We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classic value”
Review of Asty Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asty Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My favourite hotel in Lefkosia, a simple 3 star hotel , plain and very standard, but with a 5* smile and this is what brings me back to this hotel. The room (504) was clean however with a smell of smoke (probably by the previous guest) though this is a non smoking hotel. Room was fine, toiletries, but there was no light in the small shower room next to the toilet. So if you take a shower at night, do it in the dark. This was supposed to be taken care by the manager to whom I complained. Free wi-fi, free 24 hour coffee, juices, snacks, free bicycles, a good choice breakfast, and helpful smiling personnel who thank god are locals and not foreigners as is regretfully common in most hotels in Cyprus. Located in an upper class residential area, 2-3 kms from the town centre, and I believe hotel offers free shuttle drive in its own mini bus. There are quite a few excellent food stores (try Zorpas) around as well as tavernas (Pampos) .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Asty Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Staying at one of the executive suites, in this cozy hotel,which is situated at less than 5 mins drive from nicosia centre and a few meters away from a medieval church, we received warm hospitality by the manager and employees.The room and the bathroom were spot clean, a kettle, coffee and tea are available in the room, fresh continental and cypriot breakfast included in the price, cleaners take care of the room twice a day, parking is available. Bicycles are available for a ride.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed last night in this small hotel and our experience has been wonderful. First at the reception the lady we met was very very nice and helpful organising also shuttle free of charge for us in the evening to go to another part of the town. Second the room was at least 25 sq mt. large, with a king size bed, very clean and it contained all what we need, much more than a two stars hotel usually have and in many cases even a three stars hotel. The breakfast included in the price was more than enough for us and the quality very good. The price? 47€! In few words: price / value ratio: unbeatable.

Room Tip: Room on the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agi94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great friendly, comfortable, welcoming hotel with free shuttle service and free bike hire. We like it here. Fantastic themed rooms.
Only criticism plastic mattress protector in standard rooms. Everything else is good!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Helmon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Very friendly, comfortable hotel - I recommend treating yourselves to the Zebra room which is the best hotel room I ever stayed in. The buffet breakfast was great and there are lots of free snacks/drinks available throughout the day. It is a little out form the centre but there is a free shuttle service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Period of Stay: 26th Dec - 30th Dec 2013 (4 nights)
Cost (PER NIGHT): 32 Euros (including taxes - prices obtained via Booking.com) for a single room

+ points:
(1) 24 hour free snack bar - many have mentioned this and this is the first time I ever heard of any hotel that offers this - a true winner, considering that I read up on many hotels in Cyprus and almost all did NOT even provide breakfast! By the way, Asty provides a decent breakfast as well, which is a choice of different types of eggs, bacon, tomato and potato.

(2) Comfortable bed, pillows and the room and toilet were very clean.

(3) Wifi was fast and reliable.

(4) Good to provide kettle, hair dryer in room and also has a farely decent gym.

(5) Staff were generally friendly, in particular Christalla.

- point:
(1) Location: about 30 minutes by walking (though it is easy to navigate and find from Google Maps) although they provide shuttle service to the city centre.

By the way I find Nicosia to be a very useful base and was pleasantly surprised to find excellent day trips to Famagusta and Kyrenia in the Turkish side of Cyprus and the Turkish side of Nicosia was also nice and thus kept me occupied for 3 days. If you wish to do this, I suggest reading more on this website (http://www.northcyprusonline.com/North-Cyprus-Online-Travelling-Bus-Services.php) and asking the tourist info after you cross the border for more information (8 Turkish Liras each way to/from Famagusta and 4.5 Turkish Lira each way to/from Kyrenia from my experience but seems like you can buy a day ticket for 1 Lira less)

Also, this is an excellent website where you can get info of how to get around the cities on the Cyprus side - http://www.intercity-buses.com/ (there is an English option on the web page).

There were a lot of inaccurate information that I got when I googled for the schedules and costs so use the above website!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrLukeLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

the price one pays for a room is very reasonable, but bear in mind that the hotel is not near the city centre. I had some difficulty locating the hotel as I was driving. but I figured it out after some headscratching moments with help from nice strangers.

There is a free shuttle service, which i made use of to get into the city. Unfortunately, the shuttle wasnt available both times i tried to get a lift back to the hotel, though it was before the stipulated time of 9pm. I guess this is just bad luck. Had to catch a cab back from the city which is about 7 euros.

The staff are generally nice, and I had an interesting chat with the owner of the hotel about his philosophy behind the hotel, which is giving what customers want. This is indeed shown in the 24h snack bar, which is perfect for some late night snacking to the cable tv. Wifi is free and efficient.

hotel has a gym and a leisure area in the basement. theres a cosy lounge area too. Rooms are nothing to to shout about, but they are more than sufficient and are spacious and comfortable.

Overall, for the price, its a perfect choice, but bear in mind the location if that is important to you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank strangetaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
1,091 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
217 reviews
1.9 mi away
Semeli Hotel
Semeli Hotel
#4 of 26 in Nicosia
176 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Classic Hotel
The Classic Hotel
#6 of 26 in Nicosia
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asty Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asty Hotel

Address: Prigkipos Karolou 12 | Agios Dometios, Nicosia 1300, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Business Hotel in Nicosia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nicosia
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Asty Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asty hotel offers the best value you can find in Nicosia: free wifi and shuttle service, 24/7 complimentary beverages and snacks, cooked to order and buffet breakfast, spacious comfortable rooms with TV and coffee facilities and…the most welcoming stay in the city! Located in the residential area of Ayios Dometios (adjacent to Engomi), where many embassies are based, this comfortable budget accommodation of Nicosia offers 5 star facilities at 2 star prices. At our hotel, a family owned business, you arrive as a guest and leave as one of us! And all of this in a picturesque residential area, only 1.5 kilometres away from the city centre and the maddening crowds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Asty Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asty Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing