We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, definitely not 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed on all inclusive basis for a week.this was my first visit to Cyprus. The hotel is rated as a 4 * but I believe it is not at that standard.

building, rooms:
The rooms and the entire building needs a good renovation work. The window frames are very poor quality and very outdated, curtains are not clean and very very old, the furniture in the rooms is very old too.The bathroom needs total renovation. If you book inland view room, be prepared to hear the all night noise from the busy road next to the hotel. ....however I have to say that the hotel is very clean and your room will be cleaned every day to a good standard. The entire hotel is clean.
Food:
We were on all inclusive basis. The food is good, but the choice is not great, especially at breakfast- very very limited, lunch time meals are good but again a very limited choice, not what you would expect from a four star hotel....dinners were better- better choice but again not great.overall the food was good but not great amount of choice. Restorants are clean and the staff is very very friendly and welcoming, they really work hard keeping everything clean and everybody happy. During the day the only food you can get is sandwiches made of bread, butter and cheese or ham and some pieces of cake. Drinks are limited and not good at all. You are not even allowed to fill your bottle with water from the machines and we needed to go and buy bottled water from the shop opposite.ice cream for kids only available from 3- 4 pm and not weekend and bank holiday and the quality of the only one variety of ice cream on offer was not good at all. And ice cream is only available for kids !!!

The receptionists, maintenance, bar and cleaning stuff are very friendly and helpful.
The outdoor area is clean and the swimming pool is only one with a PVC cover.


Just in short to say not a bad place to be, but do not expect 4* experience, perhaps more of 2 or 3*

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsDi111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

A welcoming place perfect for your meditarrean getaway. Love the place but the room is slighly needing a retouch as its been kind of dull and sad in appearance though its clean everyday. The restaurant is really good serving lots of option daily from cold cuts to hot meal so much to choose from. Mind you they are all in buffet style eat all you can, only water isnt included so you need to purchased your drinks everytime you go for your meal . Buffet breakfast is served at the lower ground floor with all variety of healthy food perfect after your skin dipping at the hotel swimming pool. The hotel is just a few steps from the beach and we have enjoyed our stay. I miss the early moring walk along the sea side and having an early morning dip with the azure waters of Limassol beach. So glorious watching the sunshine to sunset...what a perfect place to be.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back perfect location overlooking the meditarrean sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toto0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just returned from a week All Inclusive. My first visit to Cyprus and would definitely stay at this hotel again but not necessarily on my next visit as I would like to try Paphos next time. We had a good deal through Teletext and the holiday was certainly worth the money for the time of year.

The Poseidonia Beach (probably equivalent to our 3*) is in a good location with the main road at the front and the beach at the back. Definitely worth spending a little extra to get a sea view (apparently the road side is very noisey) although it can take a while getting used to the sound of the sea (even at the 5th floor level). Our sea view room was of a good size with twin beds and 2 chairs/coffee table plus dressing table. Plenty of wardrobe space, asked for extra hangers which we received the next day plus a bath plug. Bathroom of a good size and quality. A few shower gels/shampoo/soap supplied. Shower very good and plenty of very hot water. Had to pay extra for the hairdryer. There are sockets but the room literature asks that your own appliances are not used re safety. The beds were comfortable although quite hard and I've had worst pillows. The room was tidied and new towels put in daily.

The balcony (with 2 plastic chairs and a table) was of a good size and useful when the westerly wind was too cold to sit out in. I used the hotel gym which was small but had enough equipment for a quick work-out. The swimming pool is excellent and was covered during winter so with some sun outside it was definitely useable although cold when first getting into it. As the season gets busier then more activities will be organised and the timetable looks full for the week. There is a sunbed area around the pool on the terrace and the rest is amongst the grass/garden area. The trees will be a welcome shade in the summer. There is a very long promenade which is heavily used by walkers/joggers early morning/late afternoon then strollers during the day. Limmosol is stretched over many miles along the sea and not very deep inland. The Limmosol beaches are excellent with a lot of sand and a small amount of shingle at the water's edge. Some areas have rocky areas that break up the beaches infrequently. The sea is lovely and although cold at first I did manage to join many others and go for a swim (2nd March) which was a bonus.

Breakfast and Lunch were buffet style served in a garden restaurant. Both meals had plenty of choice, both hot and cold food. Dinner was served in a different, large room again buffet style and plenty of choice. Each night was of a different theme (Greek, Italian, etc) and some nights were better than others but all was very nice. At 7.45pm we missed out on some lasagne and they didn't make another tray of it so that was disappointing. Most people went in from 7.00 to 8.00 and you certainly wouldn't want to leave it much later to get the full choice. There was always plenty of salad choices (mainly the same each day) and the hot food wasn't necessarily very hot but it was cooked well and tasted OK. You would probably get a little tired of it all towards the end of 2 weeks. The food was not of our 4* standard but not worthy of any complaints - you get what you pay for.

All the staff were extremely helpful, friendly and very pleasant. There is a nice bar and all the AI drinks were better than we've had in other countries (AI). The usual soft drinks, beer, wine, spirits and 4 cocktails were included. There is wifi but it costs 4.5euro for 30mins so quite expensive. There are plenty of bars/cafes in Limmosol with free wifi. The two lifts were fast and efficient.

The walk into Central Limmosol takes over an hour along the main road so the local bus (any trip for 1euro) was definitely worth using. You can get a day ticket for 3euro and jump on/off at any time. The end of the line goes to a large shopping mall with all the usual eateries/M&S/fashion shops. The bus station is at the main port and from here we got the bus to Paphos (5euro return) which took approx 45minutes (at Paphos you then have to get another bus (816) down to Phaphos harbour). A visit to the Old Town in Limmosol is worth doing with lots of different shops to browse. Currently a lot of building work is happening along the front to create a long promenade to the Old Port - I think this will be ready during this year and well vastly improve the centre of Limmosol.

Room Tip: Sea view, higher the better (6 floors in total)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WestYorksHomebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Just returned from a week at the Poseidonia Beach Hotel. We arrived during the evening and were welcomed warmly. We had booked a seaview room which was on the 5th floor. The room was adequate and fairly comfortable. We asked for more coat hangers which were bought the next day as was a bath plug which we also requested. It was lovely to hear the sound of the sea and we enjoyed sitting on our balcony which was sheltered from the cool westerly wind which was blowing a few days.

The food was fairly good, it was what was expected, certainly not 5* but there was something for all tastes....however it could have been kept a little hotter. There were themed evenings, we were disappointed on the Italian evening that only one tray of lasagne had been prepared which was sadly depleted by the time we arrived at 7.30pm....food was not replaced as readily as I've seen in other hotels.

We stayed All Inclusive and felt we had value for money. The drinks were fine and there was a choice of cocktails. The animation girl tried her best but it was a very quiet time of year and not enough people to take part in any events. Evenings were very low key, there was some entertainment but not many guests attended or joined in really.

We found the location of the hotel good to get out and about around the area. The buses run regularly into Limassol and from the bus station on the harbour we caught another bus to Paphos. The bus service was cheap, easy and reliable. It was also safe to walk around.

My only complaint was the internet....I paid 4 euro 50 for half an hour on the internet but only really had 10 minutes as the computer froze for the rest of the time. I was told it was not the hotel's fault if the internet was slow, which I appreciated, but there was no offer to give me an extra few minutes....which was disappointing. I did hear other complaints about the cost of the wifi and the internet.

All in all though, it was a lovely holiday, we had great weather for the time of year and I would consider returning to the hotel

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room or you will hear traffic all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllisonNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Stayed at Posiedonia in Nov 2012, forgot to take our booking form ! No problem, staff helpful & polite ! My father had a fall & they were great ! Rooms a little dated but clean & cleaned daily. Book a sea view as Mountain view is at rear & overlooks a noisy road, + sea view is great & you can sleep listening to the waves [ so relaxing !] Food is buffet & can get a little cool / dry if you're not on the ball, but we never struggled to have a good meal with plenty of choice & worked out the best times to dine. Great position for sea, beach, restaurants, bars etc but not noisy [on sea view] + a great beach path for miles of walking in front of hotel. Good value for money, we're there again in April !! Cant wait !

Room Tip: Book sea view, noisy at the rear [mountain view]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This is as honest a review as I can give on the Poseidonia Beach Hotel. Having read all the Tripadvisor views before booking, some were good and some were bad. We have just returned from 10 days in Cyprus at the Poseidonia. I am ex-Royal Air Force having spent 3 years living in Limassol. we have been back 16 times in the last 20 years.
The hotel is rated 4 star, it is definitely not, except for it's position on the beach. We paid extra (£38) for a 'Seaview' room, well worth it, we were up on the 4th floor, giving us uninterrupted views of the sea, both East and West.

The Breakfast was superb, if you could not find something in what was on offer, then there is something wrong with you. The evening meals were a bit boring, but most hotels in Cyprus are the same. Seating in the lounge area was a bit dated, but they had been good in their day. The glass display above the bar could have done with a clean, it was all dusty.

The room was spacious and clean, and the bathroom was immaculate. Tea and Coffee was NOT available in the rooms, we took our own and a kettle from Morrison's (£5). Entertainment was provided in the evening, nothing special, but it was provided. There was a TV in the room (with all lines on it), however it was watchable, the BBC world service. We found the staff at the hotel very pleasant and most helpful.

So to conclude, if you want 5* facilities and quality, then you had better book into the "Amathus Beach Hotel" or the "Four Seasons Hotel". If you want the service, then you will pay for it, those hotels are TWICE the price, plus you will pay £10 for a bottle of coke and £5.00 for a small beer. The views are the identical, the Poseidonia Hotel is great value for the price charged, you won't be disappointed. I am classed by my friends as a 'Perfectionist', and I have to say I would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: A "Seaview" room is a MUST, I'm surprised they let any rooms on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank davidg1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

A tired, tatty hotel that is definitely past its best. Shame really as the location is actually very nice indeed but unfortunately, the hotel is dated and not the cleanest. Sure all the bits that can be seen are clean but lie in the bath and you can certainly see were the cleaners haven't bothered cleaning yet the bathrooms have very recently been refurbished to a good quality.

Be warned, the hotel has cut corners by charging for just about as much as they can such as wifi, the spa, jacuzzi etc. and the prices are not cheap. The pool was covered because it's winter yet it is only heated to 22 degrees! Far too cold for me.

We got a cheap weekend deal on this hotel so no big complaints but had we paid out full price, I would not have been happy. First thing I noticed about our twin bedded room is that there were stains on the walls next to the bed!! Unpacking, I noticed only 8 cheap metal coat hangers were available. There was no hotel information in our room or bible (not that we're religious but this is the usual for all hotels) When we asked at reception for some hotel information booklets, they said they didn't do this so we explained that they did because our friends have some in their room? We had no idea what was available at the hotel or what times or if payment was needed.

There was no plug in the bath, another oversight....erm.....no, our friends plugs were all missing too so obviously it was the hotel scrimping by stopping guests from using the bath and making them use the shower. No tea making facilities which seems common in Cyprus so we took our own. The room was cold so we eventually managed to work out how to adjust the thermostate but I decided to put a blanket on the thin bedlinen but the blankets were covered in stains!

We had a connecting door in the room which worried me when the Russian guests kept trying to open it. Tried to have a siesta in the afternoon but the hotel was too noisey with cleaners and as we were overlooking the road, motorbike exhausts kept me awake which is only to be expected during the day so my advice would be if you're a siesta type person, pick a sea view room.

Breakfast on the first morning was a little limited yet on the second morning, there appearted to a lot more choice and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Dinner, on the other hand, was not the best. Buffet self service yet despite dinner being served till 10pm, when we arrived at 8pm the first night, some of the trays were empty and remained so. 2nd night, the choice was slightly better as it was International Cuisine night yet again at 8.30pm some trays were empty and remained so again. I decided to start with soup which was brown tomato....awful. The food was always greasy and luke warm. However, the puddings and cakes were quite nice so no complaints there.

In all, I would say that the hotel is cutting corners to save money but at their loss because we would not go back and will book for somewhere else when we next visit Limassol which is not far from where we live.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
712 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,641 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kapetanios Odyssia
Kapetanios Odyssia
#14 of 56 in Limassol
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
3 mi away
Ajax Hotel
Ajax Hotel
#16 of 56 in Limassol
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidonia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidonia Beach Hotel

Address: Amathus Area | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3502, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#12 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#12 Family Hotel in Limassol
#12 Business Hotel in Limassol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: £48 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poseidonia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is now under new management as it is now being run by its Owners. It is an upscale hotel located in a prime location in Limassol Bay, between the areas of Yermasoyia and Amathus. The hotel is set amidst stunning landscaped gardens which offer an idyllic retreat for a relaxing getaway in Cyprus and offers its guests have the choice of having Bed & Breakfast, Half Board or All Inclusive. Most importantly, the Poseidonia Beach Hotel tells the story of the legacy of Poseidon - the God of the Sea - it is imbedded in every room, hallway and restaurant. The new Management of the hotel cares about its guests stories' as much as its own and aims to create an experience in which both stories are combined and transformed into lasting memories.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poseidonia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidonia Beach
Poseidonia Beach Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing