We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel exceeded our expectations for a 4* abroad. It has been refurbished very recently and every room has a new bathroom. The pool was a good size and no problem at all with getting beds as the majority of Russian guests tend to prefer the beach. The bedrooms were spacious and very clean. There was the option to hire a fridge and/or safe also. The food was fantastic - every night there was a theme so you never got sick of eating the same things! There was always a large selection of salads as well as the hot buffet. The desserts were also wonderful with a good choice every night. Each night you eat in the dinning room which is also very fresh with waiter service for drinks. The breakfasts and lunches were also very good served in the basement of the hotel looking unto the beach. The only negative thing I would have to say about the hotel is that the beds are very hard! But apart from that you will really enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peacock1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
There are newer reviews for Poseidonia Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2010

We agree with Norma29 review. Although we didnt meet her there ,the experience was the same. Unfortunately we had our 10 yr old son & teenage daughter with us. We spent many a time at Mcdonalds which is just down the road. We complained to the Thomas Cook rep which tried to fob us off as a naive traveller, we have been visiting limassol for 25 yrs. Rep said it is rated 3* but brochure said 4* !! English breakfast was ok for mass catering. Lunch everyday was boiled rice, beef, lamb or pork stew. At 2.30 afternoon snacks were available, chips, burger, nuggets, fishfingers. One of the many cats almost choked to death on a fishfinger so it didnt like them either. I asumed this was the only time kids could eat as there was nothing on offer at normal meal times. Icecream was for kids only and was a smartprice style chocice. I went to get one for my son but they wouldnt serve me as the kids had to go for them themselves I was told if I wanted a sandwich the bread,ham &cheese was available to make it yourself. Each night was a theme night but there always seemed to have rice and stew as one option! Bbq night was not a bbq it was a burger grilled, and when I asked for grilled halloumi from russian chef after first getting plate of stilton and cheddar, then uncooked halloumi, the burnt halloumi..I never asked again! Rep got the hotel to change wording for our second week. Cyprus night was affelia (stew),. RICE! half cooked sheftalia (sausage) This was the best night for entertainment as local dancers came in. Every other night it was an old man playing keyboard or guitar with pre recorded backing music ( busker style ). The only thing this hotel has is it is right on the beach. We will be back in Limassol in october at our usual hotel, atlantica oasis, now that is what I call a 4* all inc!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyingal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

visited Poseidonia Beach with friends, stayed all inclusive for a week. Hotel itself was ok, and the room was very dated, but clean, maid's came in every day to make your bed and tidy around. Think the hotel need to put some effort into updating the bedrooms. This hotel in my opinion is not the best 4* all inclusive i've stayed at.

The hotel is located on the beach which is lovely, as you have a breeze in the afternoon, making it so much easier to sunbathe, it was really hot!!. would advise beach shoes as it's very rocky as you go into the sea, but once out there it's fine.

The food served was not typical of any A I, i've stayed at and glad i hadn't taken my
children with me, as they would have been hungry most of the time, as the hotel do not provide a childrens menu at either lunch time or evening meal, the only time children were catered for would have been after lunch, when they provided basic snacks items eg chips (the only time they are served), beef burger, nuggets.

The hotel does not have a snack bar which serves food throughout the day, when I enquired about a sandwich, I was informed that I would have to pay for it from the snack menu which would have cost 10 Euros. I've always had such foods included within the All Inclusive package. On our last day we asked for an ice cream, to which we were informed that these were for children only!! and if we wanted one, we'd have to purchase it.

Some staff are friendly although few and far between, although "Boris" the bar man, is really nice and always made you feel very welcome with a big smile.

The hotel caters for mostly Russian holiday makers with English coming 2nd and Polish - 3rd, we found them to be extremely rude with little or no manners.

The hotel is a little out of the way, so you have to either walk or get a taxi into the main area, although a short walk up the road, there are some bars which were really good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Norma29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

my husband myself and our 10 year old granddaughter stayed here and had quite a good holiday. It is not good enough to call it a 4 star hotel 3 star would be more like it. The dining area and reception which we beleive had been refurbished where the only part that could be slightly better than a 3 star. The food was average certainly not 4 star standard.The bed rooms where large and reasonably comfortable but certainly not 4 star standard. We where not allowed to make drinks in our room or use curling tongues or anythin electrical for that matter they said it was due to fire risks, this is the first hotel we have ever been in where you could not use these items rather annoying really. It was rather a long way out of the town so we had to keep catching the bus into the town as there was not a lot to do at the hotel. I dont think we would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmomma66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Our first impression when we got to our dull looking room, after walking along a corridor with stained carpets, was 'lets not unpack and we'll upgrade to a better hotel'. However, being tired from travelling we decided to wait until the next day, and slowly the place grew on us.
First the positives:
Our room had a nice modern bathroom; more about the bedroom in the negatives. Very nice recently refurbished public areas, including a very comfotable lounge and bar area.
Nice dining room. Food pretty good in general, always piping hot with reasonable selection.
Good gym, spa and hotel shop. Clean pool and furnished pool area.
Hotel spotlessly clean, cleaners diligent and very obliging.
Nice gardens and grassed area leading to beach with plenty of sun loungers.
Pool towels available for a deposit.
Nice beach bar serving good selection of decent quality drinks.
Most of the staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We were all inclusive which was excellent value for the price we paid.
Now the negatives:
The area around the hotel is very unattractive, in fact the whole Amathus strip is the same, even outside the Four Seasons and other 5 star hotels. We paid for a sea view room, an essential as the inland rooms overlook the dual carriageway which is used as a race track at nights.
The hotel bedrooms need refurbishing. Good size with plenty of storage space and decent balcony but the stained carpets and faded bedspreads are off putting.
On our second week the temperature became extremely high, and unfortunately in the evenings the hotel decided to open all the bar and lounge doors, letting in the humid hot air and shutting off the air-conditioning, making it very unpleasant to sit in. When speaking to the manager about this he claimed that the guests opened the doors - not true as we watched the staff do it each night. I wonder if this was this a ploy to make guests go to the beach bar, which after 6pm was no longer part of the all inclusive package? The Ladies' toilets serving the beach and pool (only two of them) were out of order for the whole two weeks we were there. Each time we complained we were told they would be mended tomorrow - however tomorrow never came!
The beach is man-made with what looks like dark builders sand which turns black and unpleasant when wet. Access to the sea is not easy as there are lots of stones so swimming shoes are advisable, also walking on the sand is difficult as from 11am it is burning hot - very amusing watching people trying to negotiate it!
The majority of guests are Russian, as in most of Cyprus now. Some are friendly but generally they appear to be a very dour race, confirmed by a couple of guests from Moscow who we made friends with. There were no rowdy groups, mostly middle aged or families and no-one appeared to abuse the free flowing alcoholic drinks..
Overall we had a pleasant holiday, if we returned it would probably be because of the very good value - people seem to forget that generally you only get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abigailNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

We live in Cyprus and had 5 members of our family visit us, so we decided to take a break here for 2 nights 3 days. 10 of us in all, 6 adults, 2 children and 2 babies. On first looks, the hotel looks impressive but on closer inspection you notice the shoddy workmanship (which i've become used to after 2 years living here). We were there on an all inclusive package which was below standard. For example, they have a good beach bar and a very small bar in the hotel by the pool. Come night time, the beach bar remains open, but is no longer all inclusive. So you have to move to the much smaller bar that has a more adult feel and not much room for kids to be kids. During the day, the pool bar had only one members of staff, who had a habit of wondering off, in the end it was quicker to go to the beach bar and bring a drink back to the pool. A 4* hotel with hundreds of rooms (we were room 503) and they only had one barman on duty?! The downstairs eating area has a problem with flies and an even bigger problem with stray cats. We've been all over the island on weekend breaks and this has been our least enjoyable. Next time we'll go back to Paphos or Protarus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcdavey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

My husband and I were voluntarily working for an organisation which was using this hotel as its venue for a couple of conferences so it seemed logical to stay there. Big mistake! The lower the pecking order the nicer the staff. Male receptionist terrible very arrogant. Noise from traffic almost unbearable. Room large, two beds plus enormous double bed for two of us however the sheets were not big enough for the double bed, The shower was pathetic with little if no power. The bath was so narrow it was even difficult to stand in it to take a shower. o add insult to injury, considering the cost there were no tea-making facilities and, as we were booked in on a B&B basis we were not allowed (!) even hot water to make a drink after breakfast was over. We were forced to buy tea, coffee, powdered milk and a coil to heat up the water in a mug loaned to us by the company we were working for. The breakfast was absolutely dreadful and we were reduced to just having cornflakes. I cannot even begin to describe the fried eggs, ugh and yeeuk! All in all a dreadful place, very very expensive and, on top of everything I used the internet facility twice and was charged for using it FIVE times! I gave up trying to get my money back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julia4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#7 of 56 in Limassol
955 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#11 of 56 in Limassol
1,454 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ajax Hotel
Ajax Hotel
#17 of 56 in Limassol
506 reviews
2.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 56 in Limassol
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidonia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidonia Beach Hotel

Address: Amathus Area | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3502, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#12 Business Hotel in Limassol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Family Hotel in Limassol
Price Range: £56 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poseidonia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is now under new management as it is now being run by its Owners. It is an upscale hotel located in a prime location in Limassol Bay, between the areas of Yermasoyia and Amathus. The hotel is set amidst stunning landscaped gardens which offer an idyllic retreat for a relaxing getaway in Cyprus and offers its guests have the choice of having Bed & Breakfast, Half Board or All Inclusive. Most importantly, the Poseidonia Beach Hotel tells the story of the legacy of Poseidon - the God of the Sea - it is imbedded in every room, hallway and restaurant. The new Management of the hotel cares about its guests stories' as much as its own and aims to create an experience in which both stories are combined and transformed into lasting memories.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Poseidonia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidonia Beach
Poseidonia Beach Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing