We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect much” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Arches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Arches Hotel
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
North Wales
1 review
“Don't expect much”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

We stayed in this hotel in the last week of November. We were booked in for a week but only stayed three nights before we moved to a better hotel. It is described as a three star hotel that has recently been refurbished - we would say it is in need of a major makeover and would rate the hotel between 1 and 2 stars. When we arrived there was a large flying insect in the bathroom, the television was not working and the chair in the bedroom was broken. The hotel is situated close to a busy and very noisy highway. The only positives we found was the food.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — most things
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VaughanNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    38
    63
    26
    32
See reviews for
27
64
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2008

Was not expecting much as the booking was made late at night after several drinks via teletext. (serves you right I hear you say) Used Monarch airways which now seen to operate a pack them in with as little space as possible technique. Will not use again
Hotel staff were fabulous and could not do enough for us. The dining area, lounge, bar and pool area had been refurbished and looked perfect in every way. The rooms were quite small and although they had been given a lick of paint, were looking tatty. If you were going to spend any length of time in them (which kind of defeats the object of going on holiday) this would become a problem. Penny pinching hotel scheme of having to hire TV remote was got round with the aid of a cotton bud in the control hole (thanks Len) Only BBC news and CNN in english Drinks were plentiful for 'all inclusive' scheme and if you went hungry it was your own fault as the buffet meals were varied and plentiful. Desserts were a waste of time. Bit of a shock was the smoke anywhere culture so it was back to the bad old days of smelly clothes for the non smokers
The road next to the hotel and other big 5 star hotels I might add, was used by the locals as a race track. The cars were quite expensive and worth a look if you like that sort of thing. If you can get to sleep early enough with the help of a few drinks then great, but if you are a light sleeper, be warned! Walls were paper thin and doors could only be shut with a slam and if you were unlucky enough to get a family from hell turning up then you would be in trouble.
November weather was a perfect 24 C. During the summer you would cook yourself!
To sum up this hotel, it was a bargain basement deal and worth it if only to see what else is available on the island for future holidays.

  • Liked — Probably just the food and staff
  • Disliked — Smokers paradise, no views from rooms plus small shabby rooms
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pegasus_6th_airborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Limassol hotels

Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

Room was adequate, but not great. OK if you are looking to save money, compared to the big fancy hotels, but as they say, you get what you pay for. I got the room for much cheaper by going through Hotelscombined.com. Rate varied from 66 Euros (hotel’s best deal) to about 39 E (from BookedIn website).

One day the room was not cleaned, and on another day, the cleaning person (a guy) did not come until around 4 or 5 in the afternoon. And the cleaning was not much more than making the bed. I never was given clean towels. The breakfast was bad. I don’t know if the “orange juice” was some sort of bad powdered mix or just juice that was watered down so much that it was barely recognizable. I wouldn’t even consider eating dinner there.

The best thing about the location of the place is that it is a short walk to the Amathus archaeological site, which should not be missed. It is a long bus ride to the tourist center of town (Limassol), which is no real problem to me, and even longer to the old quarter of the city, even though there is not a whole lot there, but worth an afternoon and evening visit.

If you are looking for a real budget place, the Golden Arches will work, but if you want real comfort, service, and edible food, try somewhere else.

I would add, too, that for my money Limassol is not worth visiting unless you like tourist havens. We did go up to Nicosia (Lefkosia) and went into the Turkish side, which is now relatively easy to do. Very interesting. Much more interesting than the Greek Cypriot side since it is not geared so exclusively to tourists.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SiteGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Merseyside
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2008

I have just come back, and its the first holiday that i have wanted to come home!

It was like fawlty towers! we had to wear a blue wristband which was annoying, i have been to hotels on all inclusive and were given a card with a picture of your party on it instead! the lifts were tiny, there was a weird smell upstairs, the rooms were small, your bathroom door slided open and shut so you couldnt have any privacy! lamp shades were dirty, the volume button on the tv didnt work properly on the tv itself, you had to rent out the remote control, balconys were small and dirty, the room was dark and made you feel depressed.

The only good points about this hotel was the rooms were cleaned everyday, and we were given new towels daily, some staff were friendly but didnt speak alot of english, pool was clean.

At night you could hear all the traffic on the main road it was like bein on a motorway, the room walls were that thin that you could hear people next door, we heard people having sex, going to the toilet and bein sick, could hear people argueing!

Me and my partner spent just under a £1,000 and were not happy at all! and not all the drinks were free either! they just gave you the cheap and nasty stuff away instead! Food was ok even tho i felt ill all the time!

I recommend you not to go to this hotel, even if you have booked it you can cancel it, there will be a fee (i thought you couldnt cancel a holiday unless someone dies but you can) but i would recommend to cancel because it will ruin your holiday!

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smullen16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
senthais
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

I've been to many hotels, and have no qualms about staying at b&bs or hostels. This hotel ranks as the worst I have visited.

I needed to be in the location due to a conference happening nearby. I had reconfirmed my booking by phone one day earlier. Upon arrival I was informed that my room was not avaialble, and in fact no room at the hotel. Trying to avoid to be placed in a hotel that I would need a bus to tranfer to the conference, I agreed to stay in their 'apartments' section.

What can I say? Lights not working at the entrance, an elevator from before my grandad's birth, dirty stains everywhere, flimsy door that could open with a kick, no phone, and no security at all around. Cherry on the top, on the balcony floor behind the aircondition were two nests of pigeons, having made a huge unhealthy mess of the otherwise nice sea view. No a/c for me then.

Breakfast also was horrid, dirty tablecloths, watered orange juice, and lots of flies flying around - a toast with honey was infested in one minute. And various other crawlies too.

I asked twice to be transferred. I am still waiting..

  • Liked — nothing..
  • Disliked — everything..
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank senthais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2008

Just returned today (8th October) My wife and I have stayed at this hotel for the last 15 years, but never again. I can only describe it as terrible beyond belief. Usually we booked direct with the hotel, for the first time EVER we went with a tour operator, and saved two hundred pounds.
The management are at fault, they have the finest staff, who have been there so long, they are part of the furniture. We know them all personally, and feel very sorry for them, because there is nothing they can do.
This year now that Cyprus is in the Euro, we did not know what to expect, but we soon found out. The rooms have gone up from £31.00 a night to an unbelievable £68.00 a night, for half board. Maybe it has improved with the increase, not so, it has degenerated and the price of everything has gone through the roof. A small bottle of water now costs 1Euro 70cents, a small bottle of Keo beer is 2 Euros 80cents, Coke cost you 2 Euros 40 cents a bottle. (Cyprus £ is worth 1.71 Euro's compared to British £ is only worth 1.22)
The food is disgusting, same old thing each morning for breakfast, beans, broiled bacon, hard boiled egg, tinned tomatoes and a piece of hard bread. No butter, axle grease margerine, we bought our own butter. You must hire a fridge if you wish to have butter, otherwise it melts. The toaster wasn't working for three days, the coffee machine was broken, and the orange juice was just like water with a bit of sweetening in it.
Now we come to the Evening meal, it was virtually unpalatable,
if you DARE go to this hotel, bed and breakfast is the only meal to take. I personally only had soup for the fortnight I was there, Oh, and the sweet wasn't too bad either.
One chap arrived at 2am this morning, said he could not eat the breakfast if that was what was served each day, and immediately booked two tickets back home on the earliest flight.

Quite honestly I felt like doing that myself on the second day, we stuck it out, but I'm glad to be home.

The sunbeds were all new a couple of years ago, but now they are like everything else, tired and worn out. The plastic covering is all coming off them, some the fabric is torn. The sweat marks are all black on the backs of the sunbeds.

The trees around the pool are illuminated at night with green bulbs, two were smashed, they were not repaired in the fortnight I was there. The lights were dangerous left in that state, all the connections were open to children who could have been electrocuted. Anyone can check that out for themselves, the lights on the FIRST and LAST of the seven palm trees surrounding the pool are STILL broken with bare wires showing.
(8th October 2008)
No, this hotel is a definite NO NO, we won't be going back and if you do go you will see that I have spoken the truth.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Prices of EVERYTHING was a RIP-OFF
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotomanNrChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

For the price we found the hotel perfectly adequate. Clean rooms and reception, very friendly and helpful staff. Towels and sheets changed every couple of days. Pool area bigger and cleaner than most apart from 5 star. Don`t think you can blame the hotel for the maniacs who use the main road as a race track!!All in all you gets what you pay for and I thought the breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Road noise
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Wrinkly36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.0 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#17 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Vegas Hotel Apartments
Vegas Hotel Apartments
#18 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andreas & Melani Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#19 of 57 in Limassol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Navarria Hotel
Navarria Hotel
#26 of 57 in Limassol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Arches Hotel

Property: Golden Arches Hotel
Address: Amathountos 116, P.O. Box 54104 | Agios Tychon, Limassol 3721, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Arches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Golden Arches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Arches Limassol
Hotel Golden Arches
Cyprus Golden Arches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing