We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service And Dirty Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Service And Dirty Rooms”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn from Jan 17th to the 19th.
First, I was placed in room 401, and as I was about to get into bed, I found HAIR, various lengths of hair. I called room service and they sent a bellboy to give me keys to a new room, since it was 10:30 p.m. and no one was available to change bed sheets.
So, I was secondly placed in room 158, where I also found HAIR in the bed. I called again and this time the manager came upstairs to see for herself, and she saw it: various lengths and shapes of hair. She told me it was from the laundry. And again I was led to a new room: 153.
The manager and I inspected the bed sheets and this time there was no hair. However, as she was leaving I noticed that the bathroom was noisy. Apparently the toilet was leaking. Again, they couldn't send anyone to fix it because it was now 11 p.m.
For breakfast, even though, it is mentioned in the menu that breakfast is served until 10:15 a.m., the waiters started packing the buffet at 10:05, without giving notice to any of the guests! They just started clearing everything.
This hotel was the worst service, the worst rooms, the dirtiest I've seen.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reem848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Reem848,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I'm glad your concerns with your room accommodation were addressed during your stay. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had due to this concern and the breakfast. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    67
    52
    31
See reviews for
20
43
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

prices are ok but need renovation urgently
no flat screen, old bathroom.)
happily location is one of the best of the city, you can go by walking almost everywhere.
Executive floor is on first floor and dont give a real upgrade to your stay. Choose a classic room at 2nd or 3rd floor at least
Excellent points are, the bed: very good quality and spa with indoor swimming pool : unexcpected and very distressful
Be carefull internet is supposed to be free but can be bill at the end of your stay, Take a screenshot of hotel website before your stay for avoiding any dispute

Room Tip: no executive floor, prefer 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mykosher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Mykosher,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am glad that you liked our beds and our location.

However, I would like to apologize if you didn't find our hotel to your liking and if some amenities fell below your standards. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nicosia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This hotel is waking distance from shopping area in old city. It has a public parking area just in front of the hotel. The rooms are big with two beds but it has old TVs also furniture is old but ok.
The hotel is also close to many coffee shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

A totally over-rated hotel which is over priced for the service that you get. Reception staff are totally not helpful and aloof. The lifts on one side of the hotel were not working. Otherwise the hotel is in a very good location, close to the old centre of Nicosia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face the mosque on the Turkish side of Nicosia. Otherwise you risk bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justme00052002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Justme00052002,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcoming you experience during your stay and I regret you received service which was less than satisfactory. Your comments have been documented and these points will be addressed accordingly.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

It been around 5 years since I was there last time. Unfortunately very little has been done and the hotel has still old TV's, very old carpets and old bathrooms. The breakfast was ok, but nothing to write home about. I will not go back there before it has been renovated, in spite of the fact that it is close to the city centre which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gundwane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublín, Irlanda
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights in October 2012. Original room looked to be at the standard you might expect apart from the leaking ceiling! (due to rain the previous day which is unusual but should not be problematic!). The next room was less impressive - clean but functional with cracking plaster and unpredicatable hot water for the shower. On the positive side, the restaurant had very few customers when we arrived but the food was very nicely prepared.

Room Tip: Higher floors tend to get hotter and noise from the roof (air conditioning?) can be a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed for three nights in September 2012 on business. Room 612. Overall impression is a functional 3 star hotel which meets the technical requirements for a 4 star.
Room was large, with sofa and desk. Window in corner of room overlooked the city towards the Turkish-occupied side of Nicosia. You have to squeeze along the sofa to look out. Bed was double but too short for a six footer (186cm). Was firm with variety of hard/soft pillows. Reading lights OK. Bathroom was clean, although the loo seat was a little loose. Limited range and quality of toiletries. Overall decor was clean but dated and looked "cheap" as did the corridors and lifts.
A major problem: the water pressure was very low, poor shower head. And it takes ages for the water to warm up. I can quite understand other reviewers claiming no hot water: you have to wait and wait. This happened on all three days (and to my colleagues). Sorry but the provision of hot water with good pressure is a basic requirement in a hotel. TV was flat screen on the wall with a good selection of local, regional and international channels.
Breakfast is standard. But this is a four star hotel and breakfasts should not be standard but something to remember positively. A routine Bed and Breakfast would provide this level of food. Limited newspapers on offer: again not to 4 star standard.
You have to pay for wi-fi in the room. EURs16 for 48 hours or EUR10 a day. This is no longer acceptable in hotels: the internet is no longer a luxury or something exceptional. Charging is simply a rip-off and gives a poor impression. again especially at a 4 star hotel.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful. They allowed me to use their PC to print my boarding card: again this is now a standard and hotels should provide a free PC/printer facility.
Didn't try the restaurants: there are so many good ones in walking distance. Nor the basement spa.
I note that the management are good at replying to trip advisor comments. A plus point. What I would like to see is a commitment to change. Overall impression is that Holiday Inn seems to be a franchise chain which is resting on its past laurels and not re-investing anywhere near enough to keep up with modern standards for 4 star hotels. Quick profits now rather than longer term sustainability.

Room Tip: Might be quieter at back. Be careful: the floors alternate between smoking and non-smoking. Amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sgreenslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear KontikiLondoner,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feed back on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. I am pleased that you found our location convenient and that you have mentioned our friendly and helpful staff. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering superior service and are happy doing so.

However, the comments about the bathroom conditions are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Most importantly, I'd like to apologize for the issues you experienced at our hotel. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Janice A
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almond Business Suites
Almond Business Suites
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel
Cleopatra Hotel
#14 of 26 in Nicosia
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Europa Plaza Hotel
Europa Plaza Hotel
#17 of 26 in Nicosia
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel
Sky Hotel
#20 of 26 in Nicosia
35 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Address: 70 Regeana Street, Nicosia 2121, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre hotel is located in the heart of Nicosia. Its excellent location is ideal for both business and leisure stays.The hotel is only 5 min. walking distance from the shopping area, the commercial area and historical sites of Nicosia. The hotel is fully air conditioned. All (140 Superior, Executive, non-smoking rooms) are equipped with wireless high speed internet accessAll Conference and Meeting roomsin this ideal Central Nicosia location are suitable for professional and social gatherings. The Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre features various dining options. Italian, Japanese and International. Seasonal operated Restaurant and Bar on the roof garden. A fully equipped health and leisure center is available with gym, an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and Roman baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing