We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French experience in Nicosia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir

Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir
Ranked #28 of 1,002 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: French authentic Brasserie recently relocated on Larnacos Avenue 87. It has a Facebook Fan Page: Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir where you can discover the menu and get regular updates.Specialities consist in steaks of French origin, cooked to your taste and served with home made sauces, but also casseroles or French specialities like duck confit, burgundy snails, frog legs or fresh foie gras.We are also specialised in fresh seafood. We serve daily fresh oysters and mussels imported from France, crab, salmon or trout.Cosy, congenial and unpretentious. Friendly and attentive service.Wine list covering all main French appellations but also local wines, with good pricing since we import our own wines.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“French experience in Nicosia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

The restaurant is small but cosy. The owner is french and the waitresses speak english. We were a group of 13people and all tried different dishes. All of us were satisfied. The 2 that have ordered the duck were satisfied by the taste but the portion was too small. The beef bourguignon was excellent. We had white and red whine and both of them excellent. We tried the quiche, the salad with apples and the french salad with the cheese and ham for starter and were so tasty that nothing was left in the plates. For dessert we had creme brulee and it was superb, it tasted exactly as the ones we have tasted in France. We all shared the bill and paid 18euro each (4quiche, 4 salads, 13main dishes, 5 desserts, water and 2wine bottles). Very good price.
TIP: Every Thursday they import fresh clams and oysters.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    47
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“no way”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

expensive restaurant for mussel and wine, quality 'mediocre, mediocre service, not up to the real French cuisine, especially the seafood, not recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessio156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Your review is extremely surprising to us.

Our restaurant is consistantly lauded for the quality of its seafood, and for its "quality and sensibly priced wine list" to quote some comments.

Are you sure you are reviewing the right restaurant ?

We would be happy to get your visit and then get your comments.

Best regards,

GT and the Team of Au Bon Plaisir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“French Comfort Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Great atmosphere for couples but cozy enough to go with friends. Food is really good, nothing extravagant, but homely and comforting. Great dining experience every time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yiannos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

It was just perfect! Nice atmosphere and very good food. What to tell about the staff? Excellent service. Sure i will go back to taste some other dishes ;)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PAgapiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

We ate here on Fri night and had a lovely meal. Huge starters and delightful main courses. The house wine was excellent, as was the service. We were allowed to take our time and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. I can only suggest the previous review is not representative of what is a great restaurant in Nicosia. We very much look forward to going back again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Niggles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear valued customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our place.

We are glad your experience was excellent, and that you appreciate both the food in terms of quality and quantity, and the service.
We are working hard to achieve these results and a good and true comment always makes us very happy !
We are looking forward to host you again and again in a near future !

Gatienne and the Team of Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir also viewed

 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing