We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Ranked #24 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overnight stay”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were transferred to this hotel as the original one we had booked was closed. We have stayed at this hotel before and were not impressed then. Room size was good, bathroom needs updating and sealant around the bath needs changing. Air con not very effective. We had a leak under the sink, handy man unable to fix so we had to move rooms. Room allocated was smaller than the original and bathroom smaller. Cracked electric socket in room. Breakfast was probably the worst we have ever had. Beans and mushrooms stone cold. Fried eggs were steaming so overcooked. The room was extrememly hot and waitress said she had reported it before but nobody had come out to see it. No leisure facilities aviable due to the holiday. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions as well as the level of service provided during your stay that did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,
Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    39
    67
    52
    31
See reviews for
20
43
26
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livadia, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we stayed for 2 days at this hotel and we were very pleased,the staff was very helpfull,the room was big with great matress for sleep and clean.The breakfast was good but it could have been better.close to the main shopping area.would deffinetly go again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kk2381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am really delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating. Glad to see you liked our clean and comfortable rooms, our helpful staff and our convenient location.
We would welcome the opportunity to be your host again in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Nicosia.
So far I wish you all the best.
Sincerely,
Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel part of a short business trip, not pleasant at all, rooms are not maintained and look very old, they are not very well cleaned and you feel you are in a barely 1 star hotel.
Breakfast is fair though and staff are helpful. Hotel is near the main streets of Nicosia if you want to do some shopping.
Had a room facing the backyard and it was terrible, luckily staff changed it for one facing the street.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room facing the front street and not the backyard. The ones on the back are terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest Alain,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property.

I appreciate that you have recognized the service of our staff. I apologize you weren't completely happy with the room accommodation you received.
We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nicosia hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Simple Do not go ! It dies not worth a penny of the money that a night stay costs. I wend for several business trips. It is very dirty, some rooms are thirty years old, the staff is unprofessionals and not polite... Only a lady at the bar is polite and professional... The receptionists are awful.
My only advice... Do not go to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aramis-Klo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping, cleanliness and customer service which was unacceptable.

I regret that you were not accommodated in one of our renovated rooms.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a work trip. The hotel location is excellent for Nicosia - just outside the city walls and close to the old town, which is full of great bars and restaurants... However, the service is terrible, rooms are average, breakfast is fairly poor and the function room upstairs means that you could end up with thumping music going until 4am!!! Even if you're not travelling... This is FAR from ideal. Really can't recommend this place...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear ChrisL75,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel in 2005 and believe me it seems that nothign has been done to the hotel since. The rooms are extremeley dated, only one lift ever works (and it must be the slowest lift in the world), this is not good in the sweltering corridor that has no air conditioning. So waiting in the corridor with a shirt and tie on was not much fun.

The bathrooms are extremely small and ever so dated. They could do with a lick of paint and/or some new tiling.

Didn't find the receptionists particularly warm or polite either.

Overall, not my best stays, I will certainly not be booking into an Holiday Inn next time I am in Nicossia.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. I am very sorry that you were not allocated in one of our renovated rooms and we did not meet your expectations.
We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Protaras, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We needed to overnight in Nicosia close to the centre, so this was an obvious choice. The Receptionist at Check In was really nice, friendly helpful and quick. I noticed that one lift was out of service, as I went to my room. I noticed on leaving the lift that opposite my room was a 'Housekeeping' Station and that there were two chambermaids 'chatting' in a language other thsan Greek who seemed completely oblivious to my presence. I didn't realise the implication of this until later. I tried to find lunch and only the formal restaurant on the roof seemed to be functioning and since it had a large group table, I decided that a quick lunch was unlikely, so went into nearby Ledra Street and found a nice place that was clean and served traditional home made Cypriot recipes. (I'm going there again). I returned to the hotel and noticed that the Reception Staff had changed and asked for some Ice. this was bought speedily to my room by a rather scruffily dressed person who was a bit gruff- the message being 'You disturb me in the middle of the afternoon to bring you some ice - I'm just the cleaner you know!'. We returned to the hotel near midnight and the same lift was still out of service.When it had been busy earlier we had to wait quite a long time for the lift.
At around 07.00 someone came into our room unannounced and left without any apology or explanation, then the ringtones began and the chatter (from the Chambermaids Morning Meeting and Information Exchange). We could not get back to sleep since it continued for about 30 minutes. Breakfast began by a Waiteress shouting from the middle of the Dining room for our room number and then demanding 'I must have it'. No 'Kalimera' We don;t usually shout across a hotel dining room ourselves and had no intention of starting now, nor broadcasting that we were no longer in a certain room. We were late to breakfast in that it was a little after 0900. Most of what was on offer had gone and only small pieces were left, if at all. there was some ;Grilled Bacon' dripping with water, so obviously boiled, two small cut pieces of tomato, a spoonful of congealed scrambled egg and one piece of cake that looked a bit stale. I decided that toast might just do, at least it would absorb the diluted nuclear yellow orange juice. The Waitress was by now reading a magazine and there was a waiter on the scene who began to attend to a few of the used tables. It really wasn't great. Check out was quick, the 'Morning Receptionist' had returned but the lift was still out of service. To be honest our room, that was supposed to be 'Executive', was jaded. The washbasin plug didn't work very well and all was a bit run down and had clearly seen better days and the TV had a problem, the picture kept shrinking. The Aircon was quite noisy. Parking was limited but there was a pay to park car park across the street. with three bags it was a bit inconvenient to unload, if you couldn't get a space in the lay-by in front of the hotel. In the morning a tourist rent car was parked parallel to the kerb and blocked about four spaces. when I asked the hotel about Cards for windscreens indicating 'Hotel Guest' and getting dispensation from the 30 minute limit, they looked at me as if I was from Mars. I really did not feel as if I was in a Holiday Inn. Apart from the Morning Receptionist, you felt that the staff would rather be somewhere else and their training levels seemed low and unprofessional and probably there were not enough of them in the right place at the right times. I really don't think that we shall rush to stay again and would not recommend anyone else to.

Room Tip: Don't accept a first floor executive room with Numbers like 151 and 152. Height might reduce tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeleepos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petra V, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Mr. Feeleepos,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the room conditions as well as the level of service provided during your stay that did not meet your expectations.

Your concerns have been forwarded to the corresponding departments to look into those issues. We will take all necessary steps to improve our product and services.

Sincerely,

Petra Varnavides
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimi Hotel
Rimi Hotel
#20 of 26 in Nicosia
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
127 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almond Business Suites
Almond Business Suites
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sky Hotel
Sky Hotel
#19 of 26 in Nicosia
35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel
Cleopatra Hotel
#15 of 26 in Nicosia
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre
Address: 70 Regeana Street, Nicosia 2121, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre hotel is located in the heart of Nicosia. Its excellent location is ideal for both business and leisure stays.The hotel is only 5 min. walking distance from the shopping area, the commercial area and historical sites of Nicosia. The hotel is fully air conditioned. All (140 Superior, Executive, non-smoking rooms) are equipped with wireless high speed internet accessAll Conference and Meeting roomsin this ideal Central Nicosia location are suitable for professional and social gatherings. The Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre features various dining options. Italian, Japanese and International. Seasonal operated Restaurant and Bar on the roof garden. A fully equipped health and leisure center is available with gym, an indoor swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna and Roman baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookcyprus.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Nicosia City Centre Hotel Nicosia
Nicosia Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing