We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!”
Review of Averof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Averof Hotel
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I was here for 9 days for work.
Staff was friendly and helpful...and even washed my clothes for free!!!
Breakfast was good, wifi worked only in the comonal area but that is not a problem as it was a large area.
Very clean, large room cleaned every day, good value for money.
15 min walk from the centre of Nicosia.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonardiPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hotel is situated in a nice residential area within a 20 minute walk of the centre of the old town. The rooms are basic but clean, comfortable and of a good size. The breakfast is a continental buffet which is adequate. The corridors were a little noisy at night and there were quite a few long term students staying. That said no complains and would stay again.
Good location to see the old town. Would say 2 days in Nicosia is enough to see what you need to see.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank fonsbikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Located in a quiet , verdant and slightly faded aristocratic nicosian neighbourhood , the Averof has balconied rooms with modest, clean amenities. Zoe the receptionist was totally welcoming , delivering a complimentary Cypriot coffee to my room after check in.
After exploring the fascinating old quarter, I rang the hotel and they sent a taxi to pick me up and deliver me back to the hotel at night ,as I wandered far. It's these sort of details that make a good impression on a traveller such as myself.
There's a charming verandah out front for relaxing ,an indoor lounge with free wifi and a very decent buffet breakfast. I had a very satisfying two night stay at the averof.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archangelosSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Great value hotel just a short 20 minute walk to the centre of town. Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is an "old style" Cypriot hotel with up to date facilities in a quiet residential area . Rooms are clean and have character. Basic but tasty continental breakfast. Much better than over-priced city centre hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We moved from Italy to stay in Cyprus. As a family (two adults and two children aged 10 and 8) we had to find an accomodation in order to prepare our new house in Zigy. The children are going to school in Nicosia. So we booked for this hotel on internet. We had a nice two rooms accomodation with bathroom. Good breakfast. But what we appreciated most was the many good suggestions we had in order to find shops and all what you need when moving to a new place. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and this is one of the best facilities today!

Room Tip: Ideal for a family of four. Rooms are very agreable and with a little additional cost air conditione...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flacatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

As a part of a group of students studying abroad, I stayed at Averof Hotel for about two weeks. The rooms are small and simple, and about a 25 minute walk from downtown (or a quick, cheap cab ride). The room decor isn't the brightest or newest and the shower water temps were random sometimes, but other perks made up for this (plus the awesome new manager shared her plans for upgrading the space soon). The balconies overlooking a safe and quiet neighborhood street, a lovely living room area downstairs, small bar, and simple but good breakfast were positives of the facility. The best part of the stay was the solid customer service we were treated to by very friendly staff. We were happy to call Averof Hotel home for this time!

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank BobcatTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We (a study tour of 15 graduate students from the US) are finishing up a 2 week stay at Averof. In all of my travels abroad, I have never stayed at a place where there is such amazing hospitality, friendliness and kindness. They continuously go above and beyond daily to make each and every one of our stay's enjoyable and extra special. The rooms are simple but comfortable. The breakfast while basic, was delicious. The location I found great as it is a nice walk (25 minutes) to the downtown area and is quiet.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicosia hotels
0.7 mi away
Asty Hotel
Asty Hotel
#3 of 26 in Nicosia
473 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royiatiko Hotel
Royiatiko Hotel
#9 of 26 in Nicosia
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cyprus
Hilton Cyprus
#1 of 26 in Nicosia
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hilton Park Nicosia
Hilton Park Nicosia
#2 of 26 in Nicosia
678 reviews
1.0 mi away
Centrum Hotel
Centrum Hotel
#5 of 26 in Nicosia
322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altius Boutique Hotel
Altius Boutique Hotel
#7 of 26 in Nicosia
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Averof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Averof Hotel

Address: 19 Averof Street | Ayios Andreas, PO Box 24225, Nicosia, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Nicosia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Nicosia
Price Range: £43 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Averof Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you enter the Averof Hotel you will experience the true meaning of local hospitality. A delightful rustic decor replaces the gloss of impersonal tourist accommodation. Wood paneling and wrought iron, traditional furniture and rich colours are reminiscent of a country manor. Above all, the Averof Hotel is where guests soon become friends. The fully refurbished Averof offers you excellent value for money in an inviting environment that far exceeds the hotel's official two-star rating. Beyond accommodating you in spacious rooms, each with a private bathroom, the special features of the hotel are those that touch the heart, and create a personal rapport with each and every one of our guests. After a generous Continental breakfast the cultural attractions of Nicosia are just waiting to be discovered. The Cyprus Museum and the British Council are all close by, while the municipal pool with its surrounding lawns offers recreation within walking distance. Meanwhile, downtown shopping, entertainment, and transportation to the island's coastal resorts are only a short drive away. Clearly, the Averof Hotel is for those who favour a stay that will bring them closer to Cyprus, its people and their lifestyle. A visit which will linger in the memory as a stay worth repeating. If ever there was a place where you can relax and feel at home while enjoying the charm and culture the island of Cyprus has to offer, it is the Averof Hotel in Nicosia. Under new management, the Averof Hotel invites you to discover qenuine Cypriot hospitality in the cosy setting of a family run establishment. The Averof provides accommodation in 25 guest rooms on two floors, with a choice of double, twin or large family rooms, many with private balcony, all with central heating, air-conditioning and telephone. All rooms are equipped with TV and some of the rooms have free internet access. Sheltered in a corner of Ayios Andreas, the Averof Hotel combines the advantages of a quite residential area, with the convenience of proximity to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Averof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Averof Hotel Nicosia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing