We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent all round, great entertainment”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We have recently returned from our stay at "The Bay". We have two daughters aged 21 & 17 who also thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We made some good friends and certainly found this hotel to be very welcoming and friendly. The reception staff were great, the Thomson entertainment team were fantastic, Nicola and Matt were always available for making our holiday a fun and memorable one. They teamed up on occasions with the resident act which was the best we have had laid on by a hotel. Jinx sang a range of songs varying from country to 70's 80's and some up to date numbers including Michael buble. There was then a disco until Midnight and although It was exceptionaly hot and humid in August the Nicola/Matt andthe resident act "Jinx" were absolutely fabulous. They must have been sweltering in the humidity and still managed to give an outstanding performance. There were games around the pool during the day, if you wanted to join in - but the entertainment team were not pushy. The restaurant staff were attentive and friendly, the bar staff were happy & obliging especially Richard who remembered our rooms and drinks every night. Water was included all day & night - sometimes rare in an all inclusive. We had waiter/waitress service around the pool-not needing to move from the suunbeds of which there were plenty. Definitely no need to put a towel on your bed early plenty available after breakfast. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank honestyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,294)
There are newer reviews for Atlantica Bay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,971 - 1,977 of 2,294 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

The Evening entertainment at the Atlantica Bay.

Is fantastic there was something for everyone. The resident duo, Jinx are brilliant, they do a fantastic job. They get the Audience to join in, and get involved. Kellie sang a carpenters song while i was there, and it was brilliant, fantastic. Jinx have been at the hotel ...for many years, and are brilliant one of the best entertainment duo's i have seen.

They are friendly and approachable if there are any requests that you require. Jinx are the best, they play a little of everything, from pop, to country and western, they get a linedance going which is brilliant., everyone has a great time. You can't fault them at all.
Keep up the good work, look forward to seeing you both again soon

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sueanne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

I visited the Atlantica Bay hotel with my family at the beginning of August. My sister (aged 17) and I (aged 21) were a little concerned about staying at a Thomson gold hotel as we thought we may get bored and didn’t expect there to be anyone there our age.
WE COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE WRONG! From the minute we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome by the hotel staff- all welcomed us with a smile and were extremely friendly. Our rooms were reasonably sized and maintained to a very good standard. The view from our balcony was beautiful, yes there is building work going on, but I didn’t feel it affected the beauty of the area surrounding the hotel. There is always going to be building work so that exceptional standards can be maintained. Also, I did not notice the building work atall throughout the day.
The hotel staff were always happy to assist you in any way, especially the guest relations manager, Maria, who made the effort to introduce herself and get to know her guests.
The factor that made this hotel stand out from any other I have stayed at was the constant OUTSTANDING entertainment provided by the Thomson gold team. The entertainment began with daily activities led by Nicola and Matt. Both were two of the most hardworking people I have ever met. They always were so enthusiastic and encouraging. Normally my sister and I spend the whole holiday glued to our sunbeds. However, thanks to Matt and Nicola we found ourselves getting involved with many of the activities. I was also surprised at how friendly the other guests were and we have definitely made some great friends. The outstanding entertainment continues into the evening- with great audience participation and the fantastic Thomson gold touring performers. Another two hardworking and extremely talented duo are the exceptionally entertaining singers; Kellie and Andy ( AKA-Jinkz). Hotel entertainment is something I never expect to be fantastic but I could listen to these two sing for hours! Not only are they extremely talented singers but they keep the audience hooked in-between songs with a little giggle from Kellie and are always encouraging people to get up and dance along with them. It was also lovely to get to know both Matt and Nicola and Kellie and Andy after the performances. They take time to speak to the guests on a personal level aswell as a professional level. I thought this was lovely as this wasn’t something I have experienced before.
I had such a lovely time at this hotel that I returned later on in August with my friend (also aged 21). We again were EXTREMELY pleased with both the hotel staff and the Thomson gold entertainment team. We made some great friends with both fellow guests and staff. We again were encouraged to get involved with the daily activities and evening entertainment. The gala night was something that really stood out both times I visited the hotel. Exceptional food and entertainment provided on gala night. The new show- Thomson’s got talent was outstanding! Nicola, Matt, Kellie and Andy are so talented and the Atlantica bay should feel very lucky to have them working there! I would happily pay good money to watch their show again!

Overall, this hotel is by far THE BEST I HAVE EVER STAYED AT. It provided first class entertainment and customer service. I am really hoping to return for New Year!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraSterne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

As soon as we arrived Peter the Porter took our cases and from then on we did not have to lift a finger, the food was great, even Porridge oats for Breakfast. Thanks to Ioannis as he made our a' la carte meal seem really special. Special mention for Zhana and all the waiters for the excellent service provided especially by the poolside and in the evenings. The Resident Thomson entertainment Duo of matt and Nicola were absolutely fantastic, kept us entertained all day long, and, also in the evening from 20:30 to 23:30 a fantastic pair of entertainers, who, can actually sing as well. The food at the Beach Bar was great and i would recommend this Holiday to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rolosimsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My daughter aged 19 and myself 50 something were pleasantly surprised at the standards of this hotel. The food was excellent and entertainment first class. This was the first time we have tried a Thompson Gold and she was dreading it, however, we met some lovely people who made our holiday. The reps were really good and the entertainment, Mat and Nicola were brilliant. We did ask for a room change and it was sorted straight away, we didnt have to move our cases ourselves and were very happy with the change. There was a variety of ages so neither of us felt out of place. The Taverna on the beach was very good all in all a fantastic time. Its what you make it.

Stayed: September 2010
Thank LynnandLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We are sad to include a few negative observations about this hotel because in every respect the management & staff are excellent, however even they cannot change the surroundings in which the hotel is located. It is important to say that our opinions are not subjective but through comparison with our previous experience of Thomson 4* hotels and we generally enjoy 3 different trips a year in them.

The staff are brilliant, courteous, helpful and friendly. We have never experienced better service anywhere else.

The rooms were unfortunately quite average and of no higher standard than most UK Travel Inns. In fact TI bedrooms are generally larger and have better quality en-suite fittings. The balcony was small, triangular in shape and could only accommodate two chairs. However the room was equipped as described in the brochure, fridge etc. There is a charge of 21 E /week for use of a fairly flimsy key operated room safe.

We elected to have a room with a sea view, and it did look out onto the sea. Unfortunately part of the view is now obstructed by three construction projects, one involving the use of a tower crane, between the hotel and the sea. Another important consideration is the fact that the hotel has a busy, and therefore noisy, road between it and the beach. So all those using the hotel pool areas are aware of traffic noise as buses, cars and trucks roll by. However the hotel does have its own beach and terraced gardens on the other side of the road accessed by an underpass. It has to be said that the grass in many areas of this garden is well worn with use of sun beds etc and were being re-seeded. This area enjoys the sound of the sea and so traffic noise is less intrusive. It has a brilliant terrace and bar overlooking the sea which was very welcome in the heat of the day.

Back in the hotel itself, there is an equally good large terrace off the main lounge. The decor of the hotel is a matter of taste and so it would be unfair to criticise it. In terms of style it reminded us more of the Austria than Greece. We can quite see why it has been described as "tired" by other contributors but we would not call in “shabby”. The corridors leading to the bedrooms are quite small in width, airless and gloomy. Whatever the plans for this hotels refurbishment, much better lighting / design is essential.

Turning to the food, again avoiding the subjective by sticking to comparisons with platinum hotels, notably our last in Turkey, we felt the choice was limited - especially the "salad bar" . The very best sitting was breakfast where in addition to the usual cooked brekkie, the salad bar had a good selection of cheeses, hams, fish etc etc. Where was all of that at lunch and dinner ? The main courses were of reasonable quality but unlike Turkey, the "traditional dishes" were limited. So our overall comparative rating for the food we had is average to good but certainly not excellent.

As to the location of the hotel, there is precious little by way of bars and shops in its immediate vicinity. To the east there is a small town accessed in part by a beachside pathway that runs out after a while leaving the rest of the walk by road. Tempted by a view of the harbour we were disappointed to view the boats via a chain link fence. If you take the same beachside path to the west, that is a much better prospect. It passes archaeological sites, a couple of beach bars and several hotels - quite pleasant - but Limmasol is still 10km away so you will need transport. The hotel is some 60 kms away from Paphos, we hired a car and it took just under the hour by motorway. On the way we passed a sign "Paphos Region" well to the west of our hotel. So we think Thomson should check out their geography !!

The entertainment is generally good and the Thomson team are very good indeed.
Overall we had mixed feelings, some good some not. This hotel is part of the Thomson “Gold” portfolio, in our view that would be 9 but not 18 carat.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBayHotel, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

We thank you for your comments especially those regarding our staff and service. However, we do not feel all of your comments accurately represent our hotel. As a 4* plus hotel, we do not feel our rooms can be compared to that of a travel inn. Overall our room sizes are generous, with tiled flooring and modern furnishings. The balcony sizes may vary room to room based on the design of the building.
In reference to the sea view, you mention that part of the view is now obstructed. Once again we find this inaccurate as from any balcony of the hotel, there is a 180 0 view of the sea, which clearly is not all obstructed. Similarly, we do not feel the pictures posted are a fair representation of the view as they were taken with direct focus on the site and from a different angle.
One of the highest rated aspects of our hotel is our extensive buffet. Each buffet seating offers a different salad selection in order to provide our guests with the maximum variety possible. As you can appreciate, if the salad bars were all similar for all meals, this would become quite mundane day after day. We do also offer traditional dishes on a daily basis in our local corner as well as during our local theme nights.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We traveled with thomson gold for this holiday and booked Premier Seaview room as we had read on trip advisor that there was building work at the rear of the hotel, the first room we were given was dirty, hair and hair grips on the floor, a damp tissue on the floor tiles came up black, broken whicker work on the balcony chairs old and tired decor and furniture. We complained to reception and asked to be moved. They informed us there were no other premier rooms only a suite but they would send up the housekeeper. The room was cleaned quickly after. The, and I quote from the Thomson details "unbroken views across the bay of Limassol" actully was over a building site right along the sea front across the road between the hotel and the sea. So the Hotel has building sites front and back, the work starts around six in the morning. That night we found road noise from the main roads both behind the complex and in front was disturbing. the entertainment from the terrace was loud and continued till midnight, closing the balcony doors did not exclude much noise. Very early the next morning we were woken by delivery trucks on the service road below. With the intervention of the Thomson Rep we were shown another room and moved. Same tired furniture and peeling wallpaper, same building site view, same entertainment noise but less trafic noise.
The hotel beach is over the road, reached via an underpass, plenty of worn sunbeds on offer, the sandy terrace and the beach could be kept much cleaner.
Good points. The beach bar was pleasent for drinks and snacks, The waiting staff were friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The Restaurant buffet meals offered plenty of choise and was always hot, the public areas were immaculate as were the Pools. The Thomson entertainment team worked hard but the evening resident duo and guest artists could be much better.
PS
Paid Thomson 70 euro for the airport lounge at Paphos for peace and comfort, don`t, Its used by parents to let their chilldren run riot and decimate the buffet in safety.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rrvman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaBayHotel, Manager at Atlantica Bay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2010

Thank you for your comments.
We are very surprised to hear your comments regarding the room cleanliness, as we have always received very high comments and reviews regarding the cleanliness of our hotel. Our executive housekeeper and chamber maids work diligently to ensure the best possible service.
Although there may be some building works near the hotel, based on our overall reviews, this does not affect the overall enjoyment of our guests. Furthermore, the works are at the final stages and are not intrusive. Regarding the entertainment, this is an added facility a guest pays for when booking a Thomson Gold Hotel. As described in the brochure, we provide nightly entertainment until midnight.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#7 of 56 in Limassol
955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,584 reviews
0.8 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,455 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 56 in Limassol
2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing