We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveller rating
213
162
81
27
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
162
81
27
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar sea view relaxing vacation dressing table four star sea water buffet style reception area tourist area main bar larnaca airport sun loungers great holiday evening entertainment hired a car plenty of choice a la carte
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 516 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Not bad. I never expect too much anyway, so this was ok. If you are thinking of staying here then I have some great tips to improve your stay...

1) Sea View Room is a must.
I started with the inland view which is very noisy due to the main road. I upgraded to the Sea View which was amazing. The view is great although there is a tracker that flattens the sand each morning at 4-5am.

2) Go ALL INCLUSIVE.
The food is nice compared to other All Inclusive's I been too, otherwise you have to go for quite a walk to find a good restaurant.

3) Don't use a taxi for transport to and from the Airport (unless you are a group of 4.)
Taxis cost about 55 EUROs one way. There is shuttle coaches in the airport that will take you to the city, then use a taxi or bus to the hotel. This will save you lots of cash.
On return to airport ask Reception for the minibus which will take you to the airport for approx 12.50 EUROs per person

4) STAFF
staff are good at the Hotel and will assist you if you ask... don't be shy. I found them great.

5) Rooms
The rooms are dated. If there is something wrong the maids will try to help. The basement of the hotel (where breakfast and lunch is served) floods when it rains, but again staff try to clean up.

6) Area
The local area is a building site. If you are looking at a walk on the beach and are happy staying at the hotel then it is fine.
If you want to explore then hire a car and get out. Seems like they are still trying to build the area.

Room tip: Sea View is the way forward if you like to sleep, plus the view is great. Book before you go or it will cost you 20 Euros extra a night.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We booked a all inclusive and it cost £550 each to this hotel, excluding transffers. What an aweful holtel the rooms smelt of fags, the cupboards were from the 60's the food was rubbish, and it hotel was full of ignornat russians who dont have any manners.

After the first night of experanacing the all inclusive dinner we stopped out and ate in local resturants. I called the all inclusive dinner canteen food and my girl friend didnt disagree.

The entertainment was rubbish and consisted of kareoke, and one evening a chap sat there tapping away on an electic key board.............

Worst hoilday I have ever had, I wouldnt bother even thinking about going there you will regret it!!!!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madforit90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We have just returned from a two week all inclusive holiday,we have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 25 years i would say now the hotel is past its sell by date and the interior and rooms need an urgent makeover,our room was on the second floor overlooking the pool and beach on arrival 3 of the 4 wall lights did not work the fridge was not getting cold and the safe would not unlock! however these problems were soon put right and did not effect the rest of our holiday.
Lets get the bad points out of the way the service in the dining room was laughable and we often had to chase a waiter to get a drink the food is average and we ate out quite a few times,the people on reception need to learn to smile it makes all the difference.No air con in any of the public areas and it was over 90 degrees outside!
Good points great location good breakfast Alex (the animation manager) was brilliant and really made us feel welcome,also the girl in the main bar whose name we did not get was wonderful and worked very hard to make sure we had a good time,
When we first stayed here in 1987 it was a five star hotel and looked it now i feel it is struggling to get classed as a three star and is certainly not four star.The management need to have a look at what the competition is doing we have stayed all inclusive at the St Raphael and it would lose this hotel in every department.The management need to realise that it is the small things that make the whole experience great.

Room tip: Get a room overlooking the pool
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Mick c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Due to an overbooking at the Atlantica Gardens hotel, we stayed 3 of our 14 night all-inclusive holiday at the Poseidonia....

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the surroundings and beach front aspect. We were given two connecting rooms on the 3rd floor for us and our 2 teenagers. The rooms were tired, with dated decor, we would not rate the rooms as 4* standard. We partially unpacked, as we were due to move to the Atlantica in 3 days time. We set ourselves up with a boys room and a girls room.

Food was o.k. but not memorable. The hotel was fully booked, but did not feel busy.

Facilities – Great beach front location. 1st block of sun beds are the hotels, we never had a problem getting sun beds. The 2nd block near the sea are for rent. The sea was safe and clean, with shallow beach, and a breakwater a short swim away. Pool is small but adequate. The animation lady (Alex) was great.

The first morning the boys woke up to blood streaked sheets and were horrified to find they had been dinner for bed bugs in the night - we found a few crawling between the sheets. We told reception straight away, they came and looked, and they were also horrified saying they had not experienced this before. In Cyprus they call bed bugs traveller bugs and the insinuation was that we had bought the bugs in our cases from home! Reception sealed our rooms and called pest control. Within 2 hours the beds had been stripped and the rooms, and our luggage sprayed. The pest control said to leave our cases closed in the sun on the balcony to help kill any remaining bugs. We returned to the room and saw the sprayed room and stripped beds. The mattresses and bases were smeared with lots of bug splats and old blood streaks, and some were still trying to crawl away. This was all quite horrible, but felt hotel reception dealt with it quickly and efficiently.

In the afternoon we were moved to similar rooms on the 4th floor. Not wanting to take any chances we spent a few hours on the old room balcony emptying and inspecting our clothes and luggage. Luckily we found nothing, and had no further bug problems.

We updated our holiday rep on the above events. She met us at the hotel and saw the bugs. We felt pretty aggrieved by all this and our minds turned to compensation not particularly financial but something to make up for what had happened to us. Via our rep we asked for 2x spa treatments, the hotel agreed. Vouchers arrived the next morning for 2x massages. We asked to change this to 2x facials, they agreed and we booked the treatment for our last day. When we arrived, the spa receptionist said no to the facials. Apparently the spa is a franchise and massages were a favour and only cost labour, the facials involve oils etc which cost about 20 euro ... so back to hotel reception...

After a lot of debate and one refusal, we eventually saw the assistant manager. He arrived with a disclaimer form but said he knew nothing about our situation. After explaining it all (again) he asked me to sign his form in exchange for the spa treatments and asked we do not write about our experience. We had all had enough by then and refused the hotels final offer of facials. After 4 days of arguing, wasting time in reception sorting things out, we were pleased to move to the Atlantica and finally start our holiday.

Why all this trouble? Management and communication at this hotel appears poor. We spoke to many different hotel and spa receptionists (they do shifts) and information was not passed on.

Our situation was pretty serious, and should have been escalated to hotel management for prompt resolution.

Room tip: front overlooks the main road. go for sea view for quiet rooms
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Moira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

I could not write much more than that the hotel its not a 4star hotel.. Its barely 2star especially its rooms.. Very old furniture, floor, carpet, beds etc. Must be urgently renovated or otherwise decrease prices to 2star hotel

Date of stay: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marigoulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews