We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, but take long trousers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant, but take long trousers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

This hotel is by far the most gorgeous and friendly place I have ever stayed. However my partner made the mistake of bringing no long trousers with him and evening attire in the hotel resteraunt is that men must wear long trousers, we had to take a trip to Debenhams in Limassol and buy some! We seen two more couples during our time on holiday who had this same problem, and even as we were leaving there was a couple just arriving complaining at the desk as he had only brung shorts with him. Apparently it states in the brochure for the hotel but ourselves and various couples we seen missed it, so don't make the same mistake gentlemen! lol. Now that rant is over, the hotel is beautiful, staff are very friendly, the rooms are cleaned to an excellent standard every day and the food is perfect! I excpected the entertainment to be quite boring too with it being a couples resort, but it really is good! I would also definitely recommend booking the all-inclusive option, it is very worth it and the local drinks are lovely! Plus the weather is gorgeous and we found ourselves getting lots of water and pop to drink through the day, we would of spent a fortune only going half-board. I will most definitely be visiting this hotel again and I have even persuaded my parents to go next year :)

p.s. The two huge pools are fresh-water pools and are always gorgeous and clean, and there is a very large jacuzzi which just adds to it all!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AmyNoble90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,320
    556
    175
    28
    26
See reviews for
133
1,688
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Spent last week there and it is as stated in all the reviews it was great, so nice to go somewhere with no children and nice quiet surroundings. Has a promenade that takes you all the way to the nearest town Yermasoyia where there are plenty of shops and places to eat. (The cafe next to Starbucks was very reasonably priced)
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite with sea view and the only niggle I had was that the lighting was very dim so hard to read a book! Oh and another thing the whirlpool on the balcony had a mind of its own and kept coming on and could not be turned off.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter but no view. Upgraded rooms you get tea and coffee
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flojo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

the atlantica bay hotel is a fantastic hotel the staff are so welcoming and hard working we have just returned from a 14 night stay and wow what a diffrence from 2 years ago rooms have been refurbished we went alinclusive which i recommend as drink prices are high, yes this hotel is out of town so to speak but hey thats my type of holiday peace and quite, but the entertainment team this time round isnt as good as when it was a gold status /its couples now they still have gala nights one called black & white and the other is fire & ice but what a most enjoyable evening..... there is a bit of building work going on around the hotel but no noise and the crane on the seafront has now gone food fantastic something for everyone thanks to all the team from atlantica bay for a most enjoyable holiday and maria is fantastic

Room Tip: supirior rooms have sea and pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank den59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

My hubby and eldest daughter (26) came out to stay for my nieces wedding. The reception was held in the gardens by the sea (sands bar). After the initial dissappointment of yet again not having a sea/pool view and yes there was constuction going on all around the outside of the hotel and no there was not much else around in the way of shops bars etc..and yes there was a main road to cross/go under to access the beach and yes the beach wasn't the prettiest i've been to BUT everything else about the hotel was fabulous. The rooms were spotless,the beds large and comfortable except the single bed in our room my daughter thought the mattress was a little too soft. The rooms were plenty big enough for all 3 of us.
The food was plentifull,sometimes too much too choose from, i don't think i had a single meal that wasn't little bits of everything on my plate to try even my daughter who is very fussy had plenty to choose from. We just about managed to get through the cocktail list and doubled up on our favourites lol, one tip sometimes they are a little strong so ask for weak one during the day!. All the staff from the cleaners, pool bar staff, waiters and waitress's were soooo friendly and helpfull nothing was ever too much trouble I must especially mention our favourite waitress's Bogi,Lorretta and the lovely Maria (and we know all your secrets Maria !!!) and the two boys poolside (sorry didn't catch their names)They made our stay even more enjoyable.
I would like to mention that i like to tip individuals for outstanding service given to me as it is nice to reward people for their hard work, however i know that any money given is pooled and shared out,i am in two minds as far as fairness goes, that said i have never given out so much in tips EVER (i'm a bit of a stig) so that shows the excellent level of service given by so many. The hotel should be really proud of their staff.
All in all a fantastic hotel if you are after a relaxing break to chill out and recharge batteries etc. Not somewhere to go if you want wall to wall nightclubs, bars and general rowdyness.
On a final note the wedding reception was a great success,food brill,and service 1st class we went to bed after 1am and the party was still going,as was the staff!
All of the above and no kids (sorry but i work in a school the rest of the year and need my peace and quiet)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Me and my family stayed at the hotel for one week and it was very enjoyable. The cleanliness and the very comfortable beds it was very relaxing. I was very surprised how the hotel looked so new with all the nice furniture throughout the hotel. The terrace was very comfortable i even slept there for two nights because it was so hot. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The entertainment was very enjoyable the only thing that me and my family wanted to see was some Greek entertainment and Greek food. There was activities going on at d pool in the afternoons its a great way to get everyone in the pool to cool down. The pool staff were very friendly and the drinks were very good. We even stayed in touch with few of the guys. I would like to go there again as it is Adults only very good to relax without kids running around. The food was good especially the Alarcarte restaurant the food was superb. Thank you Atlantic Bay

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanya1986_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

We've been to this hotel several times when it was under the banner of Thomson Gold. This year it's been changed to Thomson Couples, so what's changed?
The first obvious change this year is nothing to do with Thomson or Atlantica. Apparently, someone agreed to store a mountain of volatile explosive amunition next to the island's main power station and the obvious happened. The ammo blew up and took the power station with it! This means that the whole of Cyprus is on very reduced power supplies and consequently, there's hardly any air conditioning in the hotel. Bedrooms are better than public rooms, but the hotel got uncomfortably hot in August. Not the hotel's fault and they try their best with emergency generators and fans, but it's a long way from perfect.
Now, Couples vs Gold:
There are now NO children in the hotel or pool areas, but they are allowed in the Sands Beach area. The few in that area during our stay presented no problems at all.
Entertainment is not a lot different but it has lost that "Hi-de-Hi" feeling. No "Come and Join Us" for the daytime activities... It's there if you want it - take or leave it - EXCEPT for the water polo / volleyball which seemed to occupy the pool every afternoon for a loud raucus hour from 3pm. (Hardly the "Relaxed Atmosphere" and sophistication suggested in the "Couples" publicity.)
The evening prize giving / game show hour has gone! Evening entertainment is still dependant on imported British acts which is always a matter of personal taste. We found we liked/disliked in fairly equal proportions. But, there is now an alternative with the Sands Beach Bar open in the evening. Very peaceful and relaxing.
All inclusive (or at least drinks inclusive which can be arranged in the hotel) is a must as drinks are expensive and they've replaced their cocktail glasses with half sized affairs!
The hotel has had a big makeover and bedrooms are now excellent. Decor is modern, beds are very comfortable and there's a no-charge fridge in the room (well, there was in ours!) Public rooms haven't all been finished yet and the chairs in the main restaurant are desperate for replacement.
One of the two pools has had a "Wimbledon Centre Court" type sliding glass roof added which creates some unwanted shade and takes up a bit of sun terrace space, but I'm sure that in winter, it'll be great!
Food wasn't as good as I've known it, but again that's personal taste. Most people we spoke to raved about quality, quantity and choice of food on offer. Don't waste the opportunity to try the A La Carte restaurant. That's excellent! (and your all inclusive works in there for drinks.) There's a new "Stonegrill" restaurant which is outdoors in the heat and expensive. We didn't try it so can't comment.
Standard of service is still excellent! There's always a waiter/waitress asking if you need anything, whether in a bar, lounge or on a sunbed. Reception is friendly and helpful as are all customer facing staff. However, there's a new manager who doesn't seem to interact with the customers like his predecessor did. We saw him about but never saw him speak to a guest. He could at least have said "hello."
Our conclusion: "Couples" perhaps still finding it's own identity, but a step in the right direction for us. We thoroughly enjoyed and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young-fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBay, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

As a new Couples brand hotel, we have upgraded, renovated and added additional features to our hotel with couples in mind. The entertainment has taken a different approach than Gold by eliminating the prizes/game shows in the evening which has been a success as well as the “opt in” approach during the daytime. Based on our guest feedback, we have overall excellent reviews and scores. The Bay Lap pool (which is only covered and heated during the winter season) is an added feature for the winter traveler. As the roof and walls are glass, a guest can enjoy the comfort of an indoor pool with the benefit of feeling like they are outside. The Bay Lap pool is not covered in the summer season and with ample space for sun beds there is sunshine for all.

In reference to the tragic explosion, this was an unfortunate incident that affected the island as a whole. Backup generators were utilized for the comfort of our guests. It was an unfortunate unforeseen incident beyond our control and which since has been rectified.

Once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

One of the best all inclusive hotels we have been to. Clean modern rooms, freshly painted. All the little extras that make your holiday complete were provided in this hotel tea and coffee in room, beds and towels changed daily. Plenty of sundbeds and parasols, the staff we so polite and friendly. Even round the pool there was a constant supply of refreshments without even having to leave your sunbed, barstaff came round with water soft drinks or alcohol all day long.

The meals were always different lots of choice and piping hot, never any queues no matter what time you went for your meals.

Evening entertainment was also good and varied, would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#13 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Property: Atlantica Bay Hotel
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing