We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, great service, great prices”
Review of Akakiko Nicosia

Akakiko Nicosia
Ranked #19 of 1,056 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$41
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Korean
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Been there a thousand times and ordered for take away another thousand. Great food, large portions, great service, great prices. Very cosy and warm place especially for winter nights

2  Thank IasonasCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 259 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

About Akakiko is not much to say. Is a good down to earth sushi restaurant.
Most of the Maki- Rolls a very good although nothing crazy and amazing in terms of sushi creations.
You get fresh sashimi and sushi as well as Asian hot dishes.
I come here very often to kill my sushi cravings and it is really OK. Of course don’t expect sushi like hakkasan style. I would compare it more like the wagamama for sushi.
My opinion: Good value for money and down to earth sushi.

Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have eaten at Akakiko over 20 times the last few years. That statement should say it all - the fact that i keep going back with friends as well as family is a big vote of confidence for thos place.The Sushi is always fresh and well prepared. Other items on the menu are excellent.
My only gripe is the service, on my last visit 3 weeks ago, we had to continually look for the waiting staff, service in a restaurant is not just about fropping the food on the table and leaving, its about service and selling. One of my friends on this night is a wine connoisuer and wanted the wine list again sow ecould order more wine and could not find a waiter, in the end we decided not to bother. Message to Louis Group - 'spend a little on staff training'

Overall though Akakiko is very good and the prices are reasonable. A must if you like Sushi. Damage for the night 120 euro for four people with a bottle of wine.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Owner at Akakiko Nicosia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear loyal guest,

We are delighted that you keep choosing our restaurant for your nights out with friends and family, and are extremely thankful for your rave review on TripAdvisor. It is very satisfying to learn that our customers appreciate the freshness of our sushi, the unique taste of our warm dishes and of course the value for money our restaurant offers. We are however, saddened by the fact that our service was not up to its usual standards...however rest assured that our staff participates in monthly training sessions regarding selling, guest treatment and product knowledge. Unfortunately, as we have come to realise, theory cannot always be put into practice and always depends on many factors. For example, if on a very busy Saturday night, guests arrive all at once, then it is extremely difficult to give that little bit extra attention to each table. In such cases, the basics of taking the order correctly, serving efficiently and getting the food to the table on time, become subconsciously more important than upselling at the table. It is an automatic reaction that any human being would make, irrespective of what the theory of service says.

Rest assured that your comment will be shared with our Restaurant Manager and his staff, so that they are aware of customer perceptions. We look forward to welcoming you back soon, hopefully with more attention being paid to your table needs. Being a frequent guest, we are sure that you will have invaluable feedback to give us on the new menu, which will launch by the end of March.

Best regards and see you soon,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Many options for food, from sushi to asian dishes. Sushi is ok, not wow but quite tasty. The dishes are really tasty, fresh ingredients and reviving! Nice atmosphere, and fast staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kostisth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Owner at Akakiko Nicosia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for visiting Akakiko Nicosia and for sharing your thoughts with us online. It's good to read that the variety of our menu is much appreciated by our guests, as is the quality/freshness of our ingredients, the flavour of our warm dishes, the efficiency of our staff and the atmosphere within our restaurant.

Following your positive experience with us we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I visited this restaurant several times, with both my partner and my girlfriends. It is great for a girls' night out as they do nice cocktails and offer value for money sushi. Also, it has a great variety of non-sushi food for those who don't like raw fish. Nice atmosphere, not too snobby but quite relaxed. Would recommend it either for lunch or dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akakiko Nicosia also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Akakiko Nicosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing