We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy hotel, great location”
Review of Royiatiko Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royiatiko Hotel
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Nicosia
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfy hotel, great location”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Royiatiko Hotel is a great option for those who want a comfortable hotel right in the middle of the old town. The main pedestrian mall is one block away, and the border crossing is about a 5 min walk away along the pedestrian mall. Once we found the hotel (the directions on the hotel's website are extremely complicated and we got lost on the way), we were able to see all the sights on foot.

The hotel itself feels new and is comfortable, despite having rooms on the smaller side (though the mini fridge was a plus). It is on a fairly quiet corner, and we were not disturbed by any noises at night. There is a small but really nice pool just behind the lobby and bar/restaurant, which is great for hanging out day or night (with the free wifi). The bar/breakfast service was excellent and friendly.

A few minor nits: Very hard to find (lots of one way streets). Parking is a block away (down a one way street) in an unguarded lot. No doorman. Wired internet in the room never worked. Stairhall light timer is manual, so be careful in the dark!

But these are minor complaints, and we enjoyed our stay very much,

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    63
    33
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
46
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I stayed one night in the Royiatiko hotel and am happy I didn't stay
longer. The hotel is located in a run down, seedy part of downtown. All
night long I heard cars drive by with their stereo blaring Greek music.
Checkin area is not air-conditioned; they have a floor fan to cool that
area. That should have tipped me off. The room has paper thin walls. I
was located 4 rooms down from the elevator yet everytime it pinged to my
floor, I heard it as if it opened its doors in my room. Noise is not
muffled since the floors are not carpetted, not in the hallway and not
in the room. The minibar is empty. If you want a drink you have to bring
it with you or go to the bar. The furniture is early-neo-Euro-trash -
everything is leather bordered from the bed, to the mirror frame. There
is not a single printed item in the room. No brochures. No tourist books
of what to do. The more I think about it, I should have asked for the
hourly rate.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hankn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for one night at the Royiatiko Hotel while visiting Nicosia when holidaying in Cyprus. To find the hotel by car you do need a good street map and luck. There are a lot of one way streets.The hotel's car parking is a bit of space land hidden away down a narrow street. The hotel is nicely placed close to the old town and shopping area. Inside the reception,bar/resturant areas are nice and cool air conditioned and nicely furnished.The staff were friendly and helpful. They do have a problem with unwanted pigeons around the pool area which will need to sorted some how.

Room Tip: The room we had was a good size & well furnished. There was no nearby socket to plug the kettle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Helpful?
1 Thank powerplasticsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiria, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I stayed at Royatiko from 15 to 20 April.
I enjoyed very much.
The staff was nice (my regards to the Mr. who stayed at the lobby during the night period - He is very nice), The breakfast was very good too.
The room was amazing.

I stongly recommend it.

Géraldine

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gpsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I stayed at thr Royiatiko for two weeks in march on business, I found it to be a very good hotel and very close to every thing by foot.
The staff are very helpful and nothing is to much trouble,the hotel is kept very clean both inside and out, the pool and a well equipt gym are the icing on the cake.
I was very dissapointed when I had to extend my stay and they had no vacancies.
I would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndyKDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Well, we really enjoyed the hotel, unlike some of the other reviewers. Very clean, friendly, modern, free internet etc. Was a bit of a mission finding the place without satnav but free parking 20 metres away (ask for ticket at reception). We thought breakfast was good, bread, jams, meats, cheeses, cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit etc. All the shops and restaurants are on the doorstep and Nicosia's a very interesting place for strolling around. Really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We stayed in the hotel with my husband when we visited the island for a conference. The hotel offers all the advantages of a brand new establishment. The materials used are in excellent condition.
Moreover, it is very close to down town which is very convenient. On the other hand there may be some noise if the room is on the front side. If one is noise sensitive, should definitely avoid the rooms overseeing the swimming pool (rear side) as there is the breakfast / coffee area with a t.v. This enclosed yard, unfortunately functions as a speaker, intensifying all noises. The rooms are small, as it is customary with the new hotels nowadays. Considering the size of the bedrooms, the bathrooms are spacious which is an advantage. The breakfast is basic. (Holidays' Inn offers a superior buffet, but two years ago the rooms were in bad condition with 1980s pieces). There are too many textiles used in the window drapery, and too many pillows on the bed, -one is not sure what to do with them or where to place them, in order to sleep on the bed-, but then again I guess this 19th century victorian custom, is our society's proof of luxury. Fortunately there is no carpet on the floor, a situation which balances the dust that is obviously accumulated on the heavy draperies.
We would not have been bothered with all the above since we love Nicosia a great deal(we placed the pillows in the wardrobe and left our clothes in the luggage) and we enjoy visiting. Under normal circumstances our interaction with the staff would have been indifferent. Nothing exceptional.
However, early in the morning the day we were scheduled to leave, a colleague stopped by and left for us a parcel. The receptionist forgot to inform us about it. We left without he parcel and I only found out about it when, upon my return to my desk in Greece, I found an e-mail from my colleague with questions about the material. I called the manager and complained. I do not remember whether she actually did apologize or not because even if she typically used the words "we are sorry" I was infuriated by the tone of her voice which was shockingly rude. The manager tried to stop my complaints by accusing me that I make a big deal of the case and such things happen and should be expected (If I could only tell that to my clients!). Ok! so far so good, I could live with this mishappening. I requested the parcel to be shipped to me. I do not know what shipping and mailing system they used, yet ten days later I still have not received it. The manager does not return my calls and a receptionist replied that it must have been lost in the mail. Even if I were to accept that mistakes happen they should have tried to put an end to their mistakes, they could have at least used a reliable courier, even if that means they would have to pay for it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasiliki189473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.1 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nicosia
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 27 in Nicosia
453 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Classic Hotel
The Classic Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nicosia
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#8 of 27 in Nicosia
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#22 of 27 in Nicosia
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 27 in Nicosia
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royiatiko Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royiatiko Hotel

Property: Royiatiko Hotel
Address: Apollonos 27 | Old town center, Nicosia 1010, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royiatiko Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royiatiko Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing