We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for a wedding.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Went for a wedding.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

It was a quite fast 24 hours stop at the hotel for a wedding. It's clean, a little bit expensive for room service and alcoholic beverages. Almost busy for gamblers, the casino is quite small but entertaining. You can enjoy your free meals and drinks at the casino if you are playing.
Cheers

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    23
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
12
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
istanbul
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The hotel is getting worse every other day. my first 3 stays were great. Then "good" then "not bad" and now "never again"!!! Some of the old personnel seemed to have left...
Stayed for 3 days and the pool was under construction almost for half a day in the middle of summer. The noise was so bad that we could not even stay to sunbathe. And no sign of apology for inconvenience . Our room was entered into although we had a no disturb sign. The cheese they served at breakfast was stale but they pretended as if it was some exclusive french cheese and that the bad smell was ordinary.After all we wrote a complaint letter directly to both the room supervisor and the general manager but they did not bother to reply its been 1 month...The only good thing is that their casino is still invincible in cyprus. But next time i will stay elsewhere and just go there for the casino.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussytraveller-ist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is my 4th stay in this hotel, the first three was really nice, but this time I am really disappointed.

1. They started some construction work near the pool by 9:00 AM on Saturday! Unbelievable!!!
2. The staff is not so kind
3. The milk they served for the breakfast was sour

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjaa843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I had stayed there for 3 days. It is calm and foods are fresh. I enjoyed it however, it is little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feysalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We visited here shortly in April 2010 but had still time to get a very neat, clean and modern impression of the hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and staff was helpful. Nothing to complain about the breakfast either. If you are in a need of comfortable and tidy hotel in Nicosia, Golden Tulip hotel is a safe choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llauraa-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Hotel was very nice location was'nt too bad was on the main leading road of all the restaurants shops, & bars.
Staff were fab treated my husband & I really well to a personal level one of the staff knew it was my husbands birthday and surprised him at breakfast with a birthday tune played in the background & a very yummy birthday cake was so thoughtful & kind gesture on their behalf.

there is also a casino in the hotel not bad although were not gamblers even for fun. but nice place if thers a match going on you can watch it there on a huge screen.

swimming pool was the icing on the cake although was been refurbed while we were there but due to be open real soon even a beautiful little venue for possible a wedding or party by the pool area..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raykass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

After travelling from Pafos and booking the Hilton Cyprus so we could have a casino night we were very let down with the Golden Tulip. The casino was helpful enough to send a car to pick us up which was very kind of them.

However upon entering the casino, no ID was taken and we were shown in. (Not a problem as I was dreading filling in the usual forms, just a bit unusual) Anyway the entrance opens into the middle of the floor and you are immediately greeted by what is a nice looking casino with some unique features.

In my party was myself my brother and some attractive women, clearly the casinos are not normally utilised by tourists as the turkish patrons made it obvious they were not happy to see us here. The girls were leered at in a very seedy and degrading way and felt very uncomfortable, one man followed them to a table and just stood there leering at them for 5 minutes before heading back to his seat. The casino was also filled with smoke and it wasnt long before my eyes were watering.

The chips are controlled very strictly here. I had lost my wallet and my brother gave me a loan of a couple hundred euros, upon going to the cashier desk to change this into cash I was subjected to an almost police style investigation into where I got these chips and my brother was contacted to ensure he did infact give them to me.

I then went to the slot machines and started playing, quite a good variety of machines here and I found one I liked and got comfortable, the drinks are free of charge aslong as your at a table and I ordered Jack Daniels and diet coke. I can 100% assure you that what I was drinking was not Jack Daniels and Cola, it was drinkable but very bitter and after a few glasses of this apparent Jack Daniels I felt completely plastered.

The girls arent into gambling and just wanted to sit and have a few cocktails, they went to the seated area and asked for some drinks and were advised they could not serve them drinks and asked them to leave the seated area. The girls came across to us and told us they couldnt get drink, I asked the manager if the girls could have drinks and he told us rather unhospitably "not unless they are playing". I informed him only me and my brother are here to gamble and could we please have drinks for the girls and we were willing to pay for him, he still refused.

At this point I had had enough, I set the girls up on a machine, put 10 euros in each and told them to spin the minimum bet every 3/4 minutes and just have a news and ensure the waiters bring drinks. This went on for another 20 minutes before the stinging of the eyes, choking of the throught, terrible customer service and feeling out of place got to me and we decided to indulge in the free food and leave.

Upon leaving we asked for a return car home, turns out they check to see if you have lost enough money before providing a car, a calculator was brought out and a conversation held with a manager before they agreed to provide a return car back to the hotel.

Overall this is a nicely decorated casino with a variety of games, however the knock-off drinks, thug like management, smoke filled environment and seedy turkish men who don't know how to act around attractive women just make this place a horrible night out.

I would advise any tourist to avoid this place at all costs, theres nothing at all enjoyable about going to this casino.
The casino kindly offered to

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MForbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nicosia
0.4 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
2.7 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
11.9 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.7 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.8 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino

Property: Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino
Address: Dereboyu Street, Nicosia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel offers 134 rooms; 105 standart, 11 corner rooms, 15 suites and a king suite room. 2 Standart rooms are suited to disabled guests and 2 rooms are suited to the guest who suffer from allergy including pet, food and dust allergies. Golden Tulip Nicosia serves the world-famous brands' amenities in rooms like Molton Brown, Azzaro, Hermes ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Golden Tulip Nicosia Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing