We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is everything.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castelli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castelli Hotel
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Location is everything.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I just returned from a long weekend in Nicosia where I stayed at this hotel. Located right downtown, it is perfect as a base. People are great in the hotel. Hotel itself needs some help. Breakfast was good, with yogurt, bacon, eggs, coffee. Staff helpful but for the one who directed us to Zoo, a dance club close by. He gave us wrong information but we found a techno club and had fun anyway. Room was fine but bring your own dryer, soap, shampoo. It's a basic hotel in a terrific location.

Room Tip: Ask for the back of the hotel. Ours was on the street and it was very noisy, especially Sunday morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisAnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    38
    44
    14
    9
See reviews for
7
49
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jomala, Aland Islands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel is within the old town of Nicosia. It is very close to the main bus station and a few hundred meters from Ledras street wih all it's shops and restaurants.

The room standard in the executive rooms is good, the beds very good and the service efficient and friendly.

Breakfast is average but not quite to the standard of the breakfast in the neighbouring Classic Hotel.

Room Tip: Chose an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

While some parts of the hotel have been recently refurbished (eg breakfast area), some of the (bath)rooms could benefit from some fresh touches. However, the hotel offers excellent value, and the friendliness of the staff is invaluable.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Member_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaidari, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I found myself in Cyprus, with some friends for a wedding, from 19-24th of September. The couple to be married, had the courtesy to book and pay for us the accomodation during the wedding weekend. (We really appreciated that! Thank you Anna and Konstantinos!)

Unfortunately, the hotel didn't meet anybody's standards.

The room was not at all a three star hotel room.
The carpet in ours was really dirty, the room itself was full of dust and had only one window, that barely let some light in. Our bathroom was not once cleaned, during our 5 days stay there. Just changing the towels.
There was only one old lady trying to clean the whole hotel and she only had two hands I guess.

Our friends' rooms were in worst condition than ours. They found ants on their pillows and trimmed nails on the bathroom floor, as soon as they checked in. They asked immediately to change room and got another on the 3rd floor.
We on the other hand, were not in luck and when we asked to change room they told us that it was almost impossible because it was Sunday and had only one housekeeper and wasn't easy to clean all the rooms on time. Like I said, just two hands!

The fridge in another girl's room was upside down and all the fridges had black mold on their shelves... How nice!

And of course, not once they vacuumed!

The breakfast was just ok. It was served from 6.30 till 10.00 (not bad at all), but nothing much. Usually by 9.30 most of the food was gone, but you could ask for anything you needed from the dinning personel.

Also one night we asked the reception for a painkiller and they responded that the hotel didn't has a pharmacy and that we sould try our luck at the nearby convenience store (periptero).

On the positives are that we could use the Gym and Swimming pool from the nearby hotel Holiday inn.

To be fare, the personnel really did the best they could. They were all polite and always trying to help. But what can you do if the manager don't care to have a clean, organised hotel that meets the standards of a three star hotel.
I mean, nobody asked for luxury. Just a clean, honest, money to value hotel room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vassiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nicosia hotels

Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June Firstly I have to say the receptionist was very helpful we had booked a superior room with a balcony and were given a nice room but with a small window looking at walls? We went back to reception and informed them that we had booked for a balcony room and fair enough she found us one with no problem, No kettle again in room and the prices to get coffee etc brought to your room were astronomical luckily I always take a travel kettle with me and the wherewithal to make a cuppa. The hotel was spotlessly clean and most of the staff very friendly we tried to book a table at the Polynesian Restaurant in the hotel (this was advertised in the hotel bumph in the room) just to be waived away and told No No Not doing it Not Open???? Why advertise it then.. The room we were given was opposite the fire and police station but please do not let this put you off as we heard nothing when the windows/doors were closed and even when sat on the balcony there was not really any disruption at all they kept the sirens/bells to the absolute minimum and after all they have an important job to do
Breakfast was however faultless very good help yourself and staff pleasant. My opinion is good hotel for business customers not so great for holiday makers really no downstairs space & no garden/patio area to sit in

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here for one night, the photos do it justice, breakfast was really good and the bed was comfy enough although the room we booked was meant to be a "Superior" and thought if this room is superior i wouldnt like to see the stardard ones lol

Room Tip: At reception I asked for a "Non smoking room please" but the receptionist must of thought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I stayed in Castelli hotel for one night and I am really disappointed for this choice. It is an old-fashioned hotel badly renovated and with the basic equipment and for sure not a 3 stars hotel. Unfortunately I got a room in the second floor of the backside of the building. The room was smelling tobacco and the carpets were dirty. There was not enough lighting but the worst of all it was that the room has only a small window which when I opened it there was there the wall of the next building only 50 cm away!!! (a room with no light and no fresh air available). In addition there was noise from the city streets, all the night, since the window was not closing well. I can not imagine how this hotel got an official approval for these type of rooms.

The only good point was the location (is near the city center) and that the room as well as the bathroom was spacious. In addition the breakfast was good enough just because (the next door) Holiday Inn hotel supported it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the front side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.2 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#6 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delphi Hotel
Delphi Hotel
#10 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Classic Hotel
The Classic Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rimi Hotel
Rimi Hotel
#20 of 26 in Nicosia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelli Hotel

Property: Castelli Hotel
Address: 38 Ouzounian St, Nicosia 1504, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Castelli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelli Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing