We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and friendly atmosphere. A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Mosaic

Old Mosaic
Ranked #133 of 1,008 Restaurants in Nicosia
Cuisines: Turkish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly atmosphere. A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place by pure chance. Not seen any reviews beforehand. Loved the rustic charm of the place on entry with a slightly bohemian feel. We had an extremely warm welcome, no pressure was put on us to stay. Choice of seating inside or outside in a delightful courtyard which felt a world away from the street bustle. The four of us sat on a large table underneath some beautiful hanging blossoms. The staff were extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They even repositioned a large aircon unit so we were kept cool in the 40C heat. The food was fresh and cooked to order. Absolutely delicious. Free meze starter and a sweet Cypriot dessert on the house. Couldn't fault a single thing. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesMiller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing first time visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We live on the Greek side, but walk across to the north several times a year and almost always stay for lunch.

We were trying the Old Mosaic for the first time. Its quite quirky, as the owners deal in antiques, so you wend your way past old barber chairs, cameras, etc. to get to the outside restaurant at the back in a pleasant courtyard.

The menu is quite extensive with a selection of salads, etc. as starters and lamb chops and kebabs, etc. for mains. Sadly for us there was no red meat available because, apparently, it had all been used the night before ! So, as a main course we had chicken wings, but had to send them back as they were very under cooked. We started with a salad (and a few side dishes) which was excellent. Two small Effes beers, a mixed salad, two lots of chicken wings (good when finally cooked) and one Turkish coffee was TL 75 without tip. The red meat turned up at about 13.30 when we had just paid the bill.

Somewhat disappointing, but we will give it another try next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaitCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful staff and setting, with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We saw the restaurant by chance after looking into the antique display that forms part of the building. Sitting in the courtyard under vines, with old stone walls decorated with antiques of all sorts, with a well stocked bar and attractive menu - very good!
We enjoyed the food and the price was reasonable. The lunch was completed by the arrival of four small boys shepherded in by a mother who came to present potted plants to the owner. This was picturesque and so I asked if it was all right to take a photo. Oh yes, though the boys seemed shy. After they had gone we found out that the plants had actually been removed by the boys and they had been told to return them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MuzzleTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
629 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Tucked away, but worth searching for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stumbled across this place purely by chance. It's not that obvious so just keep your eye open as you wander close to the Bedestan Church and Mosque in the Turkish area of Nicosia.
I went through to the courtyard at the rear of the restaurant. It is very attractive and has a great atmosphere. the owner and staff are all very pleasant and speak great English.
I had some Turkish wine and it was excellent. The accompanying snacks were all given for free and the cost of the wine, bearing in mind what a great place it was, was very reasonable. Overall it was a great place and I wholly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice but watch out for the substitution scam”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

Came across this place while wandering around the little back streets. Looked very inviting and the service was wonderful. Feeling a little peckish but not starving, We ordered two beers, koftas and spicy sausage. We were then told that koftas weren't available but would we mind having the lamb sausage instead? We said yes without checking the menu prices (big mistake). We then received a lot of small plates 'on the house' even though we weren't hungry or had ordered them, and no wonder! When we got the bill, the lamb sausages were 5 times the price of the koftas! Buyer beware, I know, but a very disappointing visit. Although the food was tasty, it left a bad feeling.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Mosaic also viewed

Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 
Nicosia, Nicosia District
Nicosia, Nicosia District
 

Been to Old Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing