We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let down in Limassol” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantica Bay Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Let down in Limassol”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2008

I travelled to this hotel with my Husband, staying for 2 weeks on an all inclusive basis, having previously stayed here in 2000. We had a fantastic holiday first time round, so were looking forward to returning.
What a disappointment. 8 years have not been kind to this hotel and although many of the communal areas have been refurbished we felt that overall the hotel was 'tired'. Upon check-in we went to our room, which was on the ground floor, overlooking the car park. So straight back to reception, who dealt with our complaint very well and immediately moved us to a room on the 3rd floor of the hotel. The room itself was adequate: large bed, fridge & hairdryer & decent balcony with limited sea view. The curtain linings were hanging from the rail at both corners and the bed had a plain cover over the duvet, which was ripped on the inside, my leg going through the rip almost every night until the sheets were changed.
Day 2 of our holiday we spent by the pool, no problems there - the pools are well maintained & plenty of loungers, though many are reserved early morning but with no occupants until after lunch which we felt quite unfair. There were hawkers around the pool daily (claiming to be deaf & dumb) which we felt quite annoyed about considering we were by the pool in what was meant to be a private facility. Although we were not obliged to buy anything, we didn't feel the hotel should allow this.
Upon returning to our room, we found it had not been cleaned; the bed was unmade and we had no fresh towels, although someone had been in the room to leave a bottle of wine and a bowl of fruit to say 'welcome back to the hotel'. This was a nice gesture, but attention to detail was lacking as most of the fruit was past its best! I contacted reception to ask why our room had not been cleaned and was advised we should leave the 'please clean my room' sign outside the door if we wished the room to be cleaned. I informed them that we had done this, but surely all rooms should be cleaned daily unless otherwise instructed? I was informed that someone would be along shortly, and within 20 minutes the maids came to clean the room. Cleaning is a term I would use loosely, the carpet in our room only saw a vacuum once during our stay (various items of debris confirmed this!). We were also joined by the mother of all cockroaches for one night!
The restaurant was one of the areas recently refurbished, and looked very nice, with the option of indoor/outdoor dining. All meals were buffet style (with an option for a la carte dining once per stay). Breakfast consisted of the usual bacon, eggs, cereal etc with coffee from a machine & a choice of juices. Many mornings we struggled to find a clean glass for juice. There were plently of glasses, but all coated in a grey film, or with lip/fingermarks. Similarly, cutlery & crockery were often hit & miss with cleanliness. Not what you would expect from a hotel with 'Gold' status. Lunch & dinner again had plenty of choice but we found pork was favoured daily in one form or another. By week 2 the menu was a little repetitive.
The staff were all very friendly, and we could not fault the service of the bar staff who wandered around the pool/bar areas day & night taking drink orders. We would recommend the all inclusive option as drinks were very expensive. Again though we had problems with dirty glasses, many with lipstick marks around the rims.
The hotel is advertised in the UK as 'couples only' although they advise there may be children at the hotel from other tour operators. There were quite a few children there during our stay, though they were well behaved - none of the bombing in the pool which you normally get at family based resorts, but we did hear some other guests complaining that children should not be allowed full stop, which seemed a little harsh. We did feel perhaps the brochure should not advertise the hotel as 'couples only' if there is a possibility of child bookings.
The hotel is quite secluded, and Limassol itself doesn't have much to offer. We knew this from our last visit and since our trip was purely for R&R it wasn't an issue but is something to consider if you don't like being tied to the hotel every day.
We had a very relaxing 2 weeks at this hotel, but knowing what we know now we would not have returned to this hotel and a week would have been long enough.

  • Liked — Daytime activities
  • Disliked — standards of cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank packamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,291
    552
    171
    28
    25
See reviews for
128
1,659
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (755)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North West
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

Atlantica Bay

As a long time reader of trip advisor it’s only recently we decided to provide reviews of our experiences and so this one is back dated a few months

Our stay was November 2007
.
The only down side to our trip was the pool is not heated and late in the season that means the water is cold and once your in you don’t get used to it you just go numb.

The Hotel is a little out of the way however there is a regular bus service stops right outside to take you into the town or you hire a car

The staff are excellent and take time to make you feel welcome.

The restaurant has to have one of the best buffet meals we have experienced for quality and choice.
The restaurant is split in 2 with the A- La Carte section just behind the main buffet, although I normally prefer waiter service this is the first hotel I actually prefer the buffet (nothing wrong with the A-La Carte).

It is definitely worth upgrading to the all-inclusive when you order wine with your meal they open a fresh bottle and leave it on the table, no chasing the waiter’s attention for a top up like many all- inclusives

The hotel has its own beach area with bar across the main road which you can access via a tunnel so you don’t have to cross the road.

It’s not good for kids, although it’s supposed to be adults only that only applies to British holiday operators and therefore you get a few kids from other countries or direct bookings with the Hotel from other British guest as there are many return guests because this place is nice

Once a week the manager holds a cocktail reception to meet all the management team which is nice and allows the ladies to dress up that little bit extra special in the evening

Entertainment is normally some type of singer down stairs in the main lounge or upstairs in the lobby area it becomes a quiet piano bar atmosphere

One thing to note the all-inclusive drinks stop promptly at midnight after which you need to purchase drinks

We would recommend this to those still young in heart and mind but not for those in their teens, 20’s or early 30’s.

The only thing preventing us from returning regularly which as I said many guests do is the fact there are so many other places to see.

In summary if you’re booked here you will enjoy the food at the very least.

  • Liked — Staff and food
  • Disliked — No issues to report
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travller-n-Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

We have just come back from a wonderful two week stay at the atlantica bay hotel. yes the hotel is a little out of town Its aprrox 30 min on the bus into town . The bus has a flat charge of 1.50 euro each way and runs approx every 15 mins.
we had a superior seaview room which was fairly spacious and the view over looked the pool as well as the sea. The bed was a sk not a double as quoted in the brochure and is a firm tension.
the balcony is small but has 2 chairs and a table on it .
The air con is adjustable in the room but never went below 22.5c which is cool compared to the heat outside.
The reception i found very helpful esp katia , but the exchange rate here wasnt very good best to pop into town.
I would recommend the all inclusive option . you can drink more or less what you want ie milk shakes , bottles of water ,cokes , beer , cocktails , even bottles of wine .you can also eat at the beach bar from 2.30 -5.00 that do snacks like pizza and toasted sandwiches. if you go all inc you are allowed to eat in the al a cart resturant once during your stay.
you can puchase just a drinks option or the all inc when you arrive at the hotel either is very good value as a pint for example cost approx 3.0 euro and cocktail was apprx 3.5 euro
To get the beach you have to cross a quiet road , but their is an under pass if needed.
As I said right at the begining the service here is excellent, the waitress work extremely hard to make sure your never thirsty !!
esp Katolina who made sure i had a pint of beer when ever it was needed :-)
on the down side the evening entertainment wasnt in my option the usual gold standard but that may just be me .
You will be charged aprox 2.56 euro per day for a safe and about the same if you want to use the fridge.
in summing up I just cant wait until i visit this hotel again
if you have any questions please dont hesistate to contact me.
have a good holiday

  • Liked — the quality of the funiture and the cd player
  • Disliked — paying to use the safe
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

superb holiday highly reccomended to couples maria the hotel pr was really helpfull even got a bottle of bubbly on my birthday food great staff wonderfull will be going back in november cant wait

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — nothing
Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank george041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East london/Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2008

The hotel is stunning, and the management are kind and helpful, they are always on hand and are so genuine.

We went with thompsons who were also great, they provided entertainment during the day, and the entertainment at night was good too, (but more tailored to older travelers).

The buffet food was good, and the restaurant (which is not all inclusive), was excellent, amazing food!!

The rooms are quite large, and very clean, and the pool looks wonderful lit up at night. The pool itself is very nice, and with drinks always on hand. (Keo beer is very good).

Cyprus is a great place to visit, with its history and culture. We went on two tours, a wine tasting tour which also mixes with the history of the island, and a tour to the monestry in the mountain. Both trips were well run, and are worth going on.

The location of the hotel itself is not too good, as there is nothing outside except the sea which looks dangerous to go in due to the small sharp rocks and the sudden deepness. However, as we went for a week there was enough to keep us occupied.

  • Liked — Management
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at this gorgeous hotel.
Excellent services, waiters/waitresses very polite and helpful.
Entertainment good. Food excellent, a la carte out of this world.
Would most definitely go back again. Are Mark & Jane still in the 'Love Shack?' (worth a visit).

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank hcaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

I have just got back 3rd July from spending 2 of the best week on holiday! The staff are so friendly, the food was really good and the best thing was no children!
the highlight for us was the cocktail demonstration, have not laughed so much or consummed so much alcohol in a short space of time! Maria the PR lady was so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Mothing was too much trouble. The entertainment only went onto about 11.50 so was never too noisey. The only improvment i could make is that the entertainment for people who are there for 2 weeks could be varied more, but a small price to pay for such a fantactic holiday!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hammers_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#1 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#6 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#12 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Property: Atlantica Bay Hotel
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#7 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing