We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking standards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shocking standards”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Got to be one of the worst hotels we've ever stayed in. The staff are rude, everything is in a foreign language (not english), the hotel is dirty and everything bar the reception needs completely refurbishing. The rooms are dire, sparsely furnished, rubbish TV, dodgy air con, dirty bedsheets and incredibly uncomfy beds. The bathrooms have clearly been updated and are in fact rather nice, just a shame about everything else. Sea view rooms are an extra €150 per night with the other side onlooking a main road and other buildings creating noise pollution, which can be easily heard at night. The corridors are dark and dim with rumpled up carpets and stains on the walls. The stairwells always had beer bottles or cans strewn in the corners and the lifts have dents in the metalwork. The room cleaners did not speak a word of english and did not knock when coming in. Outside, the place is infested with cats, whom the staff keep feeding, a majority of the sun loungers are on grass and under the shade of trees, set a good 60m away from the water, with a path in the way. The sun loungers on the beach itself you have to of course pay a premium for. The pool is incredibly cold, there is practically no grills over the gutters to the side and the tiles are cracked in many places along the edge. As for food, the catering is pretty average, ok breakfast and dinner, but nothing special, note, you have to pay for water at both dinner and breakfast so beware. WIFI is again expensive and provides a poor connection too. From further down the path, looking back at the hotel, there are great sheets of plaster and paint peeling of the side of the hidous building which makes you wonder if it should still be standing. Overall an awful stay we will most certainly not be staying here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Arabesque10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT again soon.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    119
    65
    25
    28
See reviews for
116
128
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
glos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Visited 10 yrs ago nice to see how it's doing we really loved it here right by the beach.Loved having g breakfast with a beach view, Dodd was fab trip to mountains great and staff were efficient tried all the cocktails which were properly made.went on the w weekend cruise to Israeli and Egypt

Room Tip: Sea view or Mountain view we . Had a week of each.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I was sold this as a 4* hotel. It is not. Looked like it hadn't been look after since the early 90s. Service was rude or non existent. Food was very poor. The noise was loud from the main road outside. Furniture was falling apart. I was also notified that the pool was illegal, as it was so deep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roach66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT again soon.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have just returned from staying at this hotel on business. Thankfully it was only for two nights, and it is acceptable enough but would I would not return to this hotel.

On arrival you will no doubt notice the lack of airconditioning in the lobby. Then if you are staying 'all inclusive' you will have a blue plastic band fixed to your wrist. (classy.. ) Looked great with my suit.

The hotel seems to be getting used as a package holiday hotel for the lower end of the market of people from the CIS. I don't believe that they were paying the 125 Euros a night i paid. If they were they were being robbed.

In the rooms, I don't think the furniture has been updated since the 1970s. There is no way I would have put my clothes in any of the drawers either. The carpet was as tired as the furniture.

The bathroom had perhaps been renovated in the 90s. That room was very clean and the house keeping staff are doing a good job from what i can see.

The lobby furniture was old and as a result dirty in places but the whole thing just looks a bit grimmy and 1970s.

Restaurant was ok but the food quality wasn't great and 'all inclusive' ends at midnight. (not sure if this is normal in Cyprus)

There is no wifi, the safe in the room is not included (and i still didn't manage to get maintenance to unlock it for me to use) There is very little security to the room. No extra lock or chain and the balcony door wouldn't lock. The minibar is locked too and comes at extra cost but unfortunately is left on so that you can hear the ancient thing buzzing at night. There was also a 10 Euro deposit for Pool towels that needs to be paid in cash. Is it just me or is 'all inclusive' not really the correct term at this hotel? Also you pay in full for the room at check-in.. i found this unusual too. I don't mean that they reserve the funds until check-out, you actually pay in advance. Lack of trust?

Reception was generally not helpful. Please see the comment above about trying to use the safe. Can only be done in certain hours. I asked on another occasion for an extra bath towel for my room as housekeeping had only left me one, to which the responce was "But you are only one person". I did get the towel but really i shouldn't have to explain myself on this one. I suppose i should be grateful that i didn't have to pay extra for that as well.

Good things... Well there are some. The girl on the bar is nice and friendly. The airconditioning in my room was very good. The mattrasses look like they are brand new (i checked when i saw how old everything else was) The shower was good even on the top floor and the Sea view from my room was great. The hotel backs right onto the beach and waterfront walkway...

As a business hotel this is useless. As a holiday hotel? Only if you could get for a greatly reduced rate and you were on a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oslo_Hebridean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT again soon.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We went for the day to this hotel and purchased an offer that they have for 25 Euros for the day for two adults, excellent offer which includes lunch, day at the pool, 2 coffees and 2 ice creams. Well the offer may have been good but we left after two hours and will not return again.
The reception staff on Monday the 22nd were so rude to us that after two hours of being there and sitting in disgust we decided we would rather leave lose the money and spend more money to go somewhere else than stay there and be insulted.

On arrival at the hotel and spoke to reception got our vouchers shoved at us and were told to be at lunch at 12.30 and not to be late in a rude attitude. we ignored this at first but when I asked if where we can get towels I was told... 'towels? for 25 Euros what do you expect, towels as well?' I was astonished if hotels make offers it is because they need the business and does not allow the staff to make you feel like you are cheap nothings. in the time of crisis Cyprus has finally started giving offers and discounts so people that use them are not cheap they are just looking for discounts on the previously outrageous prices.

The restaurant where we were supposed to eat was like an old deserted shack and the staff at the pool bar were equally as rude. No one came to offer us drinks, there are no staff around the beach or pool they just leave you to get on with it.

Don’t get me wrong I love Cyprus and its people and we left and had a wonderful day at the Dasoudi beach but Poseidonia hotel is not somewhere we will ever return to nor recommend.
We rather lost the 25 Euro than stay in a place that made us feel so uncomfortable and were so ungrateful for our business. If you want to do offers and generate business make sure your staff are on the same track.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChantelleCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are sorry for the bad experience you had during your last stay, however we hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT again soon.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Couldn't fault staff, location and facilities. Wonderful views from balcony looking out to sea. Not so good if you were on the mountain view side & the noise from traffic would have been a problem. The breakfast was very acceptable with a wide choice. Staff were absolutely excellent & very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. It was lovely to see the young children going off in a line for there swimming lessons. Apart from the carpets needing replacing I could not fault this hotel. It was also nice to walk in the small gardens - not many hotels can say that in Cyprus.

Room Tip: Sea view a must and the higher the better - even though I don't like heights
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Nice Hotel - with great location! Located by the sea - you can use both the pool of the hotel or the sea. Food was good and breakfast also. Rooms need renovation, but the view from the 6th floor was amazing!Lobby area is nice. If you are looking for a nice quiet time by the sea and not very luxury hotel - this one is recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprexpens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rs021014a, Owner at Poseidonia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We hope to welcome you again under A NEW MANAGEMENT this time.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel closed its doors on 9 November 2013, and the previous management handed it back to its owners who will run the hotel themselves with all the care and attention of a family run business.

The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is closed till the beginning of May 2014.
Construction work on the outside of the building and a face-lift of some of the public areas of the hotel are currently taking place.

A new team is being recruited and trained in order to deliver a personalized and standout service to everyone who comes in through our doors…Every guest will be offered a warm welcome and will be made to feel special, valued and most importantly made to feel at home.

Our aim is to create a new and improved image for the Poseidonia Beach Hotel !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
1,837 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
881 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidonia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidonia Beach Hotel

Property: Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Address: Amathus Area | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3502, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#12 Business Hotel in Limassol
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Family Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poseidonia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is now under new management as it is now being run by its Owners. It is an upscale hotel located in a prime location in Limassol Bay, between the areas of Yermasoyia and Amathus. The hotel is set amidst stunning landscaped gardens which offer an idyllic retreat for a relaxing getaway in Cyprus and offers its guests have the choice of having Bed & Breakfast, Half Board or All Inclusive. Most importantly, the Poseidonia Beach Hotel tells the story of the legacy of Poseidon - the God of the Sea - it is imbedded in every room, hallway and restaurant. The new Management of the hotel cares about its guests stories' as much as its own and aims to create an experience in which both stories are combined and transformed into lasting memories.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Poseidonia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidonia Beach
Poseidonia Beach Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing