We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun in the sun”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Limassol
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantica Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fun in the sun”
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Our holiday was made by the excellent entertainment staff, Nikki & Matt - they are both extremely talented and they worked hard all days and evenings to help their guests have a great holiday. The hotel and restaurant staff also very good - the food varied and plentiful. We were lucky to have wonderful weather - I spent a lot of time in the pools.

The location is not good - there is a busy main road at the front of the hotel and unsightly buildings - the beach is very poor and has to be reached by crossing the main road or concrete underpass ! For this reason I could not recommend the hotel to anyone else - without the weather and the current entertainment staff, it would have been very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank coo46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,371
    577
    180
    29
    26
See reviews for
139
1,750
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed 1 week at this hotel. Weather was fantastic. As other reviews state the food was to die for and the staff and service were great.
Yes, there is building work across the road but you got used to the noise and it did not bother us at all (and it wasnt that noisy anyway!).
Hotel very clean. Entertainment every evening, some evenings better than others.

We were very lazy and didnt venture out but Limmosol not far and the bus stop is right outside of the hotel. We walked to the local supermarket a couple of times which was a 10 minute walk along the main road.

The Spa treatments were great. My husband had a couple of massages and he states he has never had such a fantastic massage as the one in this hotel.

We went All Inclusive and this is definately the preferred choice as I understand drinks etc were not cheap otherwise.

Would definately recommend this hotel and we may go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srp123Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Stayed for a week with wife, two sons and their girlfriends and had a magnificent time!
Staff friendly and always totally professional - no exceptions Great service.. Entertainments team of Nikki and Matt very good indeed. Matt, with his John Barrowman looks and voice, is surely only a few lucky breaks away from the big time - he's that talented!.
However you do really have to watch the diet - the food is wonderful and abundant Always served buffet style, there is no limit as to how much can be wolfed down!!
Never have I seen so many seriously overweight folk gathered together in one spot!. This has a bonus side for the more health conscious. The air conditioned gym is always empty, the two enticing pools are never full and few make the five minute stroll down to the excellent breach club!.
Thomson and the hotel management are to congratulated. Yes, there is building work to the back and front with no sign of completion (at least another year, locals say) and, although by no means totally intrusive, it is an irritant.. However it in no way spoiled what has to be one of the best weeks we, as a family, have enjoyed. Even the flights (Thomson) were on time with ample leg room! Do go All Inclusive - you'll save a fortune. All the drinks, like the service, are spot on and the house wine (we preferred the dry Cypriot white to the Italian one) is highly quaffable!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Notpastit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I have just returned from a week's holiday at Atlantica Bay and thought the hotel was really good value. The staff were without exception extremely helpful and pleasant throughout our stay. We had ordered two sea view rooms and were surprised to find that although both were part of the same booking and the same price there was a considerable difference in size. I think this is a bit of an issue and am not sure if it's a Hotel or Thompson's issue in terms of the pricing but it doesn't seem right. My tip would be to specifically ask for the larger rooms.

The buffet food was of a very good quality with lots of choice so I can't understand the reviews that complained about this aspect.. The service in the a la carte was of the highest standard and the food to die for. I think they must have a really good executive Chef to keep up this standard.

The pools were both good and I probably did more swimming on this holiday than I have for a long time. We were a bit disappointed , though, with the beach area which to be honest is spoilt by the muddy appearance of the sand.

In general the location of the hotel isn't great and I think a hire car for a few days is essential. The hotel will provide a very good cool box full of goodies if you do go out so this allays any fears of losing out if you're AI.

Evening entertainment was good and the Thompsons team were very helpful and made the stay enjoyable. I should give a special mention to the gala night. The entertainment was of a very high standard especially the opera singers.

Finally a lot of reference has been made in reviews about the building work going on around the hotel. There certainly is a lot of work going on but it was mostly unobtrusive although on one day it did seem more noticeable than the others so maybe it depends what they're doing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Latchford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

We spent a week at the Atlantica Bay. We were lucky and got a last minute discounted holiday, however, had we paid full price I would have been disappointed. We paid extra for a sea view and certainly we could see the sea but you had to look over a very busy main road and through a large building site that was covered in green tarpaulin. We laughed reviewing our holiday video when we got home as my commentary from the balcony was drowned out by the sounds of drills and building work! Not wanting to be tied to an all inclusive deal when we were hiring a car for three days and visiting friends who live in Cyprus, we went for the Half Board option. Be careful if you take this option. On the first day we ordered two orange juices. They were $6.00 each and it was orange juice from a carton, not fresh and it tasted like squash! You were charged over the top prices for water at dinner and they would remove all the glasses from your table thereby not allowing you to take your own bottle of water to the table (as we tried on our first night). The food though is wonderful here, absolutely faultless. The breakfast catered for everyone and respected cultural differences and the same for dinner - there was so much, it was fresh and the quality was first class. The reps deserve all the praise they get on this site. I marvelled at how, within 24 hours, they had learned the first names of everyone who joined in at least one of their recreational activities (cute way of linking your first name with a celebrity) and they worked hard to ensure those that wanted to did not get bored and had a fun time. Having stayed at a number of hotels where they list evening entertainment I wasn't expecting too much but was very pleasantly surprised, they had some very good acts whilst we were here. Unfortunately we missed the Gala night as we were away that evening but people we met told us the next day that it had been a good night (and you don't have to pay extra for it!). The swimming pools are great, a real plus point of the hotel and the air conditioned gym was not bad either. English holiday makers certainly make up the majority of clients at this hotel but it also has a very large number of Russians too. There is a notice in your room that says before 08.00 towels being used to reserve sun beds will be taken off. Don't believe it - on waking the first morning at 07.30 we could see a rainbow of towels from people laying 'claim' to 'their' spot and they weren't removed. To be honest though there are enough sun beds and room around the pool - I think some people just like this to be part of their holiday routine! Reception staff were very helpful and when needing a doctor during my stay for an ear infection they had booked me an appointment within 2 hours. Planning a stay at this hotel? I think Thomsons calling it 'Gold' is pushing it a bit - particularly with it's location on the edge of a busy road, other clients of the hotel bringing their children and with the building works that are going on. The food is great though, entertainment fun and if you like a good pool to lie next to - you definitely have one here.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tiggylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I spent a week here with my friend and we had a really wonderful time, the hotel is lovely made more so by the exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient staff who made every effort to ensure we were happy. I dont think I have ever been to such a happy hotel. The facilities were great - all of which have been mentioned. The area itself was slighly underdeveloped and so we didnt go anywhere else in the evening as it seemed too much of an effort, which I guess is why there is some building going on around but this was never a problem and we didnt hear any noise or really notice it much. As two women it would have been nice to take a wander somewhere else at night but to be honest the hotel provided such good entertainment and made such an effort that we forgot about that and just really enjoyed everything they had to offer. The gala night was something special - it was like being at wedding party dinner on holiday kind of atmosphere, never known anything like it - a really spectacular night. My favourite waiter was Ronald :) but they were all lovely really. We met some lovely people on this holiday - all enjoying the cocktails - the gala night helps you to get to know them if you want to and the staff and management who were all there making every effort to ensure you enjoyed the evening.. We tended to sunbathe on the private beach, which has tiered sunbathing areas and gave a nice breeze occasionally, this area is lovely, we also used the beach bar durng the day for a drink and restaurant to have a bit of lunch - if we had any room left! We tended to go to the pool area early evening for a swim , which is clean and had plenty of room for swimming and sunbathing. The evening's entertainment., was great, our favourite was the tenor singer, swing night and also the elvis tribute but we enjoyed it all - there was also some good games early evening a bit different from the usual. I would recommend this hotel if you want a really peaceful and relaxing holiday with a full entertainment programme to keep you occupied. Dont go here if you want lots of clubs and bars nearby - unless you want to catch the bus or get a taxi. We thought we would do that but didnt and loved every minute. I was actually sad to get home - that is unusual. We visited the troudos mountains and kykkos monastry - a great trip and also went to Nicossia to walk the line across to the turkish side - a real culture different in just a few steps - very interesting.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Just returned from our second week stay at this hotel this year.
We had a great time,!!!!
After reading a few of the latest reviews I am at a loss as to some of the remarks.
The comment about the noise, was surprising, the on site games and evening entertainment, is clearly listed in the Thomason books, and is detailed online that enterainment is provided.
Enterainment that WE totally enjoyed, from the day time pool games, "Gold Daily Quiz"
to the evening shows.
There were times during the day and early evening when there was a break in the
games and music.
If you want a totally borning quiet holiday, choose another hotel. LOL !
One other comment was about Jinx's which is my opinion was unkind.
Jinx's the resident due,were very enjoyable, doing a very diffucult job trying to please a wide range of tasted.
Kelly-Ann and Andy also worked with the Thomason team and produced some very enjoyable stage shows.
Kelly-Ann never stopped smiling and realy looked like to enjoyed her job, Andy played the Bass guitar and keyboard very well.
The tribute to Tintanic was so funny, i haven't laughted some much in years.
The Thomason team at the hotel are some of the nicest and talented young people we have met.
Matt has a lovely singing voice, as does Nicola, these two people worked very hard to make our holiday fun.
We enjoyed every minute of our holiday, the food was wonderful, lots to choose from and hot and plentyful.
We were AI which was very good value, bottle of wine evey evening with our meals and at no extra charge.
The staff were second to none, polite, helpful, and went just that extra step to make our holiday even more enjoyable.
Gala night was FAB, the staff who already work very hard, went out of ther way to make this night really memorable.
Whist the location is a little outside Limassol, there is easy access via the number 30 bus for 2 euros all day that runs into limassol and back until 10pm .Good value.
The trips are a little on the expensive side, but we did enjoy the two we took.
Everywhere is well maintained and very clean, The pool was well looked after, and we never had trouble finding a sun bed.
We met some really nice people, (Except one very rude German lady who thought it was acceptable to be obnoixus and rude to the staff, who were nothing but polite to her!!)

A note to the hotel and Thomason, The format and enterainment really works, we understand that there are changes for next year. If the changes are too radical then what is currently a great holiday hotel, could loose it's appeal and it's many return customers.
There is a saying "if it's not broke don't fix it"!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank shrubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
3.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
881 reviews
1.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,479 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Bay Hotel

Property: Atlantica Bay Hotel
Address: Leoforos Amathountos 1/1 | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 4060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#6 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#13 Family Hotel in Limassol
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantica Bay Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a hillside looking out to the sapphire-blue seas of Limassol Bay, the Atlantica Bay is a truly luxurious retreat. The hotel blends superior service with superb facilities, providing guests with memorable experiences. Close to the ancient ruins of Amathus, in a spot that was made for peace and quiet, it really does set a perfect holiday scene. With the local bus stop just opposite the hotel, you can take a short ride into the old historic town approximately 10 km away. The hotel features 201 modern rooms, the main dining area “Leda Restaurant”, “A la Carte Restaurant”, “Olympus Lobby Bar” with a chic outdoor terrace, “Pool Bar”, Hermes Fitness Center, The Bay Spa and 2 outdoor pools (1 pool covered & heated in winter season only). May to October (weather permitting) enjoy the facilities of our Sands Beach Bar & Tavern surrounded by our own private garden area. Free WiFi in all rooms and all public areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantica Bay Limassol
Hotel Atlantica Bay
Atlantica Bay Hotel Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing