We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear - what's gone wrong!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Last year, this hotel was perfect, went twice and we couldnt wait to return. The hotel has since been refurbished and our sea view room was excellent, food still superb (although very poor service and luke warm main meal in the Al La carte restaurant).
However, from April this year, the hotel has gone from a Gold Hotel to a Couples hotel and all this appears to mean is very poor entertainment, very young, inexperianced entertainment reps, terrible in house resident band, often forgot words in the middle of singing - there was absolutely no atmosphere or rapport with the audience (they were pleased one night when there were 5 peple dancing!) Last year, you couldnt get on the dance floor! We met with many people who had been before - as well as those who hadnt and ALL, without exception, said how bad and amateurish the entertainment and band were. This hotel is in a terrible location and the standard and professionalism of the reps and acts are so important.
Also, regardless of being either a Gold or Couples hotel - people who have booked here do so to avoid families and children. However, the hotel seem to have a policy to allow the local Cypriot families to use the hotels garden and beach area. It is bearable during the week, just, but at the weekends, overun with children and babies. This is not acceptable and the hotel are certainly going to lose customers due to this. This also affected using the toilets as only two ladies in the Garden area and was overun again due to families and Baby changing.
We would have continued to return twice a year without fail if it was upto last years standards -Go back to the Gold standard of last year, get back Matt and Nicola and stop turning the Garden area into a family area. We would love to return but not if it remains the same as this year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBay, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Thank you for your comments.

The Atlantica Bay was the first hotel to launch the Gold product in 1998. Due to our success in delivering the product, we were selected as the first hotel to launch the Couples brand in Cyprus. This is a prestigious honor and we are diligently working in cooperation with Thomson to provide the best product since its launch in May 2011. As a Couples hotel, entertainment is provided with the adult in mind, therefore, the prize presentation, evening game shows etc. of Gold have been upgraded to a continuous professional program. We can appreciate some guests may be loyal to the Gold concept as entertainment is subject to each individual. We are confident however, that the overall end result of the Couples concept shall be a success.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,864 - 1,870 of 2,321 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Arriving at the hotel late evening, the reception was good, although no offer to take the baggage to our room was made. The room itself, sea view, was moderate in size, with average quality furnishings that are toward the end of their useful life, bedding and furniture etc. Bathroom quite poorly lit and could definitely be improved by modernising. Floor surfaces are tiled throughout, with no soft floor coverings.
First impressions were not particularly good for a four star plus hotel.
The bathroom hand basin still had dried toothpaste around the edge, and the bathroom door would not completely close.. This was reported and taken care of within half an hour.
We were late in arriving for dinner on the first night, and accepted the fact that the best had obviously been picked over.
Breakfast the following morning was OK, and we were able to eat outside on the terrace, as we were for all subsequent breakfasts and dinners. Food quality at breakfast was adequate, but exactly the same each day, which after 14 days, became tedious to say the least. Unfortunately poached eggs seemed to be a bridge too far, so were not available, and the fried eggs far too greasy for my taste.
Food quality for all meals was only pretty average, and from comments we observed from those visitors returning to the hotel, quality seemed to be on the decline. Quantity on the other hand was not an issue, so for the healthier appetite there was definitely no shortage.
Fresh vegetables were noticeable by their absense, and carrots came as spherical balls the size of marbles, and quite tasteless. Cyprus, I've always thought, is a land abundant in fresh fruit and veg but little is evident at the Atlantica Bay.
For those on half board, as we were, drinking water at dinner is available only to purchase at 2.6 euro per litre bottle, whereas supermarket prices are slightly less than that for 9 litres of bottled water. I realise that profits have to be made, but nine times supermarket prices, who also have to make a profit, is quite outrageous I think.
Also for those on half board terms, in room tea making facilities are an extra at 3.5 euros per day, and should you wish to use the safe, that is already a permanent fixture in the wardrobe, that also is extra at 3 euros per day.
Finally, regarding the food, I must comment on the a la carte restaurant, to which we received an invitation for one evening dinner, free!!
The menu looked good with a reasonable selection for the four courses on offer. Strangely there were no prices at all on the menu, and it seems that all visitors are invited for one meal per stay, in place of the regular self service dinner. The meal in general was disappointing, my filet steak was tender but almost fell apart, due I imagine to having been beaten to death prior to cooking. We were four at the table, my daughter and partner, who both had chicken as a main course. Their chicken was too dry and neither could manage to eat it. This was brought to the attention of the head waiter who expressed surprise and assured us that management would contact us in due course. No contact was made during the remainder of our stay.
The hotel brochure photographs shows the sea to be virtually just beyond the pool, and states that the hotel is located in peaceful surroundings. Not quite the case in fact. The sea is on the other side of a busy main road, and with a fair amount of building work going on, peaceful surrounings is not a description I would use.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank freddiesgrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBay, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2011

Thank you for your comments.

We are surprised to read your comments regarding the room furnishings as all guest rooms were renovated in February 2011 with a modern look. Aside from the furnishings, all rooms have been fitted with new bedding, lighting etc and king size beds as well regardless of room type.

We are also surprised to read your comments regarding the food as we have always had excellent comments regarding the quality and quantity of our menus. All buffets serve a variety of quality choices including our breakfast buffet which offers extensive variety including: cereals, choice of breakfast cakes/muffins, deli meats/cheese station, variety of fruits and yoghurts, hot buffet station as well as the made to order omelet station which also includes fresh fried eggs and crepes or waffles alternatively. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your Ala Carte meal as it has always been the highlight of our guests’ holiday. Our chef would have been more than happy to offer you an alternative meal if requested.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel last week in september.Staff very efficient and hotel very good.loved the beach and garden area with the terrace looking out to sea.visited Cyprus many times before and travelled most of it so knew area well hotel not in best location but if you wanted to see the real cyprus whats left of it you can hire a car easily.Wanted to change rooms midweek which was easily sorted out by Katya .food was good and loads of choice.would definatley stay here again for a chill out week.

Room Tip: second floor seaview above reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kathryn o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Travelled 28.9.11 - 5.10.11
Arrived at Atlantica Bay Hotel at 4.30pm and the rooms were ready immediately. Maria (PR) took us down to the ballroom for a refreshing drink and nibbles. She ran through where everything was in the hotel and gave out the key cards and welcome pack. Within the pack is the wristband for the All Inclusive (highly recommended as drinks are very expensive). Your passports are taken and returned on your departure.
My wife and I indicated on our booking that we were taking the break as it was our Silver Wedding Anniversary year and when we arrived at our room (406), a chilled bottle of Champagne was waiting for us with a fruit selection too together with a lovely card congratulating us on our Anniversary. This was a lovely surprise.
Lifts are tiny. If you are claustrophobic you may struggle. They suggest up to 6 people but truly 4 is the most you would need and this is very cosy.
There is a shop within the hotel Reception area where you can get cigs/daily paper/crisps etc.
The bedrooms are quite small but lovely and clean and the bed is huge! However, there is a mattress protector on the bed under the bottom sheet and this was a most unusual feeling when settling down for the night and it did make you very warm. Good air-conditioning but a bit on the noisy side. A small balcony with 2 chairs and a table are adequate but as you don't spend long in your room/balcony no real complaints. Tea/coffee making facilities in the room for the All Inclusive.
The food is brilliant. Lots of choice and if you can't find anything to eat at every mealtime, then you must be extremely fussy.
I have to give a special mention to the bar staff. Especially Loretta and Gloria. These are 2 of the most amazing young ladies you ever wish to meet. So genuine and truly sad to say goodbye to them.
Pool area is good and although the pool water was very cold it is kept lovely and clean and the sunbeds are plentiful. Bar staff wonder around all day seeing if your drinks need replenishing and they truly give service with a smile.
There is entertainment laid on every night on the outside terrace by the pool, however, we stayed on the top veranda as you could still hear the singers etc but could relax on the top patio area out of the melly.
Overall we had a fantastic stay. Brilliant service, lovely food and entertainment every night if you wanted it. No children are allowed at the hotel and if you want a total chill-out holiday with as much food and drink as you wish, then this is the hotel for you. You would definitely need a car if you wish to see the island of Cyprus as the Atlantica Bay is not close to anything. The hotel is situated on a very busy road and there is building work going on around the hotel area but this didn't cause too much distraction.
One other thing to mention is that if you are looking for a white sandy beach you will be disappointed. The beach is really nothing to write home about and the sand is very dark and not very inviting.
Would we return? Yes we would.

Room Tip: Pool/Sea View rooms recommended as the rear of the hotel is where the building work is. Also, choos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MACKIENICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We first visited Atlantica Bay about five years ago when it was
at the peak of it,s excellence with a reputation as a very select
and relaxed hotel. At that time Thomson classed it as a Gold
hotel and there were masses of regular repeater Guests, mainly
well-to-do in their fifties and sixties, falling over themselves to
book in with Thomson,s and direct with the Hotel. Booking in for Christmas twelve months in advance was the order of the
day to ensure getting in.

Unfortunately, we now find that it has been ruined by the
continuous excessive noise level of all sorts from early morning
until the last thing at night. Literally there was no time or place
where we could relax peacefully without having our ear drums
hammered by an incessant NOISE. It was virtually impossible to
have a quiet conversation with any of the people we met.

The Guests are quick to put the blame on:-

(a) The main road traffic immediately in front of the hotel.

(b) The motorway noise from behind the hotel.

(c) The building works directly opposite.

We have to agree with them, but however, the hotel is definitely
responsible for it,s own noise. Outside , in the early morning,
mowing the grass, followed by builders or mainteance power
tools going on all day.

The main noise problem is inside !! In the reception and dining
room areas. C D,s which are supposedly intended to be a
pleasant musical background, far from it !! Always vocals, badly
selected by someone who is so obviously a musical moron and
played at high volume. The Management should be sent on a
Musak course to learn exactly what is meant by the phrase
" Background music ". Failing this they should expect the arrival
of an anti-noise polution extermination squad !!

Instead of us being able to enjoy our leisurely evening meal in the
dining room, we found ourselves rushing to make our escape
from the ear battering repetitive percussion interspaced with
agonising vocal screams.

In the evenings we found the Thomson Couples cheap entertainment was far below the old gold standard and again,
turn it down !!.






















































well-to-do

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SolihullBubbbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Atlantica Bay Hotel, and we had a really lovely time. The hotel is gorgeous. We booked a sea view, and had the good fortune of having a room - (401) - which was on the fourth floor, but in the corner of the hotel, which meant that we had two balconies. One faced the sea, and the other faced up towards Limassol. We have never had two balconies before! We couldn't fault the room, the facilities or the food. It was my birthday when we were there and the hotel left a bottle of Proscecco and fruit in the room in the afternoon, with a little card wishing me a Happy Birthday, which was lovely. They must have picked up the fact from our passports! Lisa, Charlotte and Susie and Lee were very good entertainers, in the evening and during the day. We took part in the quiz every afternoon at 4pm, and other activities, such as wine tasting, jewellery making, and cocktail making - all very good. It wasn't "in your face" entertainment, but there if you wanted to take part. The food was lovely, with a good choice for breakfast and evening meal (we were Half Board). We didn't up grade to the "All Inclusive" drinks package as we felt we wouldn't drink enough to make it worthwhile. We always stock up at the supermarket for our late afternoon drinks...! We were slightly disappointed that there was no kettle or tea and coffee facilities in the room, and that this was another "drinks package" you had to pay for. I would warn that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere, so unless you hire a car there isn't anywhere to go. The bus service is very good though - 2 Euros per person for an all day pass. We would love to return to this hotel as we had a really lovely holiday. Thank you Atlantica Bay.!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room, or upgrade to one that has private jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jw547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife and I stayed 1 week at the end of September 2011. The Hotel has been refurbished to a high standard. Food, staff, grounds etc. are excellent and what the Hotel lacks in outright location, it more than makes up for in service..

The beach/Beach Bar is easily located via an underground tunnel to save crossing the road. Plenty of friendly staff both here and at the poolside to bring your drinks etc..

2 Euro, all day bus ticket, takes you to Limassol for shops and bars, or the Marina.

Mr Kyriacos runs a quietly efficient organisation, and he can often be seen walking around checking everything is working well.

We would go back - that says it all.

Room Tip: Always go 'all inclusive'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scotty15647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,476 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing