We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Reading the reviews before our holiday we weren't really looking forward to our holiday at this hotel.!!!!! on our arrival at 19.00 we walked through to a lovely air conditioned reception to check in and we were met by a very polite English speaking cypriot lady.our 11yr old daughter said i am going to see wat the food was like as the reviews said the food was poor, she came back and said we must be in the wrong hotel as the food looked nice and the dinning room was immaculate!!!!!! so that was a good start.our hotel rooms were very spacious and clean maid service every day we were lucky to have a sea view room at no extra charge because the hotel was full at the time and was a beautiful view with not a cloud in the sky for two weeks but was rather on the hot side hitting over forty degrees glad of the air conditioning.Breakfast and lunch was served in a separate dinning room which was on beach level yes there was flys and stray cats but they never came into the dinning room the people that sat outside did feed them obviously felt sorry for them nothing wrong with that,if you sat in your garden at home and eat your lunch you would see flys around!!!!!the pool which was supposed to be a pond yes it wasn't very big but was immaculately clean and the man was there every day looking after it checking the chlorine levels ,we never had a problem getting a sunbed no matter what time we tried,there was also plenty of sunbeds on the grassed area beside the beach and beach bar.the beach bar stopped all inclusive aftre 6pm don't understand why? we never had a problem with queing at any of the bars day or night.the only downside if you could call it that was the entertainment on a night they had singers and cyproit dancers and a piano player,for the children there was only one aimation lady called pam who was really nice and tried her best with waterpolo and mini discos but nothing for 8 plus years they got really bored.overall we had a great relaxing holiday and would recommend it to anyone them thats wrote a bad review must be hard to please!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steph61_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    119
    65
    25
    28
See reviews for
116
129
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I read ealier reviews before finally plumbing for the Poseidonia (We ended up calling it Pox-adonia). I don't think 4 star hotels have peeling paint in the bedrooms do they? More like a 2 star.
I had some reservations about it, but was under pressure to get a holiday booked quickly. Big mistake.
Pretty much what earlier reviewers have written about the all inclusive nightmare, bad food, bad service, feeling unwelcome being an all-inc guest, given a quite rude attitude to not wearing their bright green wristband that indicates all-inc guest (given that we were there ten day's we didn't want to be wearing an ASBO bracelet that long).
All-inc had to qeue to get drinks etc, paying guests had drinks served at their beach bar tables ahead of all-inc.
We ended up eating out in the end as we couldn't face another night of rehashed rice/meatballs and bland salad. Wine they served was undrinkable (tasted like home brewed wine) My gf had one cocktail and it was foul, we drank the local flavourless beer only after that!
Staff don't give a toss, most don't even talk to you. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are accompanied by crashing plates and cutlery around you, as if they want to drive you out of the dining room as soon as possible by a whirlwind of cleaning up.
The room was on the road side (4 lanes) so balcony was not useable for long, and they wanted an extra 20 euro a night if we wanted a seaside room. Have to pay 2 euro a day for the fridge to be turned on and another 2 euro a day if you want to use the room safe (they don't have a safe in the reception either, so we hid our valuables in the ceiling!!)
Felt pretty despondent on the first couple of days that it was going to be the holiday from hell but we made a huge joke out of the whole thing and just went with it in our own way.
After a few days of laying round the beach, we walked the seaside path past a few really nice hotels nearby and realised what a bloody dump we were staying in.
In a nutshell, not made to feel welcome, they had our money and didn't make any more effort to ensure we had a nice time, no local attraction or tour information other than a few fliers, the desk staff didn't even know the bus times outside the door, tired and run down hotel that might have been ok 20 years ago.
Never going back there, probably won't go back to Cyprus after the experience. Seems like it had it's hey day 20 years back, plenty of other sunny/ cheap country's to holiday in.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 996Aleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

I went with my boyfriend and his friends to attend a wedding in Limassol. One of his friends has found this hotel and we decided to follow his lead. What a huge mistake!

First and foremost, we paid over 100euro a night for a double room in a 3 star hotel facing the street, this is a complete reap off. This hotel is old and rundown and their floor carpet must have been there for the past 10 years. Not only does it has a stale odour , it is also full of stains. All through the 5 days stay, I have never dare stepped on it without flip flops.

There is a good size wooden closet in the room and again it has a strange odour and I was afraid that I would break the door anytime since it was kind of worn out and flimsy.

Both in our room and our friends' rooms , there were brown / yellow stains on the bedsheets and the stained and dirty bedcover is your blanket. Pillows are of flattened cotton. There is a disconnected fridge in the room abd you will have to pay 2 euro PER DAY to get it connected. This is the most absurd thing I have ever come across for all the hotels I have stayed in.

No wifi in room and if you want to use their wifi in the lobby, you will have to pay 10 euro a day ( actually upto 12am, doesn't matter when you login , not 24 hrs like in most hotel). There is 1 old computer in the lobby and it is 5 euro per 30 mins.

The aircon and the shower worked fine but you have to be very careful when standing in the bathtub because it is extremely slippery since there is no non slip mat or stickers on it. Towels are greyish white and with shredded edges. There were a couple of days that the hotel run short of towels and bath towels were distributed around 6 pm. But at least they do wash the towels.

NO aircon in the coffee shop next to the beach and the pool and service was bad, only if you can get any service at all. Maybe it was due to the heat, (it was the hottest week in Cyprus , over 40C ) there were no smiles on all the faces of the waiters and waitresses.

There is a bar near the beach which also serves food and drinks and their burger is pretty good. But during lunch time (12pm to 1:30 pm) there is only one waiter there, which means you will have to wait a long time for your drinks and food.

The sunbeds supplied by the hotel are all on the lawn area around 1 ft apart and if you want to get the sunbeds on the beach, you will need to pay 2.50 euro which of course is not a big deal. The beach is covered with pebbles and sand is black in color.

I have never seen a little bit of smile with various front desk / reception people and most of the time they frowned when you asked for information. You will have to do some research with the restaurants and the places to go since you cannot get any suggestion or advice from the hotel staff. There are a couple of small restaurants 5 mins walk away from the hotel and a supermarket nearby. Buses are close to non existence and taxis are horribly expensive. Most of the time the taxi driver won't even turn on the meter and we always pay 10 euro for a 3 min drive ( some of our friends stayed in mediterranean hotel).

On the day when we checked out, the lady in the reception area refused to turn on the aircon in the lobby area with the excuse that everyone goes in and out of the hotel and it is a waste of the energy. This is absolutely the most ridiculous thing that I have ever heard from the hotel receptionist!

Afterall, I have never stayed in such a bad hotel and I would definitely reccommend others to stay AWAY from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hkhappygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Together with my wife and two young kids (3 yrs, 10months) I've passed a week at the Poseidonia Beach Hotel using their all inclusive tariff. As we've visited due to the wedding of a close friend I had the chance of seeing two other hotels interiors where other wedding guests where staying: the Mediterranean Beach hotel and the Amathus Hotel both of which are very close to the location of the PBH so they share the same beach and similar nightlife.
Both look much better than the PBH as the later needs a major restyling of the common parts and rooms if it wants to look anything like a 4* hotel. On the other hand the PBH rates are less expensive and offers the AI base that can be helpful.
Regarding food quality and variety: taste wise food is average considering that it is buffet style and needs to be done for over 100 people. Variety as well is acceptable as there was always a choice between chicken, pork, and fish (even though the fish was always the same type, probably cod, cooked differently). Some trouble regarding the kids exists but I've always found something that my 3yr boy would eat (although not too happily :-)
Rooms: our family sea view room was large enough for us and the bathrooms had been recently renovated even though ours started showing signs of wear (shower handle wouldn't keep its position on the post). As stated previously the room seemed from the '70s. The view was beautiful and staying on the 4th floor the room proved to be quiet.
Service: The majority of the staff is probably seasonal and are very intimidated by the local senior management that usually is arrogant and un-helpful (on the contrary of the seasonal staff). Overall I believe that the management should take some hospitality training to understand how customers should be treated.
Beach and Pool: The beach is sandy and gets very hot as other have pointed out. Although the sand is substituted by small pebbles on the shore the entrance in the water is nothing to be worried of. The real let down was the fact the hotel doesn't have its own sun umbrellas and sunbeds on the shore. These are only provided approx 10m away where the hotel propriety starts. So we had to rent these from a nearby exercise for 5 Euros a day. The sea wasn't spectacular as it had some debris as leaves and algae floating as well as not being particularly limpid.
The pool was good-sized for the guests but the water was particularly hot. No problem in finding sunbeds.
Overall: I think the hotel should be rated as 3* now, as it was probably a 4* hotel some decades ago and needs a major revamping to get to the same standard of the other nearby hotels. On the other hand it is less expensive and it shares the same beach and location. As a final comment, I wouldn't visit again Cyprus in Limassol, but most probably go to Aya Napa for the best beaches (although crowded). August temperature never went below 32°C (reaching over 42°C during the day) and humidity rates are very high: bear this in mind if thinking of visiting Cyprus!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Stayed at the Poseidonia for a week mid July, were given a road side room. Altough very dated 70s style, the room and the bathroom were of a good size and very clean and basic . Rest of the hotel was bit outdated as well but clean. Most of the tourists there are Russian . The hotel is situated on the beach front.
The safe and fridge don't come as a standard unlike any other hotels I have stayed at and there is a charge of € 2 a day to hire either of them.
The breakfast was ok nothing spectacular.
This hotel is certainly not a 4 stars hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel exceeded our expectations for a 4* abroad. It has been refurbished very recently and every room has a new bathroom. The pool was a good size and no problem at all with getting beds as the majority of Russian guests tend to prefer the beach. The bedrooms were spacious and very clean. There was the option to hire a fridge and/or safe also. The food was fantastic - every night there was a theme so you never got sick of eating the same things! There was always a large selection of salads as well as the hot buffet. The desserts were also wonderful with a good choice every night. Each night you eat in the dinning room which is also very fresh with waiter service for drinks. The breakfasts and lunches were also very good served in the basement of the hotel looking unto the beach. The only negative thing I would have to say about the hotel is that the beds are very hard! But apart from that you will really enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peacock1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We agree with Norma29 review. Although we didnt meet her there ,the experience was the same. Unfortunately we had our 10 yr old son & teenage daughter with us. We spent many a time at Mcdonalds which is just down the road. We complained to the Thomas Cook rep which tried to fob us off as a naive traveller, we have been visiting limassol for 25 yrs. Rep said it is rated 3* but brochure said 4* !! English breakfast was ok for mass catering. Lunch everyday was boiled rice, beef, lamb or pork stew. At 2.30 afternoon snacks were available, chips, burger, nuggets, fishfingers. One of the many cats almost choked to death on a fishfinger so it didnt like them either. I asumed this was the only time kids could eat as there was nothing on offer at normal meal times. Icecream was for kids only and was a smartprice style chocice. I went to get one for my son but they wouldnt serve me as the kids had to go for them themselves I was told if I wanted a sandwich the bread,ham &cheese was available to make it yourself. Each night was a theme night but there always seemed to have rice and stew as one option! Bbq night was not a bbq it was a burger grilled, and when I asked for grilled halloumi from russian chef after first getting plate of stilton and cheddar, then uncooked halloumi, the burnt halloumi..I never asked again! Rep got the hotel to change wording for our second week. Cyprus night was affelia (stew),. RICE! half cooked sheftalia (sausage) This was the best night for entertainment as local dancers came in. Every other night it was an old man playing keyboard or guitar with pre recorded backing music ( busker style ). The only thing this hotel has is it is right on the beach. We will be back in Limassol in october at our usual hotel, atlantica oasis, now that is what I call a 4* all inc!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
2.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidonia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidonia Beach Hotel

Property: Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Address: Amathus Area | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3502, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#12 Business Hotel in Limassol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#14 Family Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poseidonia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poseidonia Beach Hotel is now under new management as it is now being run by its Owners. It is an upscale hotel located in a prime location in Limassol Bay, between the areas of Yermasoyia and Amathus. The hotel is set amidst stunning landscaped gardens which offer an idyllic retreat for a relaxing getaway in Cyprus and offers its guests have the choice of having Bed & Breakfast, Half Board or All Inclusive. Most importantly, the Poseidonia Beach Hotel tells the story of the legacy of Poseidon - the God of the Sea - it is imbedded in every room, hallway and restaurant. The new Management of the hotel cares about its guests stories' as much as its own and aims to create an experience in which both stories are combined and transformed into lasting memories.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Poseidonia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poseidonia Beach
Poseidonia Beach Limassol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing