We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Arches Hotel
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed 27 April 2011

It is four years since we stayed at this hotel and although it has been refurbished and the decor downstairs is lovely nothing else has changed.The food was virtually awful and sometimes un-eatable ,with no choice ,if you decide to use the hotel do not expect to get bacon and fried eggs on the same day as it does not happen.The prices in Cyprus have doubled with the Euro and eating out is expensive.The staff are on the whole very good and if you are paying for lunch in the hotel the choice is good ;a pity it does not appear the same at night..There was no entertainment at all apart from Pan pipe music which is blasted round the hotel all day.I would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends and would advise any English visitors to think twice before booking .It was a big no no and one we will not be repeating

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

This was our second stay at the Golden Arches, and having read the reviews before the first visit, was wondering what we were going to find. However very pleasantly surprised the rooms are spotless and beds made and towels changed every day. The staff, are pleasant and friendly and quick to respnd to requests, yes the road outside can be noisy but after the first night you don't really notice it.
Breakfast every morning was fresh and plenty to chose from.
We used the spa at the Mediterenean and Amathus Hotels across the road, for a nominal fee and the beaches opposite are very clean.
Would definately return, as prices are so reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank deb033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The hotel looks great as you first go in but i agree with other reviewers when they say thats where the renavations end. We stayed there all-inclusive and the food was alright buffet menu for the main meals which got a bit repetative after about 3 days, my advice to anyone staying all-inclusive would be to order one of the morning snacks from the bar (the hotel don't seem to advertise this and you have to ask for the menu from the girl on the bar). The bar staff were very nice and helpful.
The room was basic and small which because we had our son in a travel cot made it seam even smaller it was cleaned daily but still seamed old and tired, the bathroom was clean and always plenty of hot water.
My main problem with the hotel was the safety aspect with my 20month old son. The balcony railing were quite easy for him to climb up so we asked for the balcony furniture to be removed which the hotel had done within the hour. The patio door in the room had strew holes which m son got his finger struck in at one point. The lifts are quite dangerous the doors shut so quickly the babies pram kept getting shut on halfway out. Around the pool the wall around the egde is only half a metre high if that and far to easy for children to climb.
The hotel is on the egde of limmasol and it takes about 40mins to get to the centre, there is a really nice walk along the sea front and the beaches are really nice around there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familygal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I have read the reviews before booking, but none was right on the spot. The hotel is ok for its 3*, but it's in the Amathus area of Limassol, where there's almost nobody around! There are not too many tourists, very few tavernas, a few supermarkets and practically nowhere to have fun.
The hotel itself is ok, room was cleaned every time we let the sign on the door, towels changed every time we let them in the washbasin. The matress was very hard. The air conditioning is effective but is right in the bedroom so there are high chances of a cold. We had no bugs, ants, no pbs with the balcony, toilets etc. The lock at the door was a bit difficult to unlock. The hotel itself is very quiet, in fact so quiet it seems deserted.
We had half board and we also tasted a lunch (you can also trade a dinner for a lunch, but I don.t recommend that). The breakfast is composed of: scrambled eggs of a sort of another, cooked tomatoes, cucumbers, beans, very salty roasted ham or sausages (one day ham, the other sausages), jam, margarine, butter, water, tea, coffee, cereals, milk. Lunch is composed of: some 2-3 types of salad and some meat (2 types probably). Dinner is much better: a few types of salad (some with mayo, some green, some with carrots etc.), a few types of meat (lamb, chicken, seafood even) and some delicious cakes, pies, jellies (around 4 kinds every evening). The exact recipes change every day and some must be Cypriot as they are hard to recognize. All in all, i gained 2 kilos in 7 days, so i think the food is good :)
Limassol is a very Russian and Slavic city, so expect also mainly Slavic tourists in the hotel and around. Many tavernas show Russian menus etc., shop assistants speak more Russian than English etc. The level of English in Cyprus is overestimated in tourist booklets anyway as the accent is strong and the vocabulary limited. But they are very willing to help.
The beach is nice, but is almost completely private (5* hotels guests only). There is a small patch that can rent sunbeds and umbrellas at around 2 eur a day but you must not be absent for more than 2 hrs, as they reassign them (so eat fast and stay at the beach at the most unhealthy hours :( )...Do not expect too much politeness there.
The beach is sandy, the water is a very beautiful colour and very clear and clean. No rocks. When we went, it was almost deserted (not too many vacationers in mid-July, we practically had the entire beach for ourselves ! I didn.t like that, but some might.)
To get to the tourist area, or "the closest center", where there are some nice terasses for cocktails and watching ball games or eating you must take a bus from opposite the hotel, near the Mediterranean. It costs 1 eur a ride, 2 eur a day pass. The pb is that is not frequent and the last one is at about 11 PM... If not, from the nice terrasses to Golden Arches is a nice 50 min brisk walk :( We haven't tried the taxis, they could be around 10-15 eur from what the guide told us.
There is another "center", near the Limassol castle (the last bus stop), where there are some nice cafes. You must absolutely see the Limassol castle, now a history museum filled with contemporary art works inspired from the Cypriot history !! It's very well-preserved and fun to visit.
If you want to see stuff:
You must ask the reception! There are 3 people there: a Romanian woman that I recommend, very helpful, an old Greek guy that is not too nice, very arrogant, and a young Russian guy that could not answer any of our questions. They have fliers from the tour operators and the schedule of the buses, but you must insist (we only found out when it was too late). I think they have an agreement with a certain tourist agency, but if you insist you can find out more about the other offers (like a day at a donkey farm, visiting monasteries in the mountains aso asf).
You absolutely must see Nicosia ! it.s very close by bus (bus stop near the hotel, same side)... It.s wonderful ! The ride is very cheap.
We tried the 69 eur jeep safari. It.s practically a very very old Range Rover and a driver and they take you see from above the Rock of Aphrodite, take you on a nice cruise with another 200 people to swim near a isolated beach (wonderfully coloured water), take you eat at an overpriced taverna also with the 200, then take you to a relatively nice waterfall at the top of the mountains after some dangerous driving on narrow roads and then to the Wonderful Caves of Lara ! These are amazing white falaises with caves... definitely worth seeing...
There are some shared taxis that cost around 20 eur a ride to take you to Paphos, Nicosia, Ayia Napa, Larnaka (2*20 eur)... They take you from the hotel. There are also some other tours that can be bought at around 20 eur (Wednesdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Mondays).
The best beaches are at Ayia Napa (also some nicer shops, there's nothing decent to buy in Limassol, I wonder how all those girls manage to look so astounding) and at Protaras. You can go there either by renting a car (they drive on the left as in the UK) or by taking a small green bus - the stop is ON THE SAME SIDE as the hotel, near the supermarkets, there is a green sign. It goes to Larnaka, and from there you can take a bus to Ayia Napa and / or Protaras. The whole thing is 15 eur maximum, but is worth it. The only pb is that the last bus is very early, so maybe you could arrange to go back with a shared taxi.
All in all, this hotel is a good choice if you want to see Cyprus (is well-located to go see everything in day trips), but otherwise is located in a very, extremely boring area (never stayed anywhere as boring in my life, and I visited quite a few places). The only entertainment is watching the young Cypriots racing near the hotel. Oh, and for all-girls groups: Cypriots tend to stare, whistle and make comments... We were never in any danger, anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank laria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We arrived late and were welcome by a very kind front desk lady. And the positive comments end here. They did refurbish the lobby and partly the room, but the corridors haven't seen a lick of paint in at least 20 years, cracked panes of glass in the doors, etc. The room doors require slamming to shut, so good luck if you want to sleep. Anything apart from your room is extra, including the minibar, as in the actual mini fridge, and even the safe. The bed linen was so worn out that it was yellowish, the bathroom was very poorly cleaned, and my husband tells me now, as I am writing the review, that there were ants in our bed. Excellent. On turning the tv on, we thought it was about to take off, as it made a worryingly whistling sound, the remote didn't work, but that wasn't an issue, as you could only see one channel. Oh, and let me tell you about the wonderful view on the car park/rubbish bins, which, by the way, get emptied very early and very loudly in the morning. Breakfast the next morning was, by far, the poorest, unimaginative, bland, abysmal quality I have ever tasted in my life. In fact, we struggled to remember where we had worse food. Luckily, we were staying on a b&b basis, as I can't imagine what the other meals would be like... So, it was hot, and we thought, why not going for a dip in the pool. Now, the sun lounges were of such poor quality and filthy and no guest towels available, as in, you have to have your own. There was a sign advising people to shower before going into the pool, but they must have referred to the room shower, as the only washing facilities pool-side was a bowl for your feet where the steps into the pool started. Excellent for catching verrucas, if you're into that sort of thing. On a serious note, DON'T BRING YOUR CHILDREN into the pool area, as there's only a very low wall separating the pool area from the corrugated iron and platic roofs of adjecent buildings, offering very dangerous playing ground for children. And finally, when you come back in the evening, a nauseating smell welcomes you back to the hotel from hell. Must be the smell of rotten souls. The Golden Arches, not even the McDonalds of hotels! We were there for just a weekend, we have been scarred for life... It gives Norman Bates a run for his money!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabrina70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

What a disapointment! We spent 2 weeks there and just returned home,uff. It is not enough to have nice stuff to run a hotel. Bugs in our room were everywhere. Finally we got a spray from the maid to fight with them by ourselves. Food very monotonous, what was not eaten on a given day was served the next day! Hotel situated near the main, very busy road, so even the ear-plugs couldn't help. The cleaning lady left our room door wide open for many hours. Fortunately, nothing was stolen but nobody apologized to us. The night porter not present during the chech out, came on later and disapeared again leaving everything to the fate and his good luck . Nice but shallow pool , kind waitresses at the restaurant and good air conditioning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dachowiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

I had read some negative reports before we travelled but as they were not very recent I thought as we had already booked we would take it as we found it.
The staff were very good.
The bedroom was all we required, clean and reasonably comfortable, the view was ok. I complained that there was no lock on the balcony door and was given the answer by reception that they knew and that most of the rooms did not have locks on the balcony doors and dont worry about it. I originaly thought they were joking but they were not, give them there due though, when I was insistant, they fixed it at once.
The food was very similar every day without much choice, everything was edible but after a few days it was a bit boring.
Public areas were taken over on three days out of seven for local christenings and engagements, which was a bit annoying as they were able to supply far better tables with cloths etc; to them but not to us.
Would sum it up as enjoying the holiday in spite of the hotel rather than because of it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank povertpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.2 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#27 of 56 in Limassol
157 reviews
3.0 mi away
Park Beach Hotel
Park Beach Hotel
#22 of 56 in Limassol
210 reviews
4.4 mi away
Kapetanios Odyssia
Kapetanios Odyssia
#14 of 56 in Limassol
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arches Hotel

Address: Amathountos 116, P.O. Box 54104 | Agios Tychon, Limassol 3721, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range: £27 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Golden Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arches Limassol
Hotel Golden Arches
Cyprus Golden Arches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing