We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dark & small room”
Review of Cleopatra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cleopatra Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Nicosia
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dark & small room”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed 3 nights for a baptism nearby. Executive refurbished room was very dark, small window/ balcony door, and on a noisy street although I had asked for a quiet room as was acknowledged. The room was so small that I had to clamber round the chair and table to get into bed. The breakfast buffet was very poor, scrambled eggs tasted like reconstituted from powder. Barman was good and knowledgeable. Otherwise not recommended at all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hazelwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    78
    77
    26
    18
See reviews for
11
41
14
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middelfart, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights on a business trip in May 2013.
The hotel is big and of good quality for money. It’s clean but make sure you specify that you want a refurbished room.

The surroundings are quiet compared to the noise you may experience in the old parts of the city. I was there off-season and never saw that many people in the breakfast room and hardly heard any neighbours.

The buffet breakfast was very good and had everything I needed. There are also a few good places to eat nearby and only a short walk (10 minutes) to the old town. Try out the fish restaurant Ocean Basket only a few blocks away (5 minutes).

The hotel was chosen by the organisers of the conference I participated in. Everything was fine but not flawless. The staff was very helpful, especially when I needed to get a correct receipt from the taxi company.

I had to pay 10 € for the short drive from the bus drop off to Cleopatra Hotel. I got a receipt for 55 €, as if I had been driven from Larnaca to Nicosia by taxi. I didn’t take the discussion with the driver, but got the help of the reception staff to get a proper receipt.
The drive from Larnaca Airport to Nicosia can be done for 8 € by taking Kapnos Airport Shuttle (http://www.kapnosairportshuttle.com).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Thomsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

This is a big and good quality hotel in the modern part of Nicosia, which was convenient for me as I stayed there for a conference a short walk away. Still, it would also be convenient for anyone wishing to explore the old parts of Nicosia. Here you stay in a clean and good hotel in quiet surroundings compared to the noise you may experience in the old parts of the city. I was there off-season and never saw that many people in the breakfast room and hardly heard any neighbours. The room was recently refurbished, it was large and had a balcony. The buffet breakfast was good by south European/Mediterranean standards and had everything I needed for a good start of the day. The price was good and I would definitely consider staying at the Cleopatra again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Castor_Dioskouros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling Essex man
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for one night on a business trip. It was chosen because of the location and closeness to the event. Everything was fine. The staff we met were very helpful, especially when we needed directions to walk. The buffet breakfast was good. There are a few places to eat nearby. It's a short walk to the old town.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This is a top quality hotel - lovely room and adequate breakfast. But the staff at reception were rude. Shortly after checking in a maid knocked and entered with towels before we had a change to go the the door. And upon checkout (prepaid) the gentleman (?) didnt even bother to look up!! no eye contact. Not sure that we would bother with this one again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This hotel was recommended to me, and the location was definitely good. It's a 10min walk into central Nicosia and there are a selection of shops and restaurants nearby. However, I understand that the hotel is undergoing a programme of refurbishment, and my room had a lovely bathroom but a rather basic room. The bed was quite hard, with just a blanket and sheet, and I was cold during the night as there was a breeze coming in through the balcony door. I'm sure in summer that wouldn't be a problem! There were no tea/coffee making facilities, which I understand were available in other fully refurbished rooms. The breakfast was fine, but it was missing fresh fruit. There were some peach segments and apples/bananas available, but it would have been nice to have had some more fruit available. The hotel uses Finlandia taxis for transfers - and they were brilliant! Lovely drivers with lots of great info about Cyprus. The hotel was fine - I'll probably stay again as it's a good location for my business trips, but it would be better if the rooms were a little bit more up to 4* standard.

Room Tip: I now understand that the rates are a little more expensive for the fully refurbished rooms. If ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noplacelikehome12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2013

nice clean room. central located near hard rock cafe. near the shopping area. rich breakfast. the breakfast area is not much modern for a 4star hotel. in general good choice for a short stay. i found a good deal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrilimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 27 in Nicosia
1,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 27 in Nicosia
600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Almond Business Suites
Almond Business Suites
#10 of 27 in Nicosia
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nicosia
299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 27 in Nicosia
126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#8 of 27 in Nicosia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleopatra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleopatra Hotel

Property: Cleopatra Hotel
Address: Florinis 8, Nicosia 1065, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Nicosia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleopatra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION Cleopatra is a 4-star hotel situated in the most central location in the city centre and 6 minutes walk from the old part of the city. We are within walking distance of the main business, nightlife venues, cafes and shopping centres, government offices, museums, ancient churches, medieval buildings and galleries. Stay with us in our superb accommodations and enjoy great service in a relaxing environment. Being at the center of the town you do not need a vehicle to move around , but if you have one we provide free parking. Whether you are a business or a leisure traveler the hotel offers you a wide array of services that will satisfy your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cleopatra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleopatra Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing