We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, but still crappy Internet.”
Review of Ajax Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ajax Hotel
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice stay, but still crappy Internet.”
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My 5th stay in this hotel. If you rely on Internet to do work and synchronizing your e-mails, you should probably pick another hotel. Internet works OK in Lobby and Bar, but I have not found any working reliably on 2nd, 3d, or 5th floor.

Staff is very forgetful. Complained about the A/C not working 3 times, yet nothing got fixed. The only thing this hotel has going for it, is a great breakfast, nice pool area and good prices.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the pool area = also sew
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 747FAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    205
    109
    29
    18
See reviews for
77
149
32
153
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We booked this hotel for 3 nights at a good rate and we used it to travel around cyprus driving car each day towards pafos, nicosia and ayia napa(all of them about 1 hour drive). It is mainly a business hotel quite located in the suburb of limassol, not near the toursit area, well organised and functional; the lobby and the other common areas deserved 4 star, cant say the same about the room, not very clean and a little outdated.
Very good buffet breakfast and wireless connection working only in the lobby with very weak or no signal in my room. For the price i paid i would definitely recommend it and come back again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
1 Thank davide0586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

if You need a spot to sleep over at Limassol and do not expect to spend the day at the beach, still want to have an excellent breakfast, experience a very good attitude by the staff then definitely this is the place! Just do not expect to watch TV, at least mine was not working, but it gave me an extra hour to sleep, and the sleep was really nice. And the price is so attractive that you would not expect to get even have of the service they provide. And last but not least the wi-fi is for free!

Room Tip: ask for a see view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakeGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Stayed for a week during February. Chose the hotel for three reasons: 1) reasonable room rates, 2) free wifi and 3) facilities. Despite reading many reviews about wifi not working well, it was fine both in room and lobby areas. Staff were great, we asked to change rooms three times, to get a double bed instead of twin and then to move to front of hotel where it is sunnier. Reception staff even rung us to ask if we were happy with final choice of room. The rooms are not plush, but basic and clean. Bathrooms could do with a re-fit (not modern), but fine/clean. Breakfast is great, the gym is good (used by locals) and the outdoor pool and surrounding area is nicely refurbished. Indoor pool is quite small (~15m). Lobby bar and restaurant staff were also friendly and helpful. I would recommend this for a business trip, but not for a holiday though as it's a 20mins from beach (which isn't a nice one either).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_morrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I would rate this hotel higher except for the Internet, which was poor to non-existant most of the time. It doesn't matter if its free if it doesn't work!!
The staff were very good and the rooms quite acceptable at this price range. But when the Internet didn't work of Saturday I was told that it woul dbe fixed the next day. It wasn't and on Sunday I was told that support staff didn't work on Sunday. That's not good enpough for Internet support, but it did work Monday. Then it stopped again on Tuesday. I left on Wednesday.
A good place if you do not need an Internet connection.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0mmyBahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajaxhotel, Public Relations Manager at Ajax Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear guest, thank you for visiting our hotel and providing your comments. I understand you had some issues with the internet signal. We examined your case and consulted expert technicians to solve this issue. Even though we don't usually have any problems, we will reinforce the signal to keep everyone happy! I apologize for any inconvenience this might have caused and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. I believe that you will enjoy surfing the web either in your room, lobby or bar areas!

Once again thank you for your comments.

Alkisti Nicolaou
on behalf of The Ajax Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limavady, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My wife & I have just returned from a 3 weeks half-board stay at the Ajax. We spent a similar holiday there 2 years ago, and were so delighted with the service that for the first time in our lives we decided this year to repeat a holiday.

Before I attempt to critique the hotel, I must comment on the staff. I believe that it is the quality of the staff, rather than the star rating of any accomodation, which determines just how good a hotel is, and in this case, the Ajax has it in spades.

I'd like to start at reception, and in particular with Elena, who, incredibly, remembered us from 2 years back (despite not leaving her a tip!). There was nothing too much trouble for her to sort out. Then there were the maintenance engineers. We had a couple of minor electrical problems in our room, but these guys were there within 10 minutes to fix the problem.

The restaurant: 2 years ago I thought the food was good - this time it was even better! (I know, if you're typical English and you're looking for bangers and chips, this is not the hotel for you - better to go B&B because the breakfast menu offers plenty of fried, or scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages, as well as the local or continental choices. But if you want to savour local, well presented and prepared local food - this is the hotel for you.

The restaurant staff, whether waiters, or the indomitable but friendly maitre-de, are some of the most hospitable and efficient I have come across. Whether it be Marios, or Andreas, or Vassas, or George, they are the best you could ask for.

This hotel is clean, clean, clean. The bars, the terraces and the pool area are all proper 4 Star. The entertainment, twice weekly, is very good and of a good quality.

The Ajax is not your typical holiday hotel, it is a commercial/tourist hotel, and as such, you just don't get rowdy guests. Tourists come from Ireland, England, Scotland, Germany, France, Greece, Chechoslovakia, Egypt, Japan and Korea (All of these were there when we were), as well as locals from other areas of Cyprus.

I like this, because when I go on holiday, I want to meet people from somewhere else, not just from where I come from, That's what travel is all about, and the Ajax provides that opportunity.

This hotel is not for those who want to fall out of bed and roll on to the beach - the closest beach is 20 minutes walk away. This is a city hotel, situated just yards away from the Limassol city boundary. But the beauty about Limassol is that if you hire a car, it is the best base for touring the island.

If I had a complaint, there is only one, but for someone else, it would probably be a plus feature. It is this - the beds are a little too hard. They are probably the only thing about the hotel that is not 4 Star. Big deal? Perhaps, but the daily maid service more than compensates for it.

Would I go back for another visit - You Bet!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavyDyMonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajaxhotel, Public Relations Manager at Ajax Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear guest thank for taking time to write these wonderful comments for our hotel! I will definitely inform our staff, as it is always a pleasure to hear that the effort we put into our work is recognized by our guests! What gives the Ajax Hotel its unique character is that we mostly employ locals who can welcome guests the 'Cyprus way'; with a smile and a friendly service.

Once again thank you for recognizing our efforts!

Alkisti Nicolaou
On behalf of the Ajax Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Excellent Hotel very good value .We stayed bed/breakfeast -food and dining areas very clean ,staff very attentive.excellent variety of food full english or continental .
We stayed on fourth floor overlooking the pool and the room was certainly very acceptable. Air conditioning on 24/7.Lots of cubboard space and room of good size.
Hotel about 15 mins walk from beach and a car is really required .Car parking at hotel available.
If you are thinking of booking DO IT .You wont be disapointed .This was our second visit and we will definatly retuern as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkieBoy2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#10 of 57 in Limassol
674 reviews
3.0 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#14 of 57 in Limassol
395 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alasia Hotel
Alasia Hotel
#3 of 57 in Limassol
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kapetanios Odyssia
Kapetanios Odyssia
#15 of 57 in Limassol
354 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajax Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajax Hotel

Property: Ajax Hotel
Address: Georgiou Neophytou & D. Nicolaou Street | PO Box 56988, Mesa Geitonia, Limassol 3311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajax Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Limassol within easy reach of the commercial center, the beach, and the town's famous tourist area. The Ajax is renowned for high standards of accommodation and personal service and lends its prestigious address to an international clientele for both business and pleasure. ROOMS AND SUITES Our guest rooms and suites have been furnished with care and attention to create an atmosphere of elegance comfort. All rooms have balcony, mini-bar, coffee making facilities, hair dryer, satellite television, radio, international direct dial telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning, and valet and 18-hour room service. All rooms feature Free Wi-Fi internet access, working desk, and safe box. Our rooms are ideal for relaxing or working in comfort. Suites feature all the facilities of the executive rooms as well as a separate living room, king size bed, LCD TV and a larger bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ajax Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing