We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent adult holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have just spent an 11 day holiday with my partner at the Atlantica Bay (june-july 2014 ). We arrived at midnight to be met by a snack & a drink. The hotel is across the road from the beach which can be reached via an underpass, which also leads to the sands beach bar. The room was north facing so no sun, we asked for a change & got a westerly facing room with a side sea view. We took the all inclusive option so all meals & local drinks ( ex quality ) included. The food was excellent with a good choice & the restaurant service was 2nd to non. There was also waiter service around the pool & again the staff were excellent. The entertainment was good by holiday standards with something different each night, Caz Davies who organised it was outstanding, bubbly & never stopped.There are 2 pools both of which were lovely & warm it we never had a problem getting a lounger. There is an a-la-carte restaurant which guest have 1 visit included, this is a MUST, service, food & atmosphere outstanding. The Sands beach bar is also for use by guests & we took lunch there on several occasions. All staff spoke very good english & travel adaptors are not needed, uk plugs.The terrace bar is great for a nightcap, cool & relaxed & again with waiter service. We took the trip to Famagusta which means crossing over to the Turkish side, held up at border for around 30 mins but no big deal. Visit the new marina at Limassol, will be the place to be seen in the future. All in all an outstanding holiday, value for money & a great relaxing break.

Room Tip: If you like the sun choose a westerly facing room, sea view rooms get a great view of the sea but su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 2,322 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This holiday exceeded both of our expectations. The hotel was excellent in every way, lovely rooms, very attentive staff who were exceptional, not pushy or false in any way, great facilities, many named brands included in the allinclusive option, never a shortage of sun beds, bus to Limassol every 15 mins from front of hotel when you can drag yourself away.

Room Tip: Ask for 2 ne floor upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank montz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 11 days here in June and our review was posted a week ago under the heading "Simply the best" from my wife's sign on Tina29Redditch. I would not normally comment on other reviews - hey everyone is entitled to their opinion. But the review submitted by Marcopolo is such a travesty that I wonder if he went to the same hotel. The comments on the restaurant and lobby bar staff are so far removed from our observations. We encountered nothing but prompt, efficient and courteous service consistently. As for the food it was by far and away the best we have had in such a hotel. We were spoilt for choice and presentation/quality was superb. I would hate to think that any would be booker of this hotel would be put off by this review and I urge all to read the other reviews that are overwhelmingly positive. Incidentally we go back in April 2015

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank johnjm_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just returned from a two week stay at Atlantica Bay and had a wonderful holiday.
The hotel is clean, hotel rooms are very comfortable, food and beverages of a high standard and all hotel staff efficient, friendly and helpful.
My husband and I have been going to this Hotel since 2002 and 4 years ago it changed from a Thomson Gold to a Thomson Couples resort. We appreciate that Thomson Couples resorts are designed for relaxation and low key entertainment, however, in our opinion Thomson have got this wrong and should be providing evening entertainment to the same calibre as Thomson Gold resorts.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 979Annonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

just back from our 19th holiday at this hotel and all we can say is that it has gone considerably down hill since changing from gold to couples especially the entertainment or lack of .the one entertainment rep did her best poor lass The food in the restaurant was very good The drinks in the bar we found were very weak but staff in both restaurant and bar were wonderfull and friendly The pool area around the main pool was very crowded especially on the grass also we found sometimes not very clean with straws bottle tops ect there from one day to the next . In some area after they watered the grass was very muddy and the grass in places very sparse .The rooms in the hotel are still very clean and tidy . Over all we still had a good holiday in a very good hotel We feel it was better as gold '

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kenneth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We enjoyed a very restful holiday here in June. Arrived to be met by a drink and cool towel in the Show Lounge and individually checked in whilst enjoying that drink. Completed very quickly and then found luggaege had been taken ot our room, where we were greeted by a bottle of wine and bowl of fruit, sometimes these little things matter. Room spacious,229, quiet even though it was just over the terrace, and lovely and cool.
Poolside was warm and inviting, the Thomson Rep more than enthusiastic to get people to enjoy their stay, with water activities and poolside sport and cocktail making.
Restaurant was clean and inviting and staff very attentive.
Likewise the Pool Bar staff were brilliant, thoroughly engaging with the guests and ensuring that glasses were refilled when needed.
Louge Bar quiet and drinks ok, staff a little overstretched some days and could use a little guidance from the Bar Manager to push themselves and not miss some guests.
Checkout, equally well handled and very pleaesed to receive a bottle of water for the journey to the airport.
Downside, the food was a little limited and although trays were kept full and hot, the items there just didn't match up to create a meal. Carved Roast Meat and only chips or rice to go with it and very limited vegetables, normally cooked in butter as an example. And whoever thought that Pasta cooking would be classed as Showcase cooking, will please a lot of students. There was also an issue with the Red wine in the Restaurant. Wherever they store it is far too hot, you could almost singe your fingers on the bottle, room temperature maybe, but make the room not a sauna.
Finally that old issue of Sun Loungers reared its head, with all poolside loungers with towels on by 0600, fortunately there were others available on the grass or down by the Sand Tavern.
All told a thoroughly enjoyable holiday only spoiled by a couple of easily rectified issues. Would still return though.

Room Tip: Sea view and upper floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Just back from eleven nights at this hotel, had a peaceful, restful holiday but this place could be so much better!
Travelled with Thomson, both reps good at the hotel.
Hotel: we upgraded to a superior room but upon arrival at midnight found that the air conditioning wasn't working, the last thing we needed after travelling, the Manager advised us to sleep with the doors open, but this wasn't likely to offer any relief from the heat, eventually after three calls he checked the fuse board and found that the circuit had tripped out, no more problems after that.
I'm not sure what we got for our room upgrade, other than a Sea view, we had to pay another 30 Euros to activate the room safe which I would have expected would have been included in the price of the upgrade, it certainly has been at all the other decent all inclusive hotels that we have stayed at. The room (429) was modern with a nice bathroom but superior?
The lobby bar was atrocious, the bar manger, a miserable man with a thin moustache did his very best to bully and berate the staff which lead to a truly miserable bunch of waiters who were all obviously hacked off. The quality of the spirits is desperately bad and really lets the place down.
On a really positive note the service at the Pool Bar was excellent, Maria, Gregory, Gabriel all good but the service from Paul and Ionut (Johnny) deserves special mention, it was fantastic, both attentive, friendly and engaging and made our days around the pool bearable in the heat.
The evening entertainment was very poor, lacked any culture and was loud and brash, what Burlesque has to do with Cyprus bewilders me? Even the Restaurant Manager got up and did a stint singing, it was all very karaoke standard stuff.
The Restaurant was the biggest disappointment after the reviews I read on here, plenty of quantity but no quality, dry overcooked meat, many dishes were over salted and dried up, frozen vegetables.
Only Michaella could be described as friendly, she was very nice, the rest were rude, arrogant and unfriendly, drinks were not poured but just plonked on the table, no service at all! Plates were often not cleared between courses.
The hotel is very isolated, the local beach is terrible, if you walk away from the resort there is builders waste dumped all over the place, without doubt the worst location we have ever visited,
The local archaeological site at Amathus is the only saving grace.
So in summary, it's all inclusive, served up on the cheap, with poor service generally, in a very poor location.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must the other rooms have a poor outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Marcopolo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#12 of 56 in Limassol
1,476 reviews
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing