We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveller rating
206
158
79
27
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
206
158
79
27
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar sea view renovated room brandy sours relaxing vacation four star visiting cyprus buffet style just returned from a week great holiday evening entertainment bar staff plenty of choice a la carte yogurt dona trident
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at Posiedonia in Nov 2012, forgot to take our booking form ! No problem, staff helpful & polite ! My father had a fall & they were great ! Rooms a little dated but clean & cleaned daily. Book a sea view as Mountain view is at rear & overlooks a noisy road, + sea view is great & you can sleep listening to the waves [ so relaxing !] Food is buffet & can get a little cool / dry if you're not on the ball, but we never struggled to have a good meal with plenty of choice & worked out the best times to dine. Great position for sea, beach, restaurants, bars etc but not noisy [on sea view] + a great beach path for miles of walking in front of hotel. Good value for money, we're there again in April !! Cant wait !

Room Tip: Book sea view, noisy at the rear [mountain view]
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is as honest a review as I can give on the Poseidonia Beach Hotel. Having read all the Tripadvisor views before booking, some were good and some were bad. We have just returned from 10 days in Cyprus at the Poseidonia. I am ex-Royal Air Force having spent 3 years living in Limassol. we have been back 16 times in the last 20 years.
The hotel is rated 4 star, it is definitely not, except for it's position on the beach. We paid extra (£38) for a 'Seaview' room, well worth it, we were up on the 4th floor, giving us uninterrupted views of the sea, both East and West.

The Breakfast was superb, if you could not find something in what was on offer, then there is something wrong with you. The evening meals were a bit boring, but most hotels in Cyprus are the same. Seating in the lounge area was a bit dated, but they had been good in their day. The glass display above the bar could have done with a clean, it was all dusty.

The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was immaculate. Tea and Coffee was NOT available in the rooms, we took our own and a kettle from Morrison's (£5). Entertainment was provided in the evening, nothing special, but it was provided. There was a TV in the room (with all lines on it), however it was watchable, the BBC world service. We found the staff at the hotel very pleasant and most helpful.

So to conclude, if you want 5* facilities and quality, then you had better book into the "Amathus Beach Hotel" or the "Four Seasons Hotel". If you want the service, then you will pay for it, those hotels are TWICE the price, plus you will pay £10 for a bottle of coke and £5.00 for a small beer. The views are the identical, the Poseidonia Hotel is great value for the price charged, you won't be disappointed. I am classed by my friends as a 'Perfectionist', and I have to say I would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: A "Seaview" room is a MUST, I'm surprised they let any rooms on the back.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank davidg1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A tired, tatty hotel that is definitely past its best. Shame really as the location is actually very nice indeed but unfortunately, the hotel is dated and not the cleanest. Sure all the bits that can be seen are clean but lie in the bath and you can certainly see were the cleaners haven't bothered cleaning yet the bathrooms have very recently been refurbished to a good quality.

Be warned, the hotel has cut corners by charging for just about as much as they can such as wifi, the spa, jacuzzi etc. and the prices are not cheap. The pool was covered because it's winter yet it is only heated to 22 degrees! Far too cold for me.

We got a cheap weekend deal on this hotel so no big complaints but had we paid out full price, I would not have been happy. First thing I noticed about our twin bedded room is that there were stains on the walls next to the bed!! Unpacking, I noticed only 8 cheap metal coat hangers were available. There was no hotel information in our room or bible (not that we're religious but this is the usual for all hotels) When we asked at reception for some hotel information booklets, they said they didn't do this so we explained that they did because our friends have some in their room? We had no idea what was available at the hotel or what times or if payment was needed.

There was no plug in the bath, another oversight....erm.....no, our friends plugs were all missing too so obviously it was the hotel scrimping by stopping guests from using the bath and making them use the shower. No tea making facilities which seems common in Cyprus so we took our own. The room was cold so we eventually managed to work out how to adjust the thermostate but I decided to put a blanket on the thin bedlinen but the blankets were covered in stains!

We had a connecting door in the room which worried me when the Russian guests kept trying to open it. Tried to have a siesta in the afternoon but the hotel was too noisey with cleaners and as we were overlooking the road, motorbike exhausts kept me awake which is only to be expected during the day so my advice would be if you're a siesta type person, pick a sea view room.

Breakfast on the first morning was a little limited yet on the second morning, there appearted to a lot more choice and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Dinner, on the other hand, was not the best. Buffet self service yet despite dinner being served till 10pm, when we arrived at 8pm the first night, some of the trays were empty and remained so. 2nd night, the choice was slightly better as it was International Cuisine night yet again at 8.30pm some trays were empty and remained so again. I decided to start with soup which was brown tomato....awful. The food was always greasy and luke warm. However, the puddings and cakes were quite nice so no complaints there.

In all, I would say that the hotel is cutting corners to save money but at their loss because we would not go back and will book for somewhere else when we next visit Limassol which is not far from where we live.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Hi,
We have just returned from a weeks stay hb at the poseidonia which was ok.
There are lots of positives, on the beach, car parking, helpful and pleasant staff but and it's a huge but the food was never hot or even warm. The meals could have been nice but they never were.
I'm not a fussy eater and don't particularly enjoy boiling hot drinks/food but I do expect meals to be warm.
This practise which appeared to be a conscious decision is disappointing and letting the hotel and Cyprotel group down. The metal trays were carried out to be placed in the buffet island using their bare hands, no gloves/towels.

Room Tip: Sea view are worth every penny of the supplement
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tazjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed at the Poseidonia with my husband over Christmas on an all inclusive basis and its a great hotel.
The reception staff are very friendly and welcoming and the reception area decor is very plesant, light and airy which leads to the bar area which has glass doors along one wall that lets in the natural light and overlooks the pool area. We were lucky with the weather so the doors were open during the day which was great as it brings the outside in and opens up a lovely large relaxing area.
On Christmas eve we had a gala evening which was Brilliant ! There was so much entertainment with lots of different dancers and singers all evening mainly singing english songs which was great. The food is buffet style and there really was something for everyone from smoked salmon and prawns to turkey, pork and chicken and desserts to die for!
Every day breakfast and lunch is served downstairs in the canteen and again there is so much choice that I defy even the fussiest eater to find something to eat, the evening meal is served in the restaurant next to the bar which is nice and bright area with lovely linen dressed tables, the staff were amazing and couldnt do enough for you.
We had a sea view family room and it was huge ! Yes the decor could be described as dated but to be honest it really suited the hotel and was very cosy and very cypriot which is what we wanted. I truly believe that some people expect a room that has been picked out from an Ikea catalogue! The rooms are exceptionally clean and were cleaned on a daily basis. The balcony was just perfect for sitting and having a glass of wine and looking out at one of the most beautiful sunsets and rises that I have ever seen.
There was entertainment on most nights and this ranged from karaoke to traditional cypriot dancing, the animation lady who's name is Santa (yes really! ) was brilliant, she really tried to keep people amused by playing killer darts, stretching, french boules, bingo and various kids entertainment.
You can access all floors by either stairs or 2 lifts so if you are a little hesitant in using lifts I would suggest that you ask for a room on one of the lower floors as its a long way up to the top floors by the stairs.
We met a few people that actually live in Cyprus and choose to book themselves in the Posedonia over christmas and they all seemed to enjoy it to the point that one couple who we became friendly with (Hi Bob and Alison if your reading this!) have said that they will come back this christmas.
If you are looking for a relaxing break then please give the Poseidonia a chance, we did and we will be back for Christmas again this year.

Room Tip: A seaview room is a must, its truly beautiful
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SARAHKEY72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews