We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice”
Review of Ajax Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ajax Hotel
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This is the third return to Ajax. Still a very good hotel with efficient check in and out procedure. Rooms comfortable with safe and mini bar (although a bit expensive), basic amenities in bathroom. Very good breakfast. Close to beach (10 minutes on foot), need a car to go to city center. Rooms at the upper floors are more quiet than those lower.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller-Cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

301 - 307 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

This was probably the worst hotel we stayed in years and I will explain why.
First of all cleanness is absent. As you can see in the photo the mattress had stain of someone's pee! This is a 4 start hotel? No hotel should have this but this is supposed to be a 4 star. The mattress and pillow was so hard to sleep on as well.
Second the description on the website clearly does not correspond to the actual room. It says that the rooms were recently renovated but as you can see in the photos the forgot about the bathroom as it had broken tiles. The carpet was also old and the room was smelly. The website claim that rooms have 32" lcd screen but as you can see in our room the tv was only 19-20.
The breakfast was very mediocre for a 4 start hotel. No fresh coffee and you had to make your own in a coffee machine. We had to wait for the chef to refill some items.
Never going again to this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolasiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This hotel looks decent on the outside and displays 4 stars and a renovated lobby. Do not be fooled. Compared to other hotels in Cyprus and Limassol, this is very dissapointing. I checked in for 1 day and left the next. The elevators hardly work and break down often. The hotel is not at all a good value. Everyone crowds in the lobby, because they charge for internet access (where almost all other comparable hotels do not). However, the lobby wifi is of poor quality. The only positive is that the front desk receptionist is kind and sincere. You get the distinct sense here that the hotel is trying to milk you and take every cent from you. The hotel deserves 2 stars, not 4 as advertised.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor facing the ocean... although i am not so sure Ajax management will accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crayolalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The first think you should know is that it's not on the beach area. It's a nice hotel with clean rooms and comfortable rooms with, private bathroom, TV, mini bar ...........The pool area is nice and the lobby bar offers anything you want. The hotel has a gym and an inside pool. They offer many services. The hotel needs renovation but they try to keep it in a good condition.
The breakfast was good , even though for a 4 star hotel, they could do better, but as i said it's value for money.
The only thing i didn't like is the coffee tray on the room. They should check the glasses even if it looks that it's not been used . They were dirty and the kettle was forgotten there for a long time with no cleaning. Other than that it was a good weekend.

Room Tip: I guess all rooms has city view. nothing special in any direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreas1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I've stayed twice in this hotel now, and the rooms are quiet and clean. The service has been good and the breakfast is pretty extensive. I haven't used any of the amenities or services, so have no comment about what else the hotel offers. When in the area, I'd stay in this hotel again. The view to the sea from the higher floors is minimal, but present. Always good for a nice sunrise or sunset photo, but quite far from the shore itself.

The elevators in this hotel have a mind of their own.

Room Tip: I prefered the Eastern side of the building, as housekeeping always opened the curtains and door, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kruser67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Location plays a big role in the choice of this hotel. The hotel is in fact located at the eastern boundary of the city. You are neither in the old town nor in the so-called touristic area (which is further East). It is true that you can walk around 15 minutes to reach the sea cost promenade, but the walk is not exactly through a glamorous area and more important after this walk you will reach the sea but not exactly the beach, which will require another 5 to 10 minutes to reach (but don't expect a white sandy beach nearby: it is still a city beach. For the real stuff prepare to go further).
To reach the old town (where the nightlife is), you should be ready to walk at least 45 minutes or, more realistically, to take a taxi.
Having said so, all in all the hotel is pleasant, with few remarks:
The positive:
- staff very friendly, smiling and really helpful (special mention for Zoe and Aliz)
- nice lobby, acceptable breakfast choice. Sitting on outside patio overlooking the pool for breakfast is a really enjoyable morning experience.
- swimming pool area very pleasant
- very well equipped gym with modern and efficient machines and helpful personnel
- decent rooms, renovated in 2009, beds a little hard.
The less-positive:
- bathrooms really not up the standard of a 4 stars hotel. Looks like the renovation did not reach the bathrooms: they are clean but very torn, with a cold light over this greyish marble and the sign of times all over. These are really bathrooms of a 2 stars hotel.
- wi fi not free and quite expensive
- choice of tv channels very limited
Having said this, at 85/90 Euro/night this hotel is definitely good value for money.

At the end the choice for this hotel comes down to the reason why you are travelling to Limassol. If it is for business, I surely recommend it. If it is for tourism, you can find better locations but they will probably come at much higher price.

Room Tip: Chose a room with odd numbers (ex. 513, 417) as they have to pool view. the even numbers have a quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marco_and_nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The room was clean but bathroom needs renovation. Excellent reception service, nice breakfast, nice lobby. Good swimming pool but had many external clients and pool bar service was terrible. We didn't ask for a special view from the room and was bit disappointing when realized that we face some dirty buildings

Room Tip: check twice room's view before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliviaG2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
1.8 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 56 in Limassol
996 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 56 in Limassol
707 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harmony Bay Hotel
Harmony Bay Hotel
#17 of 56 in Limassol
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
Poseidonia Beach Hotel
#15 of 56 in Limassol
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 56 in Limassol
715 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajax Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajax Hotel

Address: Georgiou Neophytou & D. Nicolaou Street | PO Box 56988, Mesa Geitonia, Limassol 3311, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Limassol
Price Range: £60 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ajax Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ajax Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Limassol within easy reach of the commercial center, the beach, and the town's famous tourist area. The Ajax is renowned for high standards of accommodation and personal service and lends its prestigious address to an international clientele for both business and pleasure. ROOMS AND SUITES Our guest rooms and suites have been furnished with care and attention to create an atmosphere of elegance comfort. All rooms have balcony, mini-bar, coffee making facilities, hair dryer, satellite television, radio, international direct dial telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning, and valet and 18-hour room service. All rooms feature Free Wi-Fi internet access, working desk, and safe box. Our rooms are ideal for relaxing or working in comfort. Suites feature all the facilities of the executive rooms as well as a separate living room, king size bed, LCD TV and a larger bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ajax Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing