We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but somewhat tired hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Ranked #24 of 27 Hotels in Nicosia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“ok but somewhat tired hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Nicosia isn't really a tourist hotspot, but the Hotel is perfectly adequate. Slightly dated, and a little noisy for the rooms that overlook the front where the bus station and car park are. But has lots of amenities and in a good location. Rooftop bar has a great view across the city.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the front as they overlook the bus station and it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Elizabeth G,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are delighted you appreciate our amenities and location. My apologies for the disappointment you had with the condition of our property and the noise. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    67
    52
    30
See reviews for
20
43
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Not the worst hotel in the world but its certainly no where near the best and i think Holiday inn should consider removing it from there brand. It is close to the town centre, about a 5 minute walk to the main street for shops bars & restaurants.

The breakfast was poor to the point i stopped eating there after 2 days. The sushi bar wasn't open at all throughout my stay.

The room was quite spacious with a view over the bus station which got quite noisy from about 6am. there was a small portable TV from the 80's, the news channel was in English. There was tea/coffee provided in the room but no kettle.

The pool area was very nice but is let down by the rest of the spa which needs a decent clean and a lick of paint.

Room Tip: I am told the Hilton is much better but is a little further out of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbobsquarepants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

Though we prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for providing your feedback. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great important to us and allow us to monitor and improve our services.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit to Nicosia.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Nicosia, Cyprus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nicosia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here for a night last month. Very friendly welcome at book in, recognised as a gold elite member & given a complimentary room upgrade, offered helpful advice on tourist sites to visit whilst in town.
The restaurant on the top floor has superb views of the whole city, exceptional service (thank you Plame) & great food.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Nicosia Cyprus and my wife and I hope to be able to return in the future!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ_n_Cee_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest!
Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Nicosia.
I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating.
Glad to see, you liked our restaurant as well as our kind and helpful staff.
We would welcome the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Nicosia.
So far I wish you and your wife all the best.

Kind regards,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We have stayed in a hotel last weekend and have chosen it only because we are the members of the Hotel Group.
Very old, shabby hotel; rooms are very average, but did not disgust so much, as gym and pool (see the photos attached).
We have been informed, that restaurant is under renovation, but why not the rooms, I am asking now?
Charge of Eur 110 per night (without breakfast!) is way too much for such a rubbish during a Low Season!
Note to STAFF:
Over a year, you have been receiving the negative feedback and it looks like nothing has been done. Sorry, but polite, neutral responses to our negative reviews, will not help anymore. At least charge 2-3 times less, then people will not expect much.
How many case Managers do you have or is it such a high staff turnover?
May be some rooms have been renovated, but do NOT GIVE other rooms, whose are not renovated. Renovate the gym, pool area, closed massage rooms, Flintstone bar, ect. It is quite a big area, and pity it is in so crappy condition!
P.S: Believe me, you don’t have the second chance, if you don’t make it up to a client at his first stay!

Room Tip: Do not choose this Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diannka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. We would like to address this with you further so we have sent you a private message.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Nicosia, Cyprus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anoyira village
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We had a large room with 2 queen size beds, so one for each of us. Room was basic with no wifi. Bathroom was down steps, no good as I am in a wheelchair. Did request disabled room but non available. Main complaint is he drop Kerb outside the hotel is always blocked by parked cars, the manager being the worst culprit!! It really needs a sign or failing that a cone. It really spoilt my stay having to negotiate the high Kerb. Did complain so will be interested if they have done anything to improve this. Being Cyprus nothing will get done. DO NOT STAY IF DISABLED!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hellosexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Valued guest!

Thank you for your recent stay wit us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced as well as the level of service provided during your stay that did not meet your expectations.
The situation with the parking outside the hotel is problematic. We are in contact with the Municipality of Nicosia to get a disabled parking space available outside the hotel and hope that it will be available soon.
We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Holiday Inn Nicosia, Cyprus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, and will not choose this hotel again. I had a room on the sixth floor at the back, which was quiet on terms of road noise, but directly underneath Nicosia's secret elephant zoo given the noise on the floor above. Room was dusty, services poorly designed, cold and with absolutely no redeeming features. Large bathroom, but thin scratchy towels; plug that didn't keep the water in the sink (ironic, given the sticker on the mirror shouting at you to save water) and it took over 5 mins for any 'hot' water to run through. The iron is permanently plugged into the inside of the wardrobe. Breakfast was tragic, as was the expression and demeanour of the man who was working in the restaurant. I can honestly think of nothing positive to say about the whole stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear prippit,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
286 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The advantages of this hotel are mainly its location (really close to the historical Nicosia city centre), and the very good level of service. We were always welcomed with a smile and we faced staff eager to serve and help in the best possible way.
On the other hand, the hotel certainly needs renovation. The half of the rooms are really old, while the other half are very recently renovated.
In regards to the breakfast, this was a bit of dissapointment - according to Holiday Inn standards.
General conclusion, for a 1-2 days trip and for rate up to 70 euros, it worths its money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear touristas97,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay with us. I am elated to read that you appreciate our convenient hotel location and staff service. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience. However, I truly apologize for any inconvenience caused by the state of the room and quality of breakfast selections that was served. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate department.

Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.8 mi away
Almond Business Suites
Almond Business Suites
#10 of 27 in Nicosia
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#11 of 27 in Nicosia
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rimi Hotel
Rimi Hotel
#20 of 27 in Nicosia
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 27 in Nicosia
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castelli Hotel
Castelli Hotel
#22 of 27 in Nicosia
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nicosia
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Address: 70 Regeana Street, Nicosia 2121, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre hotel is located in the heart of Nicosia. Its excellent location is ideal for both business and leisure stays.The hotel is only 5 min. walking distance from the shopping area, the commercial area and historical sites of Nicosia. The hotel is fully air conditioned. All (140 Superior, Executive, non-smoking rooms) are equipped with wireless high speed internet accessAll Conference and Meeting roomsin this ideal Central Nicosia location are suitable for professional and social gatherings. The Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre features various dining options. Italian, Japanese and International. Seasonal operated Restaurant and Bar on the roof garden. A fully equipped health and leisure center is available with gym, an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and Roman baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing