not a problem they are so well looked after they mainly hang around the garden wall and wait for scraps they don,t seem to hang around tables.Julie

Room Tip: Ask for a hight floor or quiet part of the hotel if you think noise from the road outside or the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barkinmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

paid all-inclusive for a short trip expecting a nice hotel after seeing the photos when booking. when walking into the hotel it was pitch black, and the foyer was very outdated. the rooms were awful and really needed decorated, but the bathrooms weren't too bad. the pool area was perfect and was the best thing about the hotel. but the place really needs modernising, including rooms, sunbeds and main foyer. the food was very inconsistent, breakfast was good, sometimes dinner and lunch were good but sometimes it was awful.
not sure how this hotel was 3stars, but I can't imagine it being any longer as the rooms and reception area were very dirty and old fashioned.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank english12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

The Good:
Pool is a nice size and very refreshing. The beach is in close proximity as well as a number of water sport rentals. The hotel was kept spotless in public areas and the rooms, apart from Sunday when the staff had a day off. The evening meals always had a large tasty selection to choose from and was replenished regularly. All the staff spoke good English.

The Bad:
The drinks are expensive (€3.20 for a bottle of Carlsberg or equivalent). Drinks aren't available at the evening meal buffet and the staff don't allow drinks bought elsewhere. The mattress I was using had a loose spring which skewered me quite deeply in the leg. Breakfast usually consisted of either very salty, vegetarian replacement sausages or bacon, very watery omelette, very watery omelette with veggie bacon, watery baked beans, and fruit which was obviously a few days old. It was generally very unappetising and I was always left hungry afterwards every day. The staff seemed to watch us eat, almost as if they were encouraging us to leave a soon as possible, several times I had not finished eating and they tried to clear away my plate. The staff at the hotel bar seemed rather sullen or grumpy when serving, I again got the sense they were encouraging us to leave. The rooms were small, even though there were three beds in ours, there was not enough space for 3 people's clothes for 10 days. The mattresses were thin and didn't give much support along with the pillow. Despite there being a shower curtain, the shower flooded the bathroom floor every time after use. Also, I do not know many people short enough who can fit comfortably under that shower head, it is low down and very close to the wall.

Overall:
The Arsinoe Beach Hotel is, in my opinion, lucky to have 3 stars. The only thing that brings it up to a 3 star rating in my eyes is the cleanliness of the hotel, and the evening meals. The staff appear rude and the breakfast and bedrooms have much to be desired.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelebrityJim91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This hotel stands on an extremely busy main road with the beach on the other side of it.Should you have a frontal sea view you will not be able to leave your window open at night unless you're stone deaf.There is a Bar to the left of reception as you go in with an old swimming pool outside that's fenced off and out of use,suffice to say it looks like a bomb's hit it.Little fella with glasses who serves there looks like he's related to the Angry Bird character and appears to have the same temperament.There is however a far more pleasant outside pool area at the other end of the hotel next to where breakfast is served.The rooms are clean but basic.The meals are very repetitive and a little bland.If you want to go to Limassol Town the local buses are excellent and good value at one Euro each way,prices in the town though are rather high for food and drink even a coffee will set you back a bob or two.Some of the hotel staff are pleasant but most appear to want to be somewhere else.Many Eastern Europeans visit this hotel and during our stay there were only a small number of British people there.Make your own arrangements if hiring a car by shopping around,don't be talked into using a major hire company by your Rep.If you do you may well be charged top dollar for fuel in the car when it's delivered even though the last user may have left half a tank on returning it,this nice little earner for some car hire companies has been reported in a national newspaper in the UK recently.Also check the excess insurance cost to you before accepting the vehicle,some are ridiculously high and can just be taken from your credit card.The Arsinoe Hotel is not one we'll be returning to but it obviously has an appeal for some.

Room Tip: At the rear overlooking the pool with mountain views,far quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalisperamick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very shocked with the room when we arrived, small, smelly and a lump missing out of the bed, balcony in disrepair, stained carpet..and more. Next day we asked to be moved and got a corner room at the back of the hotel and it was so much better, still tatty in places but much improved. Staff fantastic and the food was good, maybe a bit repetitive. Please note that there is only one pool up and running at the moment, contrary to brochures and online. The pool bar was also not open and there was no entertainment while we were there as far as we could see. However we did not allow this to detract from the holiday and all in all the weather was superb and the area was good, a 1 euro trip on the bus right along the seafront to Limassol was perfect. Would consider going there again if the price was right and if Olympic changed their rep, who was absolutely awful!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are far bigger and newer, the ones at the front towards the sea are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hainslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
3.9 mi away
Navarria Hotel
Navarria Hotel
#28 of 57 in Limassol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#14 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#31 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kapetanios Odyssia
Kapetanios Odyssia
#16 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Beach Hotel
Park Beach Hotel
#23 of 57 in Limassol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arsinoe Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arsinoe Beach Hotel

Property: Arsinoe Beach Hotel
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 62, P.O. Box 1389 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3504, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arsinoe Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arsinoe Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arsinoe Beach Limassol
Hotel Arsinoe Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing