We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a pleasant experience on any level” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience on any level”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, and will not choose this hotel again. I had a room on the sixth floor at the back, which was quiet on terms of road noise, but directly underneath Nicosia's secret elephant zoo given the noise on the floor above. Room was dusty, services poorly designed, cold and with absolutely no redeeming features. Large bathroom, but thin scratchy towels; plug that didn't keep the water in the sink (ironic, given the sticker on the mirror shouting at you to save water) and it took over 5 mins for any 'hot' water to run through. The iron is permanently plugged into the inside of the wardrobe. Breakfast was tragic, as was the expression and demeanour of the man who was working in the restaurant. I can honestly think of nothing positive to say about the whole stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear prippit,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    67
    52
    30
See reviews for
20
43
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
270 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The advantages of this hotel are mainly its location (really close to the historical Nicosia city centre), and the very good level of service. We were always welcomed with a smile and we faced staff eager to serve and help in the best possible way.
On the other hand, the hotel certainly needs renovation. The half of the rooms are really old, while the other half are very recently renovated.
In regards to the breakfast, this was a bit of dissapointment - according to Holiday Inn standards.
General conclusion, for a 1-2 days trip and for rate up to 70 euros, it worths its money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank touristas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear touristas97,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. I am elated to read that you appreciate our convenient hotel location and staff service. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience. However, I truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the state of the room and quality of breakfast selections that was served. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

This is the worst hotel in Nicosia and Holiday Inn should seriously consider removing it from its network.

Firstly I had booked via telephone, and when asked if I could be sent a confirmation of some sort they where very rude and could not provide me with one. Our first room was disgustingly smelling of smoke (and we had requested a non-smoking room) and when we opened the cupboard we where shocked. It was disgusting, the wood was dirty from the fungus and structurally destroyed. Look at the picture I attached

We had enough and requested to change room. We where sent to another floor which many more problems occurred. There was nearly NO water running through the shower, only a few drops.

The room was very dirty and forget about parking. Avoid this hotel..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApollonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear ApollonFan,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nicosia hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We arrived at the hotel and we were warm welcomed by the receptionist and porter. Our room was spacious, clean and with a nice city view. Afternoon coffee at Plaza bar with free wi-fi. To close our day we had a romantic dinner at the roof top restaurant. Everything was perfect and we will be back soon

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Konstantina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

On the 19th October we had a wedding to attend in the hotel and I along with another 20+ guests decided to stay the night.
The wedding food and service was really good.The room was clean and the bed was comfortable for the night.
We went for breakfast at 9.35am ( breakfast finishes at 10.30). I went to get a latte coffee from the machine but all I got was black coffee. very politely I told the waiter about it and he just looked at me and said is nothing he could do. I was astonished at his reply, that a 4 star hotel could not provide milk for coffees. He answered that if it was only me he could bring me a latte from the bar area. Carried on to get some breakfast and it was hardly anything left. What little was there was dried and not eatable. All the guests that arrived for breakfast after us, about 12, had exactly the same bad service.
It is a great shame that after we all had a wonderful time in the hotel the night before, all was spoiled by the bad service at breakfast time. I have traveled and stayed in many hotels 4 stars and 5 stars but I have never experienced service or breakfast to be so bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stalo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Stalo L,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with breakfast. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Whereas Cyprus is a beautiful country with a lot of very nice people, the Holiday Inn at Nicosia is not up to the standard.
On the positive side, this hotel is well located close to the old city of Nicosia.
however, the rest is deceiving, with an overall poorly maintained hotel (room smelling tobacco), a out of age deco ( from the 50' s Eastern Europe style..), poor and unfriendly service, terrible breakfast, etc...
On top, we have been asked for 4€50 for an expresso when you can get a full meal for 10€ in Cyprus ( and a greek coffee for 1€)
i would r'ecommand to walk an other 100 meters if you are looking for an hotel there!

Room Tip: All the rooms on the street are very noisy all through the night and the other ones not very pleasan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CATHERIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear CATHERIN G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

the place is all beat up, needs work all around, furniture, bathrooms, towels&sheets and on and on. the air condition does not exist, really warm for a place that get hit by the sun all day.
the food is average and the service is three star(don't bother me and leave me alone)
the only positive I guess is the location but then you can find something better around for a better deal.
we won't repeat, that's for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billyarmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Billyarmstrong,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the overall condition of our property. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel
Cleopatra Hotel
#17 of 26 in Nicosia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Classic Hotel
The Classic Hotel
#6 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.9 mi away
Almond Business Suites
Almond Business Suites
#11 of 26 in Nicosia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Address: 70 Regeana Street, Nicosia 2121, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre hotel is located in the heart of Nicosia. Its excellent location is ideal for both business and leisure stays.The hotel is only 5 min. walking distance from the shopping area, the commercial area and historical sites of Nicosia. The hotel is fully air conditioned. All (140 Superior, Executive, non-smoking rooms) are equipped with wireless high speed internet accessAll Conference and Meeting roomsin this ideal Central Nicosia location are suitable for professional and social gatherings. The Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre features various dining options. Italian, Japanese and International. Seasonal operated Restaurant and Bar on the roof garden. A fully equipped health and leisure center is available with gym, an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and Roman baths. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing