We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but not bad”
Review of Caravel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed 28 December 2007

A basic hotel. We went B&B, due to the fact that we attended a wedding in Ncsoia.

I found the breakfast (mostly tomato, cucumber and olives) acceptable. A couple of days we had eggs, sausage, ham etc.

The rooms are basic, but tidy. Our room aircon didn't work properly, and it was very hot all the time. As we lived in Cyprus for a while, we weren't too bothered about the heat.

The area around the Caravel has plenty of restaurants, shops and bars.

We booked through a holiday company and got a good deal. We didn't see or hear much in the way of problems.

Worth a visit to make up your own mind! 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheTrain546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear customer,

On behalf of the new management and all the personnel we would like to thank you
for your kind words following your stay with us at Caravel Hotel. Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects.

We would like to inform you that this season the upgrade of the hotel is obvious and we would be more than happy if you could visit us during summer 2014 in order to show you the improvement in all aspects! All the rooms are upgraded regarding the maintenance and the cleanliness as the standards are very high.

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Caravel Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2007

the first monibg we were there the breakfast was horrible also all through the holiday the staff was not good and on the last night me and my sister found a RAT in our room overall I WOULD NOT GO THERE EVER AGAIN

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank plazma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear customers,

Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects!

As part of the management team at the Caravel hotel, the issues you have mentioned do not describe or represent the establishment here.We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which have helped us a lot to improve our services for the upcoming season.We are more than happy to inform you that all the maintenance issues have been resolved and all the rooms are in a very good condition. We have a new team of experienced chefs with new tastes and variety of traditional and international cuisine!

We would be delighted if we could meet you this year in order to offer you our improved services!

We look forward to meeting you,

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Staff was friendly. Breakfast was not the best-mostly tomatoes, cucumbers & cereal for breakfast (not one fresh fruit the entire time). Rooms were good sized as was the bathroom, however the water was either hot or cold depending on the moment. If you're there in the hot weather, the AC is pretty non-existent. Lift is very small (3 people at max). We had a sea/pool view from our balcony, but I think you can see the sea from most of the balconies. You can walk to most nightlife within 10 minutes, plus there are a few inexpensive places to eat.
We ate at Georges or Armonia Cafe quite a few times.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank socrgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

A haven for Chav's wearing Football kits. No activities going on and the lift only holds 3 people when it works!
The room was a good size and the beds were clean, probably fairly new. However, we found rubbish in the bin, and other peoples hair in the bath room. The wash basin & toilet was grimey, the bath enamel-less and the shower head caked up with limescale. Only half of the holes in the shower head worked. 4 out of 14 nights the water was freezing cold (not good if you have a heart condition!) without any explanation from the management. Our carpet was not hoovered at all in the whole two weeks, although it was clean-ish on arrival.
The "dining room" was more like a high school dinner hall and the food awful. Breakfast consisted of cornflakes, a plate of cheese, a plate of processed ham, some olives, solidified over-cooked scrambled eggs, chopped up frankfurters and baskets of sliced bread for you to toast in bog standard domestic toasters. Cups and plates were well worn and even chipped!! Numerous mornings I arrived at the Tea Urn to find NO CUPS !

I would not stay at the caravel again, whilst it is under it's existing management. There is rumour that it is about to be bought out by a Tour Operator...and as it does have potential, it could be turned around. It is in a good location, and there are plenty of decent eateries and bars locally.

There were flies everywhere, and the floors around the pool bar - filthy. The pool itself had a brown tide mark. The employees (all Bengali students) tried their hardest and were courteous at all times. This was my 9th trip to Cyprus and by far the worst accomodation I have ever wasted my money on, anywhere in the world. JUNE 2007.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Kerry-Bee-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caravel L, Manager at Caravel Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear customers,

Caravel Hotel management has been changed since April 2014 and the hotel has been upgraded in all aspects!

As part of the management team at the Caravel hotel, the issues you have mentioned do not describe or represent the establishment here.We would like to thank you for your constructive comments which have helped us a lot to improve our services for the upcoming season.We are more than happy to inform you that all the maintenance issues have been resolved and all the rooms are in a very good condition. We have a new team of experienced chefs with new tastes and variety of traditional and international cuisine!

We would be delighted if we could meet you this year in order to offer you our improved services!

We look forward to meeting you,

Yours sincerely,
Neophytos Charmanis
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

Tha Caravel Hotel was situated in a nice area of cypress with a beach over the road and many pubs and restrants just down the road. My daughter and i went self catering because we heard the meals wer'nt great but the resterant food was at a high standard.The hotel was clean and so were the rooms and the staff were very helpful to us as we lost are laugage which arrived later on in our holiday.The pool was lovely and warm both the big and the little the staff cleaned the pool every day.it was a great holiday and i would reconmend it to all ages of people as they would all enjoy the Caravel Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2003, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank paulinnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
117
Reviewed 11 March 2006

Great hotel for the price we paid. staff were brilliant one of the best holidays we have been on. food was good, only advice go for the cypriot option, it is by far the best, not that there is anything wrong with the british option.

if you stay at the caravel and are into football and want to know any (and i mean any) football score head out of the hotel take a left walk a short distance then cross a road and visit CHRIS in his bar next to Rebeccas place he will keep you informed.

would recommend the Caravel to anyone what ever age if you are looking for a good holiday at a very reasonable price you cant beat the Caravel. We will be back

  • Stayed: November 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorelovanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Navarria Hotel
Navarria Hotel
#29 of 56 in Limassol
306 reviews
5.6 mi away
Pefkos Hotel
Pefkos Hotel
#31 of 56 in Limassol
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#15 of 56 in Limassol
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pigeon Beach Hotel Apartments
2.1 mi away
Park Beach Hotel
Park Beach Hotel
#23 of 56 in Limassol
196 reviews
1.7 mi away
Estella Hotel Apartments
Estella Hotel Apartments
#32 of 56 in Limassol
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel Hotel

Address: Amathus Avenue, Prousis Str. Amathous | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3608, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range: £36 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caravel Hotel is under new Management. Come and visit our new fully renovated pool bar and pool area. The Caravel Hotel has become a favorite with its regular guests which is hardly surprising, it is the ideal setting for so many different holidays enjoyed by so many different people. It's enviable location, warm personal service and relaxed atmosphere have earned the hotel an excellent reputation within the local hotel community. This superior establishment offers a standard of value far exceeding it's cost. Featuring a garden, The Caravel Hotel in Limassol provides guests with a relaxed setting while visiting Limassol. This modern hotel is situated in Agios Tychonas Touristic Area. To make sure your day gets off to a great start, a buffet breakfast is offered daily at the Caravel Hotel Limassol's restaurant. Travellers wanting to socialise can do so in the hotel's bar, situated on-site. This affordable hotel is not far from public transport so you can get to Limassol with little effort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caravel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing