We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting!”
Review of Akakiko

Akakiko
Ranked #19 of 1,029 Restaurants in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Korean
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
chesham
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“interesting!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very busy, obviously the 'in' place. Were seated at bar counter, but was a high counter. Food good. Not very romantic!! Quite rushed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank juliekBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    107
    50
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Expensive average noisy Asian restaurant.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We used to go to Akakiko or take away food quite often in the last. It was the first time we visited the new Akakiko. Nice place, quite modern, easy to reach, park etc.
Service is quite good but not on busy nights. During popular Friday Saturday nights the place loses its food quality, gets too noisy and dinner is not fun anymore.
Food is really poor. I don't know what has changed and why food now tastes bad.
Badly cooked starters and really flat mains. We even hated the noodles...
Food is really overpriced for no apparent reason. Even vegetable dishes are quite pricey.
Not going back for sure. Really disappointed that the relocation has changed Akakiko to the worse. Used to be a favorite, we used to enjoy sushi, Maki and food there. Not any more.

Helpful?
2 Thank IasonasCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Akakiko, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for visiting Akakiko and for taking the time to review our establishment. We take our customer feedback very seriously in our effort to continuously improve our products and services.

While reading your comments, we noticed that you wrote another review of Akakiko 2 years ago:


"Been there a thousand times and ordered for take away another thousand. Great food, large portions, great service, great prices. Very cosy and warm place especially for winter nights – Visited April 2012"



Based on the above review you enjoyed the quality of our food, our service and found our prices 'great'. 2 years later, you find our food poor and overpriced.

Regarding your comment about the quality of food, we must admit that we were caught by surprise when you mentioned that every single dish you tasted at Akakiko was of poor quality. We serve hundreds of guests every week and, although we occasionally have some complaints with regards to specific dishes, it is the first time that we receive such a general complaint with regards to our food quality. We would appreciate if you could be a bit more specific about the foods you tasted so that we can learn from our mistakes and improve our products and services.


Regarding your comments about the dishes being overpriced, we would like to inform you that our menu prices have remain unchanged in the last 5 years, which means that the same items you tasted 2 years ago are sold at the exact same price right now – we have

both old and new menus at hand as proof of that. We are therefore rather perplexed about the fact that you found the prices at Akakiko 'great' in 2012 and in 2014 you found the exact same prices 'poor'.

We acknowledge your opinion that the relocation of Akakiko has changed us to the worse, however we must tend to disagree. Since relocating we have placed strong emphasis on improving our product quality and consistency, and have spent countless hours training our staff to meet the strict demands of our thousands of loyal customers. The latter have increased since our relocation and we have a large proportion of guests who visit us on a weekly basis. Perhaps you would consider giving us another chance and visiting Akakiko once more. We would also appreciate meeting you in person and discussing your feedback on a more personal basis.


We thank you again for your visit and your review and we hope to welcome you again at Akakiko.


Respectful regards,

The General Manager
Akakiko Cyprus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Way too noisy”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

A nice asian fusion restaurant, however way too crowded.

Food was nice, and so where the starters, though sushi is overpriced. Decor is wonderful but the place was very noisy, due to the fact it was overcrowded.

The staff were kind, however there was a mixup with our order and as a result, a sushi entree was served as a starter and another starter was served with 10 minutes delay. Mains took quite some time to get served, but thats understanding, considering that the restaurant was filled to the brim.

Will visit again, but definately not on a weekend...

Helpful?
Thank Yiannis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The maki dishes are delicious”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lovely food especially the maki dishes, but quit expensive . the avocado chicken salad is great and try the california crunchy maki you will love it

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent Japanese cuisine”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We went for dinner on a friday night and this was my first time at the new Akakiko. The waiters were very kind as soon as we stepped inside. The decor is very modern with a relaxing atmosphere. By 9 o'clock all tables were full, so you must make a reservation in advance. We ordered a selection of maki rolls (very tasty and fresh), the pop corn prawns (excellent choice), a salad with prawns (nice & spicy) and the chicken tempura (lovely). It was a nice surprise that food arrived on the table really quick, and the fact that all dishes were really good! Prices are reasonable as well. Probably the best japanese restaurant in nicosia.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akakiko also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Akakiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing