We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exellent”
Review of Kathodon

Kathodon
Ranked #9 of 1,056 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: With my arrival in the beautiful Island Cyprus many years ago, I carried with me a dream, to create an authentic and traditional Greek tavern that would focus on the flavours of ingloriously lost homeland of Asia Minor. I started out in difficult years surrounded with dark and desolation affected by the visible effects of the invasion and occupation! Slowly and with much love and hard work my tavern had began to acquire life and took strength from the preference and confidence you had in us. I came up with the name of the tavern after much thought. The idea of a 'commercial' name didn’t inspire me at all so I decided to call it “Kathodon” which means “En Route”. “En Route” to the way of freedom. Kathodon survived, strengthened and progressed throughout the years and is now here after 13 years stronger, filled with love, commitment to tradition and quality that was always our aim. We continue always with respect to our customer-friend! I would like to point out where it says somewhere in our menu, “We do not serve hasty and nervous people”. This means that food is prepared fresh once you have ordered and some extra time may be required. We are sure there is no restaurant in the world that does not sometimes make a mistake and if this happens to us we will make sure that we will do everything in our power to make it up to you in the best possible way. Our promise for the future is to continue enriching our menu with forgotten traditional flavours that will take you on a journey leaving a sweet taste lingering in your mouth.. These are a few words about the history of “Kathodon”, we wish you all “bon appetite” and may you all have a pleasant time.
Reviewed 24 June 2014

we were at here at lunch time. Really liked the place. Waitress Marina helped us with the menu. we had a very nice meal.And a good time spent))

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xvx80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your good words and we hope to see you again and have an even better time together.

Regards Sakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have eaten here several times and the quality is always great. The staff are okay but a few don't speak great English. Of course this isn't expected but it's worth noting if you wouldn't be comfortable with this. I disagree that the food is overpriced - the portions are very reasonable and compared to most Nicosia restaurants, it is cheaper. The drinks are also cheap, especially compared to the up to €4 charged for a soft drink in some Nicosia hotels. I would also like to recommend the Moussaka dish to anyone looking for a great dish without wanting to head straight in to the deep end of trying the weird world of Greek cuisine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your review our friend. Come by again any time you want and preferably as soon as possible. When you do call for the owner and i will let you know more on the greek cuisine.

Regards Sakis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

this place is full of atmosphere and great food. the owner has taken a lot of tender loving care over the décor and the food is Greek/Anatolian in flavour. mouthwatering dishes kept arriving on our table, a feast for the eyes and stomach. the grilled pork chop was the tenderest I have ever tasted. There is only one musician playing guitar but he had a wide Greek repertoire and is not overbearing so you can still converse with your friends, which was nice. Well done, would gladly go again.

Thank HelenaBogdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your comments dear friend. We want to make the place as friendly and as warm as possible for our customers and make them have a good time , that beeing the music or the food. Visit us again whenever you want we will always be open for friends.

Regards Sakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's one of our favorite places to eat in old Nicosia. It's a great place but a bit overpriced, keeping in mind the current financial situation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kypros V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your good words our friend. We would love if you could visit again and if you do , you can call for me and let me know what you think it is overpriced and what not as we like to leave our customers as happy as possible when they leave.

Regards Sakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good restaurant that kept its reputation for many years as it has its own unique character, combines both food and good music.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank theodora t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KATHODON, Owner at Kathodon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We thank you for your comment and we will try to do our best for as many more years as possible for you , our dear customers

Regards Sakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathodon also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Kathodon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing