We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sky Hotel
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Very central location
Well priced
About a 2 star standard
Good wifi
Nice. Restaurants nearby and walking distance to all centre and border crossing
Recommended here where hotels are fairly dear
Negotiated a room only rate
Cheaper if you book direct with hotel rather then online

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Sky Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a budget hotel in an old building but it does have some good positives. The location was excellent as it was right in the middle of the pedestrian area in the centre of Nicosia just a few minutes walk from the bus station.
When we arrived we were given a very big room with large balcony but the next day we had to move as someone else had booked it!! We were given the keys of two rooms so we could choose which we wanted.
There is free internet in the rooms, a fridge in the room and air conditioning. Our room had a west facing balcony which was lovely to sit on early morning and evening as the sun was going down. There is also a small en suite with shower although the water was rarely hot.

The staff were friendly and the lady on reception asked if we would like a kettle in the room or if we wanted anything else.

I would stay there again as it was good value ( we didnt have breakfast so the price was less than advertised) but dont expect a plush hotel if you do decide to try it. There is no lift in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnowWhiteOnWhiteWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

First of all, when it comes to value for money, the hotel scene in Nicosia seems to be much worse than in the rest of the country.
That said, this place offers decent value. The rooms are a bit dated, the included breakfast is nothing special and the overall feel is that of a very basic budget hotel. However the place is clean and the location is just brilliant. Easy walking distance to all the main sights, the bus station, the border check point and also close to a big parking field for those with rental cars.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

This hotel is in Lonely Planet Cyprus edition and we had not intended to stay over in Nicosia. Our visit was to do the touristy bits of the city and then return to our holiday apartment back in Peyia Village. My husband Terry and I felt so excited and spontaneous that we just popped in and discovered they had availability, we saw the room first and it was large with two double beds, a sofa, chairs and plenty of storage space for a longer stay, it was an easy decision.
We slept well; staff were exceptionally helpful and cheery.
Breakfast was basic but okay.
Locality is spot on and the vibe from the city is not imposing on those wishing to rest and sleep, while being in the heart of the city.
We travelled on intercity bus service from Paphos for 5 Euro and the station was less than 10 minutes’ walk away.
The Green line is also about 10 min's walk along Ledra Street (2 min’s), where North Cyprus is occupied by the Turkish; don't forget to go to the observatory top of Debenhams, Ledra Street..... So worth it paying 2 euros per person on a clear day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eternaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

It is what it is I suppose. A 'budget' hotel in the centre of Nicosia. Just for comparison, for the same price I stayed at a middle-level hotel in Paphos (Pafos).
Location is the best point about this hotel. 10 minutes walk from the bus station. Minimarket nearby.
The second good point was the internet.
The lady who was at the receptionist desk during the day was quite friendly.
As far as the room goes... lighting was a bit poor, the AC in my room did not work, tiles were old, the bathroom gave out a strange smell after i flushed the toilet.
Unfortunately, there are not many options for cheap accommodation in (the centre) of Nicosia.
If you have to stay in Nicosia, you can either pay 30 euro more per night for a better hotel in the centre of the town or stay somewhere outside the walled city.
If you don't have to stay in Nicosia, I'd recommend you stay in Larnaca and make a day trip to Nicosia. The walled city of Nicosia (both north and south) can be seen in 1-2 days depending on how much time you take to take photo's, walk and sit in a cafe.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank damsca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Sky Hotel is a remarkable bargain for the budget traveler. It's modest in its comfortable. The location could not be better. It's right in the center of the pedestrian tourist area. The bus station, the major historic sites and the border to North Nicosia are all within walking distance. It's the perfect choice if you are looking for a good budget hotel, especially if you are traveling without a car. My single room had air conditioning, free wifi, a TV, a mini fridge and a small but adequate bathroom with shower. These extras made it even more of a bargain. I found a supermarket nearby and could eat in my room. The breakfast is extra but has lots of choices. Three nights cost me 129 euro. I was looking for a budget hotel that had the amenities I wanted and was in the right location and Sky Hotel was perfect. The staff was helpful and friendly. I could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Location is good, in the old town. But warning about driving and parking your own car--it sucks so if you have a car maybe it's better to stay in the new town in a hotel with a parking lot if you can! The public parking in the old town has time limits and we did see the police writing tickets so it's worth thinking about.

Can't compare Sky to other hotels bc this was my first time in Nicosia. There are very few hotels in the city. So few that I don't even recall seeing more than one or two others. Unfortunately this might just be one of the best bets.

Our double room had a sizable balcony, working WiFi connection, and small but good LCD TV. The TVs are, as another reviewer noted, for porn use. Hardcore day and night. A casual surf through the channels and you can't avoid being face to face with a stranger's genitalia. Not sexy at all.

Overall the hotel is dumpy dark and dingy. At €60/night without breakfast not exactly a bargain. Service and vibe weird. They do not seem to be in the business of tourism. They have no maps. On the surface they are decently friendly but if you have any question they just shrug shoulders, like "I dunno," without even making an effort to help. For instance, we asked where to park our car and they say "I dunno? I parking lot?" Ask again, "Which one is good for overnight?" Answer: Shrug shoulders.

To end on a positive note, crossing the border into the Turkish occupied zone is a wonderful experience and should not be missed--the architecture is wonderful and it is interesting to see how life goes on as normal in spite of the conflict. Also, there is a great bar/resto around the corner from the hotel called Plato's. Nicosia is a neat place to visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raincitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.2 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#11 of 26 in Nicosia
69 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rimi Hotel
Rimi Hotel
#19 of 26 in Nicosia
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#22 of 26 in Nicosia
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Hotel

Address: 7 Solonos Street | Old town center, Nicosia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sky Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing