We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great museum!”
Review of Cyprus Museum

Cyprus Museum
Ranked #1 of 260 things to do in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great museum!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed the exhibits and the temporary exhibition called "The body".
We liked the fact that there was life inside the musem, a piano, people preparing for a musical performance. We liked the way the museum was organised.

The size of the museum was the right one. It had a great variety of exhibits for the parents to appreciate, but it was not long enough for the kids to get bored.

Only drawback that there weren't enough explanatory captions, since we wanted to know more about the exhibits we were looking at.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gal2077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    135
    44
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga NZ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Excellent variety of exhibits with really good explanations in english and greek. Some exceptional items on display and all were found in Cyprus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTaurangaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We visited here in June and really enjoyed it. The temperature in Nicosia was 46 degrees celsius that day and the museum was blissfully cool!
There are lots of artefacts, some many thousands of years old and lots of interesting information on the history of Cyprus. Worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treasure chest for Cyprus”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The museum has renewed its collections and we were lucky to enjoy for Museum day a wonderful guided tour. It is worthwhile visiting to help tourists learn about our ancient history.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice Museum but Needs a Renovation”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Cyprus Museum is well worth a visit if you are in Nicosia. It’s not huge but has a good archaeological selection. The museum itself is a bit dark and perhaps in need of a renovation. We arrived 45 minutes before it closed and managed to see everything we wanted to see in this time. There are plenty of Roman artefacts and we particularly enjoyed the tomb reconstructions.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2Ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cyprus Museum also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Cyprus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing