We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to Cyprus”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just returned from a week’s break at the Atlantica Bay Hotel in Limassol, Cyprus. This was the first visit to Cyprus for my wife and I and whilst some negative points below, don’t let these put you off going as I am sure we will return to the island again in the future.
The hotel itself, which is situated in the Amathus Bay area, was very good and more on that later, however, the location was not the best as it seemed to be stuck out on a limb, although in all fairness, this is explained in the description given on the Thompson website – just have to read them more carefully in the future.
I was disappointed with the poor condition of the beaches and walkways within the Amathus Bay resort as this was not what I expected, Cyprus to me conjures up images of clean golden sandy beaches and this is not what I saw, the sand is dark and although it was nearing the end of the season I was very disappointed with the poor condition of the public beaches, there was little evidence that they had been cleaned on a regular basis or at all during the period we were there, however, on the private beaches outside of the Meridian and Four Seasons hotels etc the beaches were still being cleaned daily for the visitors.
The hotel in itself was very clean, well maintained and welcoming for guests with all staff working very hard yet still being very pleasant all of the time. The food was very nice and always a fair amount of choice and the meats were cooked to perfection, the beef just seemed to melt in the mouth and whilst I did not partake in the deserts, they always looked fresh, well presented and colourful. Breakfasts consisted of all the usual food such as Bacon, Eggs, Sausages, Beans etc and even fried bread which was delicious and for those who did not fancy inviting a coronary, there was the usual healthy options choice. I really could not fault the food in this hotel.
The entertainment in the hotel left a great deal to be desired apart from 2 good performances, 1 from a lady (Stevie) who had a brilliant voice and the other a Welsh guy who mixed comedy with singing and who was really entertaining, the rest of it was mediocre and although I do not wish to come across like ‘Simon Cowell’ the resident duo ‘ Domino’ were on too many times and their performances were ‘Cruise ship’ style and repetitive and although it was nearing the end of the season, I think that more thought should have been put into the entertainment.
The sun sets are something else and it is worth going down to the area of the hotel which is situated just on the beach, bagging yourself a lounger and watching the sun go down over the Old Port area, wonderful!
This was a Thompson, All Inclusive Adult Couples Hotel with the great percentage of people in the hotel being British, there was a mixture of ages which worked well as it was not like a Thompson ‘Gold’ hotel which, in my opinion, can sometimes seem like a residential home on the other hand, neither did it have the boisterousness which can be found in hotels aimed at the younger clientele, all in all a nice holiday, lovely people, a good hotel but the surrounding areas could do with some TLC, however, I am sure it will all be so different during their main season when the beaches are full of holiday makers and are maintained daily.

If eating out try Chesters Bar which is located up the road from the hotel opposite the St Rafael hotel (turn left out of the hotel and walk up the road, or better still walk up the beach and cut through at the St Rafael) whilst we did not eat there, as we were All Inclusive, we called in a few times for a drink and the food which was being served always looked lovely with huge portions and the place was always busy with what looked like locals.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SEEKAY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,292 - 1,298 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Have just returned from a week at this lovely hotel. Great room, great view, great food and service but the only downside, and a very big one that detracted greatly from my wife's enjoyment of the holiday, is that the air conditioning wasn't on. As a result she slept badly and isn't as refreshed as she should be after a holiday. Would we return to The Atlantica Bay? We would like to but given the issue with the air conditioning would be somewhat reluctant knowing that whether it is operating or not is simply down to the Managers discretion (sorry but not good enough for a 4 star hotel).

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We have had a fortnight at the Atlantica Bay hotel. Where this hotel might be lovely in the season, in November it is all running down, entertainment, food etc. We have had temperatures of high 20s and remaining in the 20 during the night. Apparently the air con gets turned off on 1st November and after repeated requests, were told that it couldnt be turned back on. If we found it too hot during the night we should open the door. The problem is the hotel is on a busy main road and the traffic noise makes it impossible to sleep with the door open. We also feel that the second week of our holiday, the food was not as good. Very repetative.I therefore do not agree that the hotel is worth the 4+ rating Thomson gives it After asking to speak with the PR person we and two others felt very despondant as she really didnt want to listen to our problems.. The prices in the brochure give the hotel as being open till the end of the year, when in fact it closes on 27 November.Will not be returning to Atlantica Bay

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank peterpanExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Arrived after midnight and were given a filled roll and a drink. Then up to our superior room where our cases were waiting for us. Wine and fruit in the room as well as beach towels, robes and slippers. Lovely room with Jacuzzi bath and huge comfy bed. Great view from the balcony too.
We are beach people so went over the road to the beach and did not sit by the pool at all. Swam in the sea from the gently shelving beach - just a few stones as you enter the water. The beach bar and restaurant were great, with drinks brought to the beds and lunch made to order. Sadly it closed 2 days before we left but we still went to the beach.
The restaurant is nice although some of the tables are very close together. We had breakfast outside every day. The breakfast choice was very good and you could have a delicious omelette cooked to order. We had lunch here the last 2 days and were pleasantly surprised at the choice on offer. Dinner was ok but we did struggle to find something we liked one night.
House red and sparkling wines were very nice and cocktails tasted nice but were not very strong. They also seem to put a huge amount of ice in drinks so we had to ask for less.
Most of the staff were friendly but service in the evening could be sporadic. No service or 3 at once! We sat outside on the lobby terrace as the entertainment did not appeal to us and seemed a bit samey. Evie on the piano however was very good.
The road was very audible from the balcony and other areas at times, although we found it easy to cross.
Another negative was that the sunbeds were not at all comfortable. No padding and badly designed. If I fell asleep I could barely move when I woke up - not very relaxing.
All in all we had a good holiday and would probably come again some time but the worst thing was arriving at Paphos Airport to find the Thomson queue outside the door. Our coach got there quite late and we were in the check-in queue for an hour and after security we only had time to use the loo before boarding the plane. A total fiasco - shame on you Thomsons!

Room Tip: Superior room 351 was pretty perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank melharb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBay, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Just returned from our 19 th visit to the Bay and as usual we had a brilliant time.This was our second visit of the year and our first in winter season(except for christmas visit).We were aware that the Taverna and Beach bar would be closed but what do people expect when there are only around 150 guests.As usual the service provided by the smiling exceptional staff made our holiday.I am a little supprised by the occasional negative comments on trip advisor comparing this hotel to the Atlantica Imperiall in Rhodes.We have visited both and we choose to come back to the Bay(location not as good and obviously much older)as the effort to make everyones stay as good as possible is evident from the moment you arrive and there is usually a considerable difference in the price.One recent coment regarding noisey guests who only come for the all inclusive bar is hillarious,the Bay is the most refined hotels that we have come across and we can only presume that the author of these comments has never been to the Carribean and had to put up with very loud American guests completely out of it by 11 AM.
Entertainement is low key but the Thomson hosts were excellent and Matt the rep was his usual friendly efficient self .Despite the low guest numbers food quality remained excellent and the A la Carte was superb.We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisb013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBay, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and appreciate your comments regarding our staff and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you once again for your 21st visit.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 weeks here at beginning of October. Hotel spotless. We had a superior room on 4th floor and overlooked the pool and sea. Was a beautiful room. Staff were first class - all of them - waiters remembered our room number after one time being told! Also remembered our preferred drinks! Food was lovely although for hotel such as this I rink they should have had more show cooking on menu and also salad area was a bit repetitive with little changing. However that is a really minor point as everything was delicious. Thomson reps were first class and the entertainment was very good - only one comedian during our time there was c***! Not bad in a fortnight! Would definitely go back. Limassol is 9 miles but bus runs every 15 mins from outside hotel. We actually walked along the promenade beach walk one say right into centre!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DKSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel is north of the main coast road so there is constant road noise 24/7. Assumed that it wouldn't be a problem at night but just how wrong can one be - due to lack of a/c in the rooms (switched off on 1st November) it is impossible to get the room cool enough to sleep comfortably at night without opening the balcony doors and instead get a cacophony of road noise. Holidays are about relaxing 24/7 but when you can hardly sleep - some holiday.
We upgraded to a superior room and where initially allocated room 354. I would call this an inferior room. The bathroom is long and narrow and only has a shower which is close to the loo you need to climb over it to get in the tiny shower (no bath) - it is not possible to sit on the loo as you would expect! Also room is small and doesn't actually have any drawer space. Needless to say we demanded a change of room the next day. Room 341 was as I would expect but is it worth the 25 euro upgrade - NO. They come with an espresso machine but i couldn't believe it when they give you just two coffee capsules (total not per day) and you have to pay 1.5 Euro for any more. There was no music centre in the room as per room description.
It has its own beach but the beach bar and restaurant were closed for the duration - so back to the hotel for a drink
If you don't go all inclusive, there isn't anywhere local to get lunch. All inclusive of course meant that there were those that had come just for the drink, loud and noisy were in evidence.
Otherwise rooms were kept clean, food was plentiful and adequate and the a la carte restaurant fabulous.
Would we come back to this hotel - not a chance!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Alec T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBay, General Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your comments.

We appreciate all of our guests’ comments in order to continue to provide the best services for our holiday makers. However, we would like to clarify certain points that are not accurately described.

All of our superior rooms are similar in size and all are equipped with the same amount of storage space and extra draw space. The shower in room 354 is not a simple shower; but a deluxe shower jet cabin. The deluxe shower jet cabin is fitted with a rain shower and 8 shower jets offering a spa experience when showering. As stated in the Thomson brochures and websites, all rooms are equipped with a plasma TV that has music channels. The description does not refer to any music center as per your comments.

As clearly stated in the brochures and websites, the Sands Beach Bar & Tavern is open May – October (summer season only).

Furthermore, directly opposite our hotel is a restaurant and 10-15 minutes walking distance to the left of the hotel are 10 restaurants. Therefore, plenty of choice for someone who wishes to dine outside of the hotel.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
971 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,475 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing