We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant French bistro”

Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir
Ranked #26 of 1,015 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: French authentic Brasserie recently relocated on Larnacos Avenue 87. It has a Facebook Fan Page: Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir where you can discover the menu and get regular updates.Specialities consist in steaks of French origin, cooked to your taste and served with home made sauces, but also casseroles or French specialities like duck confit, burgundy snails, frog legs or fresh foie gras.We are also specialised in fresh seafood. We serve daily fresh oysters and mussels imported from France, crab, salmon or trout.Cosy, congenial and unpretentious. Friendly and attentive service.Wine list covering all main French appellations but also local wines, with good pricing since we import our own wines.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pleasant French bistro”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We had a decent dinner starting with the Quiche Lorraine which was tasty but slightly odd as it had Roquefort in it. The pork filet mignon was good but slightly over seasoned. Beware though if you order the crab as it is not dressed and unless you know how to dismantle a crab you may feel a big disgruntled. It is also quite expensive (at 20 euro) for what is basically just a boiled crab with a few lettuce leaves. On the plus side, the Loire Sauvignon was good and good value, the owner was very friendly, and we were offered a complimentary dessert.
One thing to note is that the location shown on Trip Advisor is wrong, although the address is correct.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulofPleshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to review our place. You are right concerning our wrong location on the Google Map of Trip advisor. We apologize again for the inconvenience caused and we hope this mistake will be solved soon.

Thank you also to report the excellent value of our wines and my friendliness.

When it comes to the other comments, I must admit I am a bit surprised...

The quiche of the day yesterday was our cheese quiche. No wonder why you found it a taste of Roquefort... I must say I am even happy about this :-D

About the crab, it seems you discussed it with the waitress on ordering, but she obviously failed to give you the right image. It clearly states in our menu "crab in its shell" and doesn't mention at any point the crab would be dressed...
As I came to check your satisfaction, I understood the dish you were served didn't match your expectations since you were obviously expecting a kind of stuffed crab that we don’t have nor prepare, and proposed straight away, twice, to replace it at our own expenses. We can fully understand that not everyone enjoys dismantling a crab (although that curious activity is almost as widely appreciated in Cyprus as it is in France). You assured me then you were happy to keep it because it was very tasty (indeed, the fresh crab is much tastier than the stuffed crab, for obvious reasons, hence our choice to display it on our menu).

About the price, you might know this product is not local, but has to fly to be served fresh in Cyprus. So it bears additional transportations costs which make it slightly more expensive than we would like to, but still cheaper by 20% than those you can find in Parisian brasseries.

Concerning the pork filet mignon your spouse had, we recommend next time to opt for the mushroom sauce which is indeed less spiced than the mustard one she ordered. Again, on a simple comment, we would have happily changed it if you had judged it necessary.

To sum it up, it seems the slight disagreements you may have encountered (which are caused by misunderstanding) don't justify the very bad rating you gave us. Indeed, the "average" mark you gave means you don't recommend to visit our place, which didn't seem to be your state of mind when you left, and does not really match your general comment neither...

We hope to be favored by another visit before you leave from our beautiful country, and therefore to deserve an upgrade of our notation.

Yours sincerely,

Gatienne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    49
    16
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best handcut fries in Nicosia!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great little French bistro if you fancy something totally different. Imported French beef, crab, mussels, duck, pates, and a constantly changing menu based on the ingredients imported from France week-by-week. And always served with their great hand-cut French fries!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thalia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Thalia,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is very pleasant to see that you enjoy the efforts we put in bringing constantly new recipes and seasonal products in your plate.

Our French fries seems to definitly content everyone, and I express you our gratitude for judging them the best in town (which MUST be true indeed, I can only agree).

We are looking forward to your next visit,

Gatienne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
“Best Steak in Nicosia”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

have been a huge fan of their steaks for ages! Seriously the best one sin Nicosia, a favorite of my family and friends too! Always the best choice for a celebratory meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikaela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Mikaela,

Thank you for your enthousiastic review !

We are indeed widely awarded for the quality of our steaks, which come in up to 7 different cuts and of 4 different origins including, of course, the famous French "Charolaise".
The home made sauces, based on real stock, also makes the difference.

Our next change of location should improve the value and the atmosphere to the top level.

We will be happy to host you again and again.

Gatienne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly Au Bon Plaisir”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Birthday dinner at Au Bon Plaisir... mussles in varation - crab - wonderful wine - knowledgeable owner - what do you want more? Plus of course wonderful company.
An intimate nice space to just eat, dring and be merry! And one more word - creme brulee - prepared right in front of you.
I wanna go back..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Beate,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is an achievement to serve connaisseurs and get such a feed back ;-)

It is also always a real pleasure for us to serve you and your friends, and we hope to repeat the experience many many times :-D

Gatienne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The mussles this restaurant serves you do not find nowhere in Cyprus. This dish is served in very tasty, fresh and best delicious sauces accompanying with amazing homemade frech french fries...
The mussles delivered straight from north of France and actually kept fresh in special fridge temperature before serving.
Steaks are also recommended to try out with a full body red wine imported from France. You may ask for wine recommendation on the spot and be pleasantly surprised. Prices for French wine are very reasonable unlike prices for Greek wines in some other restaurants in Nicosia.
Highly recommended...
Irina Tryfon

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IrinaTryfon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zorette_La_Grosse, Manager/Owner at Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you Irina for your kind words !

It is one of the pride of our Brasserie to serve Fresh mussels of excellent quality, and we have now 6 different recipes to satisfy all tastes. The French fries seem indeed to please everyone ;-)

Thank you also for commenting the value of our wines. As you know, we import ourselves most of them, which allows short margins and therefore excellent value. Furthermore, we select wines from small producers (and this worth also for cypriot wines), which are known for keeping their prices the lowest and most affordable possible.

We will keep on working hard to keep that excellent reputation, be sure.

We will be happy to see you again very soon,

Gatienne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Brasserie Au Bon Plaisir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing