We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You need rocks for brains to stay here!!! NOT recommended” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allegra Gsp Sport Center

Allegra Gsp Sport Center
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allegra Gsp Sport Center
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
325 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“You need rocks for brains to stay here!!! NOT recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

Not sure why all the positive reviews but it is far from anywhere, rock hard beds, basic prison cell-like rooms, with nothing in them, not even basic tea and coffee, or basic toiletries, or drinking water!!!!! Plus on the weekends expect football holligans - the weekend before I arrived they had ripped up the hotel sign and injured police (apparently when they finally arrive to help out). and expensive too!!! For the price of the prison cell room yu can do better are Almond Suies, Cleapatra and Holiday Inn.

It was also nearly impossible to see, becaue of lack of signage - I drove around the stadium twice before stopping and asking someone! Even 100m away not anybody had heard of it and I only got to the front door through luck. Also nowhere to park the car close by - the parking lots are for the sorts stadium so not convenient and I think not safe for parking the car.

Cheap, cheap plastic furniture, little bedside lamps that you wouldn't have in a refugee camp, cheap stuent desk with a plastic chair - maybe to hose it off?? AWFUL!!

There is absolutely nothing to do in the locaity, no shops, no sightseeing - nothing but the sports stadium.

NOT RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Turn around and go back to Nicosia and try Hilton, Holiday Inn, Almond Suites or Cleaopatra and leav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
2
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Although the Allegra GSP is outside the city center, you will have a hard time finding a more unusual hotel anywhere. It is a very easy drive into the old city (one turn and it's a straight shot), but what makes Allegra unusual is it's setting. It is built into the U. of Cyprus Stadium, and all the rooms overlook the playing field. Where else can you look out your window and watch pole vaulters practice?
It is a no frills hotel but immaculate and well maintained. Free wi-fi worked well as did the plumbing. My only complaint was the TV, which is over-the-air only and (at least in my room) of terrible quality. There is a large common area with a small coffee and liquor bar.
If you are without a car, I would think twice about Allegra because there is really nothing within walking distance. However, there are two huge shopping malls a very short drive away with everything one might need. If you do have a car, however, parking in Nicosia is not a problem. Even in the center of the old city (which is where you would want to explore) municipal parking lots abound and the rates are very low (I think about 1 Euro for 3 hours). Be advised that driving that area is a challenge with most streets very narrow and used equally for cars and pedestrians, but it's worth the effort.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upright_n_locked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I opted to stay at this sports stadium hotel a couple of miles out of Nicosia when on business in Cyprus, was pleased I did, a little out of the way, but no traffic congestion like you have to suffer like in Nicosia itself.
I stopped in one of the 2 hotel suites for a total of 3 weeks and they where very comfortable and spacious (seperate bedroom, lounge with fridge 3 peice and coffe tabel, 2 tv's and bathroom) I cannot recommend the staff high enough as they made me feel very welcome staying as a single traveller and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast only, simple but adequate, dinner was only on offer generally when there was a sports event on or catering for guest teams. Added value was the free wi fi and being able to work from my room at a desk. I will certainly stop here again.
Downside is there really is nothing around you and therefore a taxi or car is needed to get anywhere for meals or entertainment.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngTel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

New, clean, quiet(no sports event the day I was there). Big rooms, bid beds. View to the training fields of the GSP Sport Center. Big lobby to the 1st and 2nd floor with satelite tv, bar, wi-fi. It was easy to find (it will be more easy when the road constructions finish). You need to have a car to go to Lefkosia.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maketsipis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaveyUSA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

The hotel is located on the outskirts of Nicosia and only recommended for those who have access to their own transport and spend most of the day exploring. The hotel has no "culture" around it and makes up for that by spaciously rooms and lounges in a great quiet setting (except when games are on which I did not experience).

The rooms are extremely spacious and even though I was there on business I would say that the room I had (315) could have easily accomodated a family of 4 to 5 with enough space for all to move around. There are two great general lounges, one on each floor, both of which overlook the soccer feilds (not the main one). While I was there I saw some members of the Cypriot Olympic team practising.

Nicosia doesn't have any hotels that I would consider to be 5 star (including the Hilton Park), however the Allegra does come very close to the top of the 3 Star's based on being priced at a competitive discount to those hotels located right in the city center.

Unlike other hotels that charge an arm and a leg for wifi - here it was completely free and the wifi worked everywhere, including the bedrooms at "FULL" signal bars. This alone was fabulous to have access to and made contacting home via Skype easy and clear. Why can't other hotels not only offer it for free but at such strong signal strenght?

The hotel's greatest assett is Nicky, the receptionist, who went out of her way to make me welcome. I needed a late check out as I was to be in the city for meetings and wasn't sure what time I would be back as I had an early morning start. Without any hesitation she allowed me until 4:00 pm. Nicky was great in explaining the facilities and definietloy made a difference in assisting in any way possible, from driving directions to meals, etc.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.6 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#6 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel
Cleopatra Hotel
#17 of 26 in Nicosia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Classic Hotel
The Classic Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra Gsp Sport Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra Gsp Sport Center

Property: Allegra Gsp Sport Center
Address: GSP Stadium | P.O.Box: 23626, Nicosia 1685, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Allegra Gsp Sport Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allegra gsp Sport Center has 18 standard twin rooms at 30m2 and two suites stylishly decorated. The modern restaurant, the bar, all sitting launches and the Conference room are overlooking the green GSP Stadium of Nicosia. 24 hours reception, housekeeping every day and WiFi Internet Access, free of charge are available. Allegra is situated in the green GSP Stadium in the outskirts of Nicosia. Very easy access to the city center and all major administrative district and fancy shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Allegra Gsp Sport Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Gsp Sport Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing